Hair / My Favorite Things / Product Reviews

Pequi Makes Me Dance With Glee

Look, it’s me dancing with glee, a bottle of Pequi in hand!

*Note: this post contains lots of shoddy Photoshopping (see picture above for a good example).

I’ve really started getting into hair products lately.  I honestly never used to pay very much attention to my hair, since it was one of those things I always took for granted, but recently I’ve started to realize how nice some extra TLC can make you hair look.  Couture Colour Pequi Oil Treatment is a treatment designed to smooth, moisturize, and strengthen hair.  It’s made with oil derived from the Pequi fruit, and is alcohol and paraben free.  Oh, and if you have coloured hair, this is supposed to make it look much more vibrant.

It’s supposed to work  for all hair types, like a little hair miracle in a bottle.

More shoddy Photoshopping:

(Apparently, when I run out of ideas, I always resort to cheesy lighting)

Major props for the cute packaging.  It’s got a pump which dispenses the perfect amount of product each time, and the glass feels nice and substantial in my hand.  Oh, and the pump has a cap, so you don’t have to worry about it spilling everywhere if you happen to carry it with you (I still don’t recommend you carry this with you, just because it’s made of glass, and well, glass breaks…but if you really need to, at least you know it won’t explode in your bag).  The treatment is a clear gel with a silicone-y slip (yes, this does contain dimethicone, no, it didn’t make me break out) that smells deliciously of coconut and vanilla.  I know this scent might not be everyone’s cup of tea, or shall I say cup of  Pequi *wink wink nudge nudge,* but it’s not cloying, and doesn’t hang around too long.

I can’t speak for how well this retains color vibrancy, but it definitely makes my hair look and feel amazingly soft and smooth.  Although it feels slick when I rub it between my palms, I don’t get any of the slippery/greasy feel on my hair.  You can apply this anytime you want (before shampooing, before blowdrying/styling, or after styling).  I usually apply it in the morning before I walk out my door to greet the world with my swooshiness.  All I need each time is half a pump, which is a teensy amount of product, and it covers my whole head.  Granted, my hair isn’t particularly dry or damaged, but if half a pump does it for me, I’m guessing the max amount you might need, even with damaged hair, is one pump.  I take the product, rub it between my palms, and then run it through my hair, concentrating the product near the ends.  I’ll then floof up my hair a couple of times to disperse the last remnants of products, and then happily flip my swooshy hair.  This last step is optional.

Yay for swooshy hair!  See how much I’m smiling?

The only downside of this product is the price.  It retails at $32 for a 2 oz bottle, and to someone who buys all of her hair products from the drugstore, that’s shockingly expensive.

Even so, I have to admit that I’ve never used another product that makes my hair as soft and lovely as this one.  I’m completely hooked at this point, and I’m actually planning to rebuy this once I run out (which, luckily, will take awhile because a little bit goes a long way).  Yes, me, the person who likes to wake up in the morning, run a plastic hotel comb through her hair once, and be done with it wants to rebuy a pricey hair treatment.  It’s that good.

If you can justify the price, or if haircare is the type of makeup you’re willing to splurge on, I would definitely recommend that you drop by Sephora, and give this a try.

My rating: A+

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The product in this post was provided by PR for consideration and review.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

6 thoughts on “Pequi Makes Me Dance With Glee

  1. I love the pictures in this post, lol.

    And that’s very expensive! But it’s good to know that it works well, your hair looks so healthy and shiny!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

