Lips / Mid End

Own Products Lippies Have Got Me Craving Ice Cream

I hate to admit this, but packaging sucks me in all the time.  Especially lip balm packaging, because it’s not the easiest thing in the world to jazz up.  The only reason I even contemplated buying EOS balms was that they looked like…balls!  Ball shaped lipbalm, omg!

When these lippies from Own Products landed on my desk, I experience a similar response.  Don’t they look like super sleek ice cream cones?  Rubberized, ice cream cone shaped lipbalm, omg!  (ok, I’ll stop) Of course, I could go on and on about the packaging, but you’re probably more curious to know about the products inside.

back to front: Own Products Day Lip Treatment, Nighttime Lip Therapy

The unique thing about these is that they’re liquid lipbalms.  They come with rollerball applicators, which I found quite handy for applying throughout the day.  In terms of texture, the Day Lip Treatment has a more emollient texture than the Nighttime Lip Therapy, but both have a nice slip, and glide right across the lips.  The Day Lip Treatment also contains SPF 10, which is a nice thought, but won’t actually do much for your lips, since you’d probably have to apply at least a third of the product in there to get the sun protection.

I feel like I say this every time I do a lipbalm review, but I’ll say it again.  I have extremely dry lips, so when I say that something wasn’t moisturizing enough for me, that doesn’t necessarily mean it will be the case for you.  I was disappointed when I found that neither of these lasted over 30 minutes on my lips, but luckily, I found another use for them.  Apparently, this week is all about repurposing products!

Since these smooth out the lips instantly, I found that they make the perfect base for lipsticks that you might find hard to wear.  Usually when I apply lipstick right after lipbalm, the lipstick tends to slide off a little.  These balms, however, really grip the lipcolor, and actually intensify it.  I love to pair them with matte lipsticks, since they allow me to work with a much smoother surface.  It would be great if they lasted longer, but I usually just wear my regular lipbalm underneath, let it sink in, and then apply these to prep for lipstick.

Both balms retail for $9.99, and you can get them from ULTA.  $10 is definitely on the steeper side for a lipbalm, but I’ll treat this product more like a lipstick than a balm.  I would love it if they could shave a couple of dollars off the price, but I have yet to find a better lip base.

My rating: A, B+ when taking the price into consideration

Next up are the lip plumpers:

back to front: Own Products Plump Hydration Lip Therapy in True Mint, Cinnamon Bark, Chili Pepper

The lip plumpers also come in liquid form with a rollerball applicator.  Cinnamon Bark and Chili Pepper both have a light tint, while True Mint goes on mostly clear.  While I did see a bit of plumping action, it’s so not worth it.  To put this in perspective, I’ve tried the DuWop Lip Venom, and it didn’t bother me at all.  I could feel a slight tingling on my lips, but that was it.  These, on the other hand, were almost unbearable, and I had to eventually wash them off.  They don’t sting to the point of being painful, but the tingling got so intense that I felt slightly uncomfortable.  It’s too bad, because I absolutely love the packaging, and the scents are all very yummy.

If you think DuWop is bad, which I’ve heard some people do, please don’t try these.  On the other hand, if you have a high tolerance for lip plumpers, I guess you could give these a shot.

The plumpers retail for $14.99 each at ULTA .  Considering the fact that I can’t really wear them, and I think it’s safe to say that these were a no-go for me.

My rating: C- (I won’t totally fail them because I still love the packaging)

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were submitted for review, either by a PR firm or directly from the manufacturer.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

6 thoughts on “Own Products Lippies Have Got Me Craving Ice Cream

  1. They look like pens! They can sort of pass for icecream cones though haha~

    The lipbalms sound good, I totally get you, most lipsticks tend to slide around if I slick them on after applying a lipbalm. And yes, $10 is rather steep! I can buy half a Majolica Majorca eyeshadow palette with that money LOL

    • LOL they do! Of course, I would see the ice cream resemblance first…

      I love Majo Majo… esp their single eyeshadows and their palettes. And their mascara. hahaha I miss shopping at Watsons!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

