Product Reviews / Skincare

Yum! It’s Avocado & Jojoba Pai

Hey look, yet another cringe-worthy title!  I’ll bet you guys didn’t see that one coming.

Pai skincare formulates their products for people with sensitive, allergy prone skin.  Their moisturizers (one of which I am reviewing today) are paraben and alcohol free.  Well, sign me right up!

After some deliberation, I chose the moisturizer targeted towards people with Normal skin.  Now, normally I would describe my skin as Oily/Combo, but lately the combo part has been getting out of control (namely, Sahara Desert-dry patches on my cheeks).  I didn’t want to worsen the oily parts of my face by using a heavy-duty moisturizer for dry skin, but my normal, light moisturizer just wasn’t cutting it.  Thus, I decided to go with the Avocado & Jojoba moisturizer.

One thing I always pay close attention to is packaging.  Yes, I know packaging has very little effect on the quality of a product, but never underestimate how much the bottle can contribute to the overall appeal of a product.  And Pai has got it down with their packaging.  From the moment my fingers touched the smooth, glass bottle, I was a happy skincare junkie.  The font, the logo, the weight of the bottle, and the little images on the front all say I am luxe, yet wholesome.  Use me well.  Or maybe that’s just me hallucinating.  Anyways, moving on~

Me running after Pai Avocado & Jojoba moisturizer.  My stick figure illustrations just get better and better, don’t they?

The moisturizer smells very lightly of jasmine, and has a semithick texture, somewhere between a lotion and a cream.  It rubs in easily and absorbs quickly, without leaving a greasy residue on my face.  It didn’t provide enough moisturization to entirely banish the dry patches on my cheeks, but I wasn’t expecting it to.  After all, this is marketed towards those with normal skin, and I couldn’t even heal my cheeks with frequent doses of A&D ointment (I’ll tell you exactly what I did to fix the problem in another review).  What this moisturizer does do is leave my face feeling nice and supple, moisturized without that “oil slick” feel.

The one caveat I had about this product was the lack of a cap.  I asked my PR contact about the pump design, since I noticed most of their other products did include caps.  Here’s the response I got:

All our packaging is secured one way or another in order to make it fit for travel – with our moisturisers and body cream it’s the twist-to-lock feature, whilst with our pump-dispensed cleanser and handcream it’s a cap. However we love hearing feedback, so if you feel that a cap feature would enhance the product, that’s definitely something we will consider for the future!

The twist-and-lock feature is a nice touch, but I still would like to see a cap on this, just so it had a more travel-friendly feel.  There’s always a chance that the pump could twist the wrong way in a crowded makeup bag, but a cap would guarantee that the product wouldn’t leak.

The Avocado & Jojoba moisturizer retails at $30 for 1 fl oz.  Curiously enough, all of the other moisturizers are priced $8 higher, I wonder why this one is less expensive!  While it didn’t blow me away, this is definitely a quality product, so I can get behind that $30 price tag.  Try it if you’re into organic skincare, or have sensitive skin.

My rating: B+/A-

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The product in this post was provided by PR for consideration and review.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

4 thoughts on “Yum! It’s Avocado & Jojoba Pai

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

