Fragrance / Product Reviews

Botanica & My Ratatouille Moment

I’ve decided that I like rollerball fragrances.  Which is weird because rollerballs used to make me think of those cheap play-makeup sets I got when I was a kid, and never used.  Unless you happen to have a Travalo though, rollerball perfumes are so darn handy.  You can toss them in your bag, you can easily touch up throughout the day, plus they’re cuter and cheaper than their full-sized counterparts.

Which brings me to the topic of today’s review:

One mini bottle of super wholesome Agape & Zoe Naturals Botanica Perfume.  Two ingredients only ( organic grain alcohol and 100% pure essential oils).

Agape & Zoe boasts a line of all-natural, non-toxic, and (they really stress this point) phthalate-free fragrances.  Do you happen to know what phthalates are?  Because prior to discovering this line, I had never heard of them before.  Kind of like when I was working in Taiwan, and heard of Brunei Darrusalam for the first time, and everyone looked at me like I had just emerged from underneath a rock…

Anyways, I’m here today to enlighten you about phthalates, and in the interest of keeping this concise, they’re bad for you.

Ok, a little more information.  Apparently, they’ve been known to cause endocrine disruption and other nasty things of that nature, and it’s probably a good thing to avoid using them on your skin.  Of course, I’m not an expert on phthalates, so I’m not saying that you should run screaming to your stash, and trash everything containing phthalates.  Just look at this as an opportunity to become more aware about beauty product ingredients, and feel free to do some additional research!

What about the fragrance?  Well, when I first sniffed it, I had a Ratatouille moment.

For reference, this is what a Ratatouille moment looks like:

I thought Botanica would be a perfect match for me, namely because it contains honeysuckle, and I’m a sucker for honeysuckle fragrances.  But somehow, the mix of gardenia, honeysuckle, and a touch of vanilla brought me straight back to a childhood memory.  When I asked my mom to sniff it for me, she declared that it smelled exactly like Pond’s Cold Cream.

Now, I don’t actually have any of the stuff on hand to compare, but I do know that this smells like some unknown skincare item that both my grandmother and my mom used in the past.  Back when I was little, I liked to sit on the bathroom floor when my grandma came to the states, so that I could watch her and my mom get ready for the day.  Apparently, the scent of their skincare products stuck with me (maybe I was always fated to be a beauty junkie), and Botanica brought me right back.

While I appreciate the sentimental memories this scent conjures up, it’s not something I can actually wear on my skin.  As I’ve said before, fragrance is a very personal thing, and this one doesn’t work for me in terms of day-to-day wear, maybe because I associate it too much with a child’s perspective of grown-up glamour.  I had a similar issue with Paloma Picasso, and although I really like to smell it in the bottle, it’s not something I can personally wear.  That being said, Agape & Zoe offers a wide range of scents, all very wholesome and lovely sounding.

If you love organic perfume, or if you’re interested in trying it, I would definitely recommend sampling one of their rollerball scents.  Each retails at $9.99, which is expensive for the amount, but keep in mind that there are no synthetic ingredients in here.

Has a perfume ever sparked a very strong memory for you?  Were you able to wear it?

My rating: This is hard because while I applaud the line, adore the packaging, and love the scent in my own weird way, I can’t actually wear it.  I feel like I can’t give this product a definite rating, but I’m sure you can find other reviews around the interwebz on this brand.

~Makeup Morsels

P.S. Speaking of perfume, don’t forget to enter my Auric Blends giveaway!  Two days left 🙂

Full Disclosure: The product in this post was submitted for review, either by a PR firm or directly from the manufacturer.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

4 thoughts on “Botanica & My Ratatouille Moment

  1. I love how scents can remind of the most random and most unidentifiable things! Can bring back some great memories! (or frustrations trying to remember what it remind you of! ha ha) I never knew about those phthalates, thanks for informing me! I like knowing those kinda things =)

  2. It’s so hard to review fragrances for exactly these reasons, but I think you made a valiant effort. I wonder if that ingredient… (scrolls up to find the word)… “phthalate”… is the thing that makes me allergic to a lot of perfumes. You know, when they have that distinct perfume-y scent? It makes me break out in hives. Maybe that’s it? Because kid’s perfume, for instance, never makes me break out.

    I swear I make sense.

    • Aw, thanks Trisha xD Possibly! You should check the ingredients of the perfumes that broke you out in the past to see if they contain phthalates. And don’t worry, you make perfect sense hahah

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

