Eyes / Lips / Mid End

A Break from Summer: Dark & Vampy with Twilight Beauty

I’m pretty much done with summer makeup at this point (except for Ellis Faas’ gorgeous offering, which I’ll be showing you next week).  I mean, who can even think about summer when companies like Guerlain (one of my favorite promos this year) keep pumping out their tempting fall collections?  Not me!

While these products aren’t technically fall makeup, they certainly don’t look summery to me:

Volturi Enrapture Lip Gloss in Arsenic

I know a lot of people aren’t crazy about black lips, but I think they can look very nice.  Of course, black lipstick isn’t the easiest thing to pull off, so much better to stick with this color in a gloss formula.

The Volturi gloss in Arsenic is an extremely sheer black laced with gold shimmer.  It has a pleasant scent of licorice tinged with vanilla, coupled with a thin, slippery formula.  The disc of gloss comes encased in a plastic compact that snaps open.  The packaging doesn’t feel too cheap, and I like the slim appearance.  You can apply the gloss with your fingers, or use a lip brush.

Closeup to show the shimmer particles:

Unfortunately, when worn alone, it makes me look positively corpse-like.  I’ve seen it turn a nice plummy shade on others, but it doesn’t play nice with my natural lip color:

The whole lifeless lips thing wasn’t working out too well for me, so I took a page out of Lancome’s book, and slicked it on over some bright red lipstick.

The result was very much to my liking:

products in order of application: Prestige Waterproof Lipliner in True Red, Sally Hansen Lipstick in Soft Red (from the Carmindy line), Twilight Beauty Volturi Lip Gloss in Arsenic.

And a couple more pictures for no good reason:

I love how the black gloss adds both depth and shine to a bright red lipstick.  When Lancome came up with the Piha Black+red lipstick combo, I wasn’t adventurous enough to try the look, even though it definitely caught my eye.  If you ever wanted to try black gloss out, but didn’t want to spend too much money on it, I would say that this is a nice one to have.  It’s perfect for layering, and costs $12 a pop.  That’s pricier than most drugstore lippies, but a lot cheaper than department store brands.

Next up is the Volturi Crown Metallic Mascara in Black Knight.  Doesn’t the packaging remind you slightly of Burberry’s mascara?  I approve:

Unfortunately, that’s about the only positive thing I have to say about this product.  First of all, where is my metallic finish?  Where is the ‘flash of shimmer?’  I might not have the sharpest eyes in the world, but I can honestly say that I see no shimmer whatsoever.

The little white dots were caused by camera flash, not shimmer.

The formula is on the wet side, and imparts a very natural-looking lash.  But since my lashes are practically invisible, I need something with about 10x the drama that this provides.

But the truly upsetting thing is that this smudges on me.  A lot.  To the point where I look like a grumpy panda who needs to go all Rip-van-Winkle, and take a very long nap nap.  Now, I will say that a lot of mascaras smudge easily on me, so it might work for you, but in any case, I wasn’t very impressed by this product.

My guess is that it’s meant to act as more of a mascara topcoat, and the other two colors look like they would work better for that purpose.  But for $16, I’ll pass.

Thumbs up for

The lipgloss, it’s nice to see this brand do a sophisticated black gloss.

Thumbs down for

The mascara.

Final decision

Get the lipgloss, skip the mascara.  If you’re interested in Twilight Beauty, I would also recommend that you take a look at their nail polishes, which are well worth the price.

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were submitted for review, either by a PR firm or directly from the manufacturer.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

8 thoughts on “A Break from Summer: Dark & Vampy with Twilight Beauty

  1. I can’t really get behind something inspired by those awful books! But the black gloss over red lipstick looks amazing – I’ll have to try that.

    • LOL I was skeptical at first, and it seems like this line is hit and miss, but the hits are good!
      *whispers* And also I didn’t think the first Twilight book was too bad. But I’ll read anything.
      Do it! And don’t forget to show me 🙂

  2. A lipgloss in disc form?!! That is sooo cool! I wouldn’t toss it into my purse though, too germy to reapply outside hahaha~

    I agree, it doesn’t look good alone but it’s another story altogether when slicked over a red lipstick!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

