Base / High End / Lips / My Favorite Things

Ring in Spring with Clarins Part I

Since it’s raining and pouring today, I thought I would do a post chock-full of nice spring makeup.

Seriously, what’s up with the weather?  It was perfectly sunny when I woke up this morning (morning is a questionable term here), and then all of a sudden it started raining around late afternoon!

Anyways, the items I’m reviewing today are both from Clarin’s Neo Pastels Spring collection.  Once again, Clarins takes a traditional theme for the season, and then does it better than anyone else.

The lipstick pictured above is the newly formulated Rouge Hydra Nude Lipstick in 01 Nude Rose.

Watch this swatch (Nothing’s going to happen, it just rhymes):

The color is the prettiest rosy-pink ever.  The finish, as you can probably tell, is relatively sheer and glossy.  On the lips,  it turns into a beautifully subtle pink that’s perfect for spring.  Actually, scratch that.  It’s perfect year-round.

The Hydra Nude formula seriously glides onto the lips.  It’s probably the softest lipstick I’ve ever used in my life.  It’s not the most emollient or moisturizing, but it literally feels like a stick of butter.  I love it.  Like the other Clarins lipstick I’ve tried, the scent is light-medium, and not at all synthetic.  This one smells like a blend of rich vanilla custard and warm brown sugar.

The packaging is perfect for spring, and the cap clicks securely shut.  At $24, it’s a bit of a splurge, but if you’re a lip product junkie, this one’s worth adding to your stash.

My rating: A+

The next item is their Instant Smooth Line Correcting Concentrate.

I’m surprised I haven’t seen very many reviews for this product.  It’s a correcting serum (essentially a primer) designed to fill in fine lines and wrinkles.  It’s got one of those soft, silicone tip applicators that make application nice and easy:

The primer is a very light, whitish-pink color with a smooth consistency:

I’ve been using this under my eyes every day.  My fine lines don’t look that bad, but as soon as I put concealer on top (especially concealers that  can be a little bit drying, like Time Balm), they start looking very obvious.  This primer makes my undereye concealer glide on with a much smoother appearance, and stay put all day.  According to Clarins, this can be applied directly on top of wrinkles to instantly fill them in and smooth them away.  Well, I don’t know about that.  When worn alone, I don’t think the effect is terribly obvious.  It’s only when I put concealer on top that I can really see a difference.

Update: before I forget, this does contain dimethicone, which some people are sensitive to.

This primer is a bit pricey at $32, and it’s obviously not for everyone.  If you have issues with concealer looking obvious on your fine lines, though, you might want to check this out.

My rating: A-

Stay tuned for Part II!

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were provided by PR for review and consideration.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

12 thoughts on “Ring in Spring with Clarins Part I

  1. That primer sounds interesting but I fear the dimethicone may be a bit much for my skin. =\ The lippie however sounds fantastic. How would you rate it against YSL Rouge Volupte in terms of how it makes your lips feel?

    (Hehe…I LOVE how and where you get your panties! That is soo cool. Gosh, wouldn’t it be great if we had that here? 😉 )

    • Sadly, I’ve never used the Rouge Voluptes before. I’ve heard that they can be a bit drying, though, which this definitely isn’t. The Hydra Nude formula feels almost weightless (if that makes sense. You know how some lippies feel obvious on? This one’s barely noticeable), so basically it’s very comfortable to wear on your lips.
      It would! Then I wouldn’t have to fly halfway across the world to get them. I also buy my ankle socks from her. They’re extra cushy.

      • Hmm….actually I don’t find the Rouge Volupte drying at all. I’m no lipstick expert though but they are my fave to date. I love though that you mention these are weightless! Ankle socks too? Aw, so cute. 😉

          • Dude, no. If anything, I’m the opposite. I have the worst type of dry lips. (Vaseline for example does nothing for me) Could be the Aquaphor? Can’t live without this. Works miracles for me. 😀

          • yayy high 5, me too! Actually, Aquaphor didn’t even do it for me b/c petroleum ends up drying out my lips in the long run. I can’t use Aquaphor for more than a week at a time.

  2. Love that lipstick! And the primer is intriguing…I want to go check it out now. Do you happen to know if either of these products contain parabens? Allergies 😦

    • I checked the ingredients for the primer, and it doesn’t contain parabens. I couldn’t find a reliable source for the lipstick ingredients, though, and I’ve already recycled the box it came in (sorry!) You might want to double check at the Clarins counter, since they only list the active ingredients online. Hope that helps 🙂

    • Dimethicone makes some people break out. I seem to only be sensitive to dimethicone when it’s in hair products, which is a little bit confusing to me but wadduIknow? I’m gonna ignore that last part (even though I was thinking along the same lines when I first read your question) heh

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

