Product Reviews / Skincare

Borba: Beauty From the Inside-Out

Borba Clear Skin Capsules

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but I take supplements on a daily basis.  Ever since I began my regimen of Centrum and Omega-3 a year ago, I’ve noticed a big improvement in my overall health.  While I’m all for taking supplements for health, I’ve never given much thought to taking them for beauty reasons.  Enter Borba’s philosophy of beauty inside and out.

While I did test these products out for a month, I wasn’t able to take them consistently.  I had to stop my regular vitamin intake (Centrum contains all the vitamins you need for a day, and I don’t want to put more vitamins into my body than it can take) when I was trying these out, but because my nosebleeds started to kick in, I reverted back to Centrum on and off.  In addition, I feel that you need to take supplements consistently and for a substantial amount of time in order to really see the results.

The Clear Skin Capsules pictured above are one of the few ‘must swallow items’ in Borba’s line.  If you’re used to taking a multivitamin like Centrum, these won’t be any problem for you.  Off the top of my head, they’re about the size of a Claritin-D pill.  The capsule combines a blend of Vitamin A and Zinc, plus an antioxidant herbal blend to promote healthy skin and oil control.  Serving size is 2 capsules, and they recommend 1 capsule twice a day.  I didn’t use it enough to see a result, plus my skin is in pretty good shape as it is.  What I can say is that I didn’t have any negative reaction to it, and it’s 100% vegetarian, as well as gluten-free.

A jar of 60 capsules retails at $19.99.

Borba Skin Balance Gummi Bears

Now for the fun items, a.k.a. supplements for adults who don’t like taking supplements.  Personally, I like to take my vitamins in pill form because I’m more likely to remember that way, but I know a lot of people don’t.  The Skin Balance Gummi Bears taste like strawberry, and not in a synthetic, syrupy candy way.  There’s a tiny bit of a vitamin aftertaste, but it’s not off-putting, and I rather enjoyed the juicy flavor.  These contain Vitamins A, C, E, B12, and a blend of antioxidants.  While the list of vitamins is nowhere near as extensive as that of traditional multivitamins, it’s still nicely varied, and I’ve linked the full ingredient list above if you’re curious.  Serving size is 8 gummies per day, and they suggest 4 at a time.

A bottle of 90 gummies retails at $14.99.

Borba Mighty Energy Gummi Mice

Lastly, my personal favorite, the giant box of Mighty Energy Gummi Mice (don’t they remind you of Micky Mouse?).  These are excellent for those of you on-the-go, as they come in individually packaged bags of 6.  The Gummi Mice have a delicious, tart fruit juice taste.  I love slipping them in my bag for times when I’m in the middle of class or work, and can’t eat.  They’re also a good for days when you’ve suddenly stopped caffeine intake, and although they haven’t produced miracle withdrawal-headache cures, they do wonders for my grumpiness 😀  6 mice are a very satisfying snack, and they contain a mix of Vitamin B6, B12, Folic Acid, Niacin, and an Energy Blend.

A box of 60 gummies (10 bags) retails at $14.99

Borba retails at a variety of stores, but I’ve mostly seen them at Walgreens, Borba retail locations here for your convenience.  I think they did a nice job packaging these so that they look like ‘grown-up’ gummi-vites.  Pricing is consistent with what you’d usually pay for supplements, although I do find the Capsules expensive for the amount (I’d probably just sick with Centrum instead of that one).  The other two are good products if you like to take your vitamins in chew form, though, and I would particularly recommend the Mighty Mice.

Try these if:

~You need vitamins or other nutrients in your diet, but hate swallowing pills

~You want to improve your skin from the inside too

Sign up for their newsletter to save, since I’ve noticed they send out frequent discounts.

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were submitted for review, either by a PR firm or directly from the manufacturer.  I am not a medical expert, and I don’t consider myself fully qualified to talk about vitamins etc., so take this review with a grain of salt.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

4 thoughts on “Borba: Beauty From the Inside-Out

  1. Hellooooooo!!! 😀

    Haha…ok, I am so guilty of taking only vitamin gummies. (I buy ’em at Costco and they taste just like candy! o_O) I think I’d buy the Gummi Mice just ‘cuz they are cute….lol.

    • HEYYY how was your trip girl? I can’t wait to hear about it 🙂

      LOL Costco really does sell everything, I think I got my XL bottle of Centrum from there after I finished my normal-sized bottle. Which kind do you take? Is it just the Kirkland brand?

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

