Mid End / Nails

Think Inque

After 2 years, I’m finally jumping on the press-on nails bandwagon!  At least I think it’s been 2 years…here’s the story.

(somewhere around 2 years ago) when Incoco nails first came out, I bought a pack on sale at Rite Aid, and stowed it at the back of my closet.  I never got around to using them because in those dark days, I barely had the skill level required to do a simple manicure.  So, due to my soul-crushing uncertainty, I doubted my ability to pull off an Incoco manicure.  Fast forward to (a year ago?) when all the celebrities started rocking Minx nails.

Wow, I said to myself, crouching in front of my computer screen while attempting to ignore my math homework, wow, that looks cool.

Cool, and also completely out of my budget.

Luckily for humankind, a lot of companies have started releasing products for DIY Nail Stickers (Sephora Chic Prints, Sally Hansen, and Inque!)  But why think Inque (there’s my rhyme for the day) over the other brands I listed?  Well, my reasons are threefold:

1) I was less intimidated to try Inque because it’s made out of a sturdy vinyl that I am less likely to tear

2) They offer the widest range of designs, plus you can customize your own nails.  e.g. if you happen to like ShinEE (which for the record, I do not), you can put a ShinEE member on each nail!

3) They’re reported to last up to a week

Before I get started on the actual review, I want to take a brief moment to mention their customer service.  So…those of you who know me in real life know that I have a tendency to be a little bit absent-minded at times.  Well, the first time I ordered these nails, I accidentally got a set of all white ones *sigh* I emailed Inque, asking them to please cancel my order so I could order a set of patterned nails like I had originally planned.  They were so nice about cancelling my order, and getting back to me right away.  Inque er…people, if you’re reading this, I really appreciated your help!

Ok, onto the review!

At first, I thought about customizing my own nails (let’s stick Eminem on one hand, and Gollum on the other one!), but I wanted to pick a set of nails from their preexisting patterns.

I ended up going for something that I would never have been able to paint/Konad:

I was also greatly amused by the fact that this pattern is called School is Life.  That’s me in a nutshell!

Application took me longer than a regular manicure would, but there’s absolutely no dry time, and it was completely doable.  Even for me, the uberklutz!  Inque includes a set of easy-to-follow instructions with their nails, plus a file.  You can read the instructions here.

Basically, you pick the sticker that fits each nail best, stick it on, and press down gently.  Then, you heat it up with a blowdryer, rub the vinyl for about 10 seconds, and file or cut the material off.

Mine lasted for 4 days, but let me explain first.

I’m sure they would have lasted longer if I’d applied them properly, and exercised some self control after the first one came off.  I should’ve used nail scissors to trim these, but I used kitchen scissors.  In addition, I peeled off my pinky sticker several times before positioning it.  This resulted in my pinky sticker peeling off on Day 4, and well, once that one was gone, I decided to peel everything else off as well.  My bad.

Speaking of removal, it was a breeze.  All I had to do was pick up the loose edges, and then peel the sticker off in one smooth motion.  That’s it.  Also, if the nails start to loosen, you can always reheat them, and press them back down.

One last word about sizing before I end this review.  Inque offers a custom sizing service for an additional fee, where you send pictures of your fingernails or toenails in, and they’ll customize your nail stickers for you.  I think this is a nice little touch for those of you who don’t want to cut the standard stickers by yourself.  I have pretty small/thin fingernails, so I had to cut the stickers for my pinky and ring fingers.  And of course, my cut wasn’t as nice as theirs would have been.

All in all, I find this a very cool product, especially given the fact that you have a lot of freedom in the design.  These retail for $15 a sheet, although Inque also has a couple of promotions going on right now, including BOGOF and 5 sheets for $30, which I think makes these more than worth it.  Of course, these are more expensive than painting your nails would be, but they’re a nice little treat to indulge in every now and then.

Have you tried press-on nail stickers before?  What did you think of them?

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The product in this post was provided by PR for review and consideration.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

12 thoughts on “Think Inque

  1. cute design! 🙂 i totally bomb at applying stickers so i think i’ll have to pass on this one and stick to the conventional way of doing nail art. haha 😛

    Thank u so much for your in-depth review! 🙂

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

