Product Reviews / Skincare

For the Sake of Beauty

How likely are you to rub snail slime all over your face?

Now, I know what you’re going to ask.

Why?  Why would you ever rub snail slime on your face?

According to Labcconte, snail extract “has the amazing power to regenerate, heal, and protect the skin because it contains glycolic acid, collagen, elastin, allantoine, and natural antibiotics.”

And in case you were wondering, Labcconte uses its own hatchery of snails, none of which are harmed in the process.  Apparently, after a snail has given up its slime, it is released back into the hatchery.

Sounds like an exciting life.

Premium Nourishing Snail Cream for Ladies:

The first thing I noticed about this product was that “Snail Secretion Filtrate” is at the top of the ingredients list.  The higher up something is in an ingredients list, the higher its concentration.  This moisturizer contains 85% snail extract, so I was very impressed that it did not feel at all slimy or off-putting.  The texture is very light, and the lotion smells just like regular skincare.  It sinks in quickly, and is surprisingly moisturizing for something with such a light formula.

While I was testing this snail cream out, I noticed that my skintone evened out a little more, and felt smoother after application (both of these were minor, not dramatic improvements in my case).  The Nourishing Cream did not irritate my skin in any way, or cause me to break out.  It would make a good winter moisturizer because it’s extremely hydrating, but can easily be used for warmer months as well because of how light and refreshing it feels on the skin.

Can you tell this is 85% snail slime?

The Premium Repairing Antispot Snail Gel, which can be used in tandem with the Nourishing Cream, contains a whopping 95% Snail Secretion Filtrate:

This product is recommended for use over fine lines & wrinkles, dark spots, burned skin surfaces, and acne.  I used it over my burn scar (I swear, all my injuries are the result of pure stupidity) for about a month.  The scar shrunk, but did not fade in color.  It’s possible that I began to treat the scar too late to see much improvement.  The gel has a watery texture, and is completely transparent in color.  Once again, it does not feel slimy at all, and spreads easily across the skin.

My one complain about this gel has to do with the packaging.  Let’s just say that after many frustrated attempts, I contacted the company, and they explained that I had to cut a bit of plastic off the tip to expose the opening.  Personally, I would prefer if they just used foil to seal it, as I’m sure other people will encounter the same problem.

I found the price of both products to be on the steep side.  The Nourishing Cream retails at $64.99 for 30ml, and the Gel retails at $79.99 for 40ml. The good news is that Labcconte offers free samples, so you can get a feel for the products before you decide whether or not to purchase them.  Instructions here.

One last thing I want to mention is that Labcconte is touted as a sort of miracle worker for problem skin.  Please don’t throw things at me for saying this, but my skin is in pretty damn good shape at this point *knock on wood*  For this reason, I don’t think I was able to see maximum results with these products.  I do think that they both work very well in terms of moisturization, but I didn’t see any drastic changes.  Normally, that wouldn’t be a huge issue, but with the price tag, I thought I should mention it.

Thumbs up for

Good texture and moisturization, free sample program, the fact that they managed to make something so full of slime not feel like slime at all.  I also like that the ‘main ingredient’ is the first thing on the ingredients list.

Thumbs down for

Bad packaging on the gel, the price tag.

Final decision

While I thought that both of these were good products, I personally wouldn’t pay that much.  I highly recommend that you take advantage of the free sample program, and give them a try to see whether they work well for you or not.

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were submitted for review, either by the manufacturer or directly from a PR firm.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

6 thoughts on “For the Sake of Beauty

  1. Um, what? So. Very. Strange.

    The snail hatchery? *shudders* Thanks for that, nightmares will ensue.

    I hate slugs, they’re creepy, and really, what are snails but slugs with shells? Gah.

  2. I find snail slime really offputting.. There are so many beneficial skincare ingredients that I don’t really feel the need to use slime.. it’s good to know that it works well though, thanks for the review.

    • Normally I would too, but these honestly don’t remind me of anything snail-slimey. I thought it was cool that they were able to use it in skincare, although I can see how it would creep some people out!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

