Eyes / Product Reviews

Milani Marbleized Eyeshadow Colors My World

Hello, fellow makeup junkies!  How was your weekend?  Did you celebrate Father’s Day?

I never know which Father’s Day to celebrate.  I bet that when August 8 comes around, I’ll forget I already gave my dad a present, and buy him another one.  Oh well, works out better for him that way!

Every year, I buy my dad a car pillow, but this year I ran out of pillow shapes.  So instead, I bought him a book about the economic history of the world.  I wrapped it up in printer paper, wrote Happy Father’s Day on the front, and decorated the exclamation mark with glitter polish:

Speaking of pretty, sparkly things (like the nail polish pictured above), have you seen the Milani Marbleized Baked Eyeshadows?

The shade I have is called Mix It Up, and the swirling shades remind me of a planet viewed from a rocket ship.  Are there any planets out there that resemble a mass of shimmering coal and teal?

Milani Marbleized Baked Eyeshadow in Mix It Up

When I swatch the color straight from its pan, it’s slightly disappointing.  I except to see drama galore, but all I get is a sheer, shimmery streak of charcoal.  Of course, this is where I dip my brush in water, and try again.

Take 2 produces a gorgeous, shimmery graphite with a strong teal flash.

I think the color speaks for itself:

(Look at me!  Aren’t I gorgeous?  Don’t you want to take me home and paint me all over your eyelids?)

left: wet, right: dry

I haven’t tried a lot of baked shadows in the past, but this one has a harder texture than the shadows I’m used to handling (probably has something to do with the baking process).  There’s a tiny bit of fallout when I apply this dry, but nothing extreme.  It doesn’t matter, of course, since I always use this wet to coax out that gorgeous teal overlay.  Speaking of application, remember that it’s difficult to blend out colors when you foil them.  I wouldn’t recommend wearing this in your crease, but it does make a gorgeous lid color, as well as an eye-catching, smudgy liner.

The pan is generously sized, and retails at $7.49.  That’s not exactly cheap for a single shadow from the drugstore, but keep in mind that you can always clip coupons or take advantage of a sale.  In my experience, CVS has periodic BOGO 1/2 off sales on Milani, which shaves off a couple of dollars from the price.  Not bad at all.  Plus, next time you’re stalking the Milani display, you could check out their glitter polishes.  And their lipsticks, which I bought ages ago and absolutely love, but never got around to reviewing.  Must do that soon…

I hope your week is off to a good start!

My rating: A-

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The product in this post was submitted for review, either by PR or directly from the manufacturer.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

8 thoughts on “Milani Marbleized Eyeshadow Colors My World

  1. Nice gift! 😉 Is it b/c he’s into econ?

    Hmm….can’t say I know of any planets that look this purty…hehe. Great tip on dipping the brush in water. It’s amazing what a lil’ H20 can do! 😀

    • Thanks xD Yes, he’s into business and econ and all that practical stuff! I’ll be honest, I totally bought the book b/c of the cover. It’s got a masquerade mask with a dollar bill design/overlay hahah. I saw it and I was like pretty! I’ll get this one! I know, especially when I’m working w/ loose shadows, I don’t know what I’d do without water.

  2. Yeah, the dry color is hella disappointing. Ya know, I always marvel at Milani’s colors whenever I go to CVS (which is pretty rare) but never buy anything. I need to do that eventually.

    • Yup, luckily it pulls through with a little bit of water. What’s this about rare trips to CVS?! LOL I’m there at least once a week, mostly just to window shop (aisle shop?)

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

