Bargain Buys / Beauty Tools / Product Reviews

Walmart HD Brush Set

After my last post, I thought I’d review something in the bargain buy territory.

I went to Walmart about a month ago, originally with the intention of securing one HD Angled Blush Brush.

But then I saw this pack of four brushes that was a bit over double the price of the Angled Blush Brush alone (bad phrasing, sorry!).  Basically, the ABB was around $5 by itself, and the pack of four was just under $11 and some cents.

hmm…

I’m sure you know what happened after that…

The brushes are all wonderfully soft and fluffy with good-length handles (it bugs me when my brush handles are shorter than they should be).  They feel like…baby raccoon tails (not that I go around feeling baby raccoon tails or anything.  That would be creepy.  And as you all know, I am not a creeper *wink wink*)

Honestly, they’re as soft as John Brown’s beard.  Not that I’ve ever felt that either.

Now that I’ve sufficiently weirded everyone out, I’ll get on with the review.

left to right: Concealer Brush, Mini Face Brush, Foundation Brush, Angled Blush Brush (all from the Walmart HD collection).

When I work with cream concealer, I like to use my fingers.  Liquid, however, is another story.  For awhile, I had trouble finding the perfect brush to apply my MAC Pro Longwear Concealer.  Well…MUAHAHAHA this answers all of my liquid concealer prayers.  It’s dense, but fluffier than all the other concealer brushes I have, so it does an excellent job blending everything out, and creating natural coverage.  Hip Hip Hooray!

The Mini Face Brush is fluffier still.  It’s excellent for setting my undereye concealer, as it doesn’t feel scratchy against my skin, and is another blending pro.  I used to think that the Skin Food Salmon Dark Circle Powder was an absolute failure of a product, but I realized that this unfair judgement stemmed from the fact that I wasn’t using a proper brush to apply it.

Like I’ve said before, I don’t wear foundation so I can’t really speak for the (I’m sure) miraculous properties of the Foundation Brush.  Err…it’s soft.  Very soft.

Ok, now the Angled Blush Brush a.k.a. the reason why I got this set in the first place.  Prior to this purchase, I used the EcoTools Blush Brush to contour.  It’s completely possible to use a blush brush to contour, but an angled brush works much better IMO.  In a few short words, I’m in love with it.  I’m in love with this entire set.  They don’t shed, they’re super soft, and they all excel at their jobs for a mere $11-$12.

What have you got to lose, right??  Nothing!  If this entire review was a little bit up in the air, it’s because I just ate a spectacular amount of hot pot, and I’m on a total food high right now.  Jingle Bells!

Love,

Makeup Morsels

14 thoughts on “Walmart HD Brush Set

  1. Merry belated X’mas! Hope your holiday was full of food, fun, and laughter! XD

    *giggles at John Brown pic*

    I had no clue Walmart sold their own brushes. I love the fact that these are inexpensive *and* good.

    • Oh, it was definitely full of food 😀 hahaha I’m glad someone appreciates my illustration. yupp, I’ve heard their non-HD brushes aren’t very nice, but these are definitely worth the price *unintentional rhyme, I swear*

  2. Loll hmm hot pot! This is a great find. I havnt gone to walmart for a long time, every time I go though, I’m always in the cosmetic/skincare asile trying to discover cheap finds 🙂

    Haha yea those Victorias secret lotion are inexpensive and gets the job done. Haha notice how I don’t hit pan on any makeup items but only skincare? :p it’s so hard to finish powders even after you hit pan, I totally agree. Good luck with ur pan!!! With skincare i find it pretty easy to finish up, like body lotions, I can usually finish one every 1.5 months or so, I just stick with one and keep using it lol.

    • hahaha I really don’t go there often, but I was so curious about these brushes. I’m glad I tracked them down. I remember how you hit pan on powder a couple of finished product post ago! I was very impressed 🙂 Thank you, any day now! (is what I’ve been telling myself for months now). I do run through lipbalms pretty quickly, but I think I rotate my skincare products so much that it’s hard for me to finish one.

  3. I saw the set at Walmart and I was like, “Brushesssssss!” Yeah, I’m one of those people who should not buy brushes anymore because I have too many but still… The price is unbeatable and they look like they are really soft. However, I have to pass since I already have a lot of brushes at home already.

    • hahaha that’s pretty much what went through my mind too when I saw these. Just wondering, which brushes do you like/own the most of? I’m always looking for recommendations, even though I probably don’t need any extra brushes either.

  4. Hello makeupmorsels!
    BEST CHRISTMAS PRESENT EVER
    the..er.. tame and accepting reaction by the others really surprised me. Do you mean… jingle balls? ^^
    Okay now I’ve talked myself into being a makeup blog pariah.
    I’ll stop now ^^

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

