Base / Product Reviews / Skincare

Matte It Out With Murad

I thought I was coming down with strep today, but it turned out to be postnasal drip.  Again.  Hopefully, the hurts-when-swallowing-and-talking-thing goes away by tomorrow because I’ve been so good about eating super bland, super soft foods today.

Allergies are unpleasant.  You know what else is unpleasant?  Shiny t-zones!

Guess which product claims to fix that problem?  Aha!  I bet you guessed it.

Murad Skin Perfecting Primer Matte Finish, the subject of today’s guest post, is from their Hybrid’s line, which is supposed to be comprised of products that are a mix between skincare and makeup.

I’ve tried a couple of other products from the line (review coming sometime in the future, and unfortunately, I didn’t particularly care for them), but this primer is spot-on.

When you think of primers, you tend to think of color-correcting liquids (green, lavender, etc.) or clear silicone-y liquids, right?  I was surprised when I first tried this primer out, because it looks like a very runny foundation:

btwubs, the funky looking dent in the middle is a bubble.  And no, one pump does not disperse this much product.  I just got a little bit carried away.

In addition, it only comes in one shade, so I was wondering how the heck it was going to work.  Well, luckily, it sheers out a lot, and I’m pretty sure it would work for any skintone.  Basically, it provides just enough coverage to make you skin look a tad more even.  If you’ve tried Rimmel Stay Matte Powder before (my HG mattifying powder, reviewed here), that’s about the same amount of coverage you’re going to get.

Mattification gratification  (do you like what I just did there?) is instant, but it doesn’t dry out my skin.  I have oily/combo skin which definitely leans more oily in the t-zone, and I’d say that this lasts a good 5 hours on me, which is excellent in my books.  The pump works well, and dispenses the perfect amount of product each time.  A little bit goes a long way with this stuff, and you only need one pump (which is a tiny amount) to cover your whole face.

One big advantage a primer has over a powder is that it’s very travel-friendly.  You can apply it at anytime, since you don’t need a brush.  I tend to use this primer on days where I belatedly realize that the brush I use to buff my powder in needs to be washed…

Which unfortunately, tends to occur a lot.  At $35, this is a lot more expensive than my drugstore powder, but I don’t find it ridiculously so either, considering it’s marketed as a mid-range brand.  Well, $35 is a mid-range price, and one 1.0 fl oz bottle should last for awhile, considering you only need a tiny bit of product each time.  FYI, it’s paraben-free, but it does contain dimethicone, in case any of you are sensitive to that.  It’s also readily available at Sephora.

My rating: A-

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The product reviewed in this post was provided by PR for consideration.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

7 thoughts on “Matte It Out With Murad

  1. I don’t need too much mattifying since it’s still winter but I can’t wait til my forehead is oily in the summer so that I can try this primer! Wait, did I really just say that?!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

