Entertainment / EOTD (Eye of the Day)

Kafka Inspired EOTD + Tutorial

I find it somewhat ironic that I’m writing a paper on Kafka and Shakespeare as I type out this post.

Three guesses as to which is more fun.  Maybe fun isn’t the right word to use here.  I enjoy the analytical writing process, but at the same time, it’s tortuous.  Each sentence can take me up to 10 minutes to churn out, and in the end I just go back and redo it until I’m happy with the result.  A simple, 1200 word essay takes me all day to complete.  I never even bother to proofread the paper as a whole because I’ve already proofread each individual sentence multiple times.  As soon as those three sheets of paper slide out of my printer, I staple them (with the attitude of somebody closing a hungry lion’s cage) and shove them into my binder.  And then I proceed to fall on my bed, and experience traumatic nightmares where I’ve left out a crucial sentence in paragraph #2.

All in all, writing a post on Kafkaesque makeup is much more relaxing.

Materials:

1. Prime lids.  I used the yellow Hard Candy concealer.  Apply a shimmery blue shadow like UD Peace over the eyelid.

2. Blend a reddish color (MAC Real Drama) into the crease.  You can leave the top edge unblended because…

3. You’re going to be covering it with a white cream base next.  I used NYX Milk.  Ok…for this step you want to apply your base all the way up to the browbone.  I was making this up as I went along, so my I did the base, then the liner, then the base again (at which point I smudged the liner and had to redo it etc.).  Long  story short, you get to learn from my mistakes!  Apply it up to the browbone.

4. Take a black pencil liner (I used one from Estee Lauder), and draw a thingamajig shape.  I’m very good at explaining these things, observe:

5. Go over the outer half of the liner with glitter.  I used Hard Candy Walk the Line Liquid Liner in Licorice.

6. Using the lace method (I picked up from Sanna), fill in the space right under your eye with more shimmery blue shadow.

7. Line the upper and lower lashes with your black pencil liner, and smudge (this is the last time you’ll have to use it, I promise) the shimmery blue shadow over your lower lashline.

8. Apply mascara.  I used Prestige RIP My Biggest Lashes.  And then I decided to go all out with Photoshopped lashes, as usual.

creds: lash stamps from http://www.obsidiandawn.com

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: the Hard Candy products mentioned in this post were provided by PR for consideration.  I am not trying to advertise, I just thought the products worked with this look.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

4 thoughts on “Kafka Inspired EOTD + Tutorial

  1. 呵呵 這個眼妝感覺真戲劇化
    (但是我沒有 Kafka和Shakespeare,
    你們高中就要讀這些嗎?我以為那些是大學裡外文系的學生才會讀的東西~呵呵)

    ps.
    到了第二步驟的眼妝
    感覺要在平時畫也很適合耶~
    顏色搭得很漂亮:D

  2. I like that picture with the lace. That reddish brown (that photographs kind of taupey?) is really pretty with your eye color. I want to see that look you did for your photo project about leaves/water(?)!!!

    • Thanks 🙂 I love that eyeshadow, it plays nicely off the red veins in my eyes. Those didn’t turn out as well as I would’ve liked…I ended up trashing them, but the makeup was nice!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

