The Wednesday Wigeon

The Wednesday Wigeon No.5

I have a tag this week!  Thanks to the lovely Pinch for tagging me.

1. How old were you when you started wearing makeup?

mmm, I won’t count the times when I was little and wore makeup because those were for dance performances.  I’d say15, probably.

2. How did you get into makeup?

The summer between 8th and 9th grade, I went to camp with my friend Hens.  She had this Lancome GWP quad that I had too (my mom always gave me the GWP quads, and I never used them).  Anyways, she’d do minimal makeup to the extreme with those shadows, and I thought it was cool.  And thus I was hooked~~~and became more and more hooked over time.

3. What are some of your favorite brands?

I split my favorite brands into 3 categories.

drugstore: Milani, Revlon, Rimmel

high end: Ellis Faas, Lancome

Asian drugstore: Majolica Majorca, KATE

4. What does makeup mean to you?

It’s a hobby, and I’d even say it’s a passion for me.  I don’t know what exactly it is about makeup that is so addicting, but I like that you get to use your face as a canvas for beauty.  That’s pretty awesome.

5. If you could only wear 4 products on your face what would they be?

Sunscreen, lip balm, undereye concealer, and mascara

6. What is your favorite thing about makeup?

See number 4!  I also like the fact that it’s not permanent.  It’s very easy to take off your makeup, and start over again.  Also, it usually doesn’t cost as much to splurge on makeup than it does to splurge on some other things.

7. What do you think about drugstore makeup vs high end makeup?

You can find great products from both ends of the spectrum.  I think my favorite thing about high end makeup is often the packaging.

8. What is one tip of advice you can give to a beginner?

Less is more.  Start with less, and as you get better, you can begin experimenting with more things.

9. What is one makeup trend you never understood?

Bleached brows.  I’m sorry, I just don’t get them.  Or like them.

10. What do you think about the beauty community on YouTube?

I love the fact that it’s out there.  I’ve learned a lot from my favorite YouTube Gurus (mainly xteeener), and I love that you can go on there, and find a lot of honest, thorough product reviews (this applies to the beauty blogosphere as well).

Now I tag all of you!  *do it do it!* and link me when you do, I want to read your answers 😀

~Makeup Morsels

4 thoughts on “The Wednesday Wigeon No.5

  1. 1. How old were you when you started wearing makeup?
    I was about 16 but it was only minimal makeup on weekends. It took me a few months before I started being more adventurous with my makeup.

    2. How did you get into makeup?
    I was just always drawn to makeup (and all things girly) from a very early age and couldn’t wait to grow up to finally play with it.

    3. What are some of your favorite brands?
    Pupa, Sleek, Barry M, Urban Decay, Fyrinnae…

    4. What does makeup mean to you?
    It is a way to express my creativity. I like how different look change your face and emphasize certain features instead than others.

    5. If you could only wear 4 products on your face what would they be?
    Lip balm, foundation, sunscreen and mascara.

    6. What is your favorite thing about makeup?
    See n.4 for me too.

    7. What do you think about drugstore makeup vs high end makeup?
    I agree with your answer. To me, the main difference is the packaging. Also, high-end products tend to have a silkier texture but that doesn’t always mean they perform better.

    8. What is one tip of advice you can give to a beginner?
    Practice, practice, practice!

    9. What is one makeup trend you never understood?
    I agree with you on the bleached brows.

    10. What do you think about the beauty community on YouTube?
    I love it! The tutorials are so helpful and I learned lots of tips and tricks watching the videos.

    • Well you’re definitely adventurous with your makeup now 🙂 I love the looks you do w/ brights. I’m glad someone else agrees with me on the bleached brows…urghh I just don’t get it!

  2. 1. How old were you when you started wearing makeup?
    Junior high I think? So like 13 or 14.

    2. How did you get into makeup?
    Peer pressure. XD But I don’t regret it.

    3. What are some of your favorite brands?
    Shu, Laura Mercier, MAC, Revlon

    4. What does makeup mean to you?
    Fun, beauty, and femininity! 🙂

    5. If you could only wear 4 products on your face what would they be?
    Tinted moisturizer, powder, eyebrow pencil and blush

    6. What is your favorite thing about makeup?
    Being able to transform from drab to semi-decent…lol.

    7. What do you think about drugstore makeup vs high end makeup?
    I think pretty soon the prices will match it…haha! The quality still isn’t on par but it’s to be expected I think.

    8. What is one tip of advice you can give to a beginner?
    Go natural before trying to go bold.

    9. What is one makeup trend you never understood?
    This:
    http://www.bellasugar.com.au/Spring-2011-Makeup-Trend-Eyeshadow-Temples-11266776

    10. What do you think about the beauty community on YouTube?
    I’m not super in tuned with it but there are a few I admire (xteeener being one of them).

    • ohh good point, drugstore prices are definitely rising (especially on things like mascara and concealer), which really frustrates me sometimes. err I’m not a fan of that overly packed on blush look either, but I think I prefer it over bleached brows. I’m definitely more tuned into the beauty blogging world than the YouTube community, but I do watch xteener’s videos all the time, and there are a few others I’m subscribed to as well.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

