Eyes / Mid End

The New Urban Decay 24/7 Liquid Liners: Liquid Fairydust Magic!

I’m not entirely sure what liquid fairydust magic is, but it seems like an apt description for these brand new liners from Urban Decay.

I love their famous 24/7 pencil liners, so I was hoping that these waterproof liners, newly released for their Fall 2011 collection, would be just as good.

I’ll just cut to the chase right now, and say that, yes, they really are that good.  Actually, they might be even better, since the liquid formula is completely budge-proof, while the pencils often require a layer of primer underneath to last throughout the day.

The handle is shorter than a pencil liner, but still long enough so that you can get a nice grip (which I need in order to draw even lines).  Prior to using these, I’ve only worked with pen-tipped liquid liners, which are a complete breeze to use.  Urban Decay’s version features a teeny-tiny brush, and I was worried that I wouldn’t have enough control over the applicator:

Luckily, that wasn’t the case at all.  The brushes are so slim and straight that drawing lines is a breeze.  They’re also on the flexible side, which helps them glide across my eyelid.

The formula is a smooth liquid that’s not overly runny, and deposits pigmented color on my lashline with just one stroke.  It also dries quickly, in about a minute, and doesn’t leave any imprints on my eyelid for the rest of the day.  If you want to smudge it out, you’ll have to work quickly.  If I’m in the mood for a softer look, I’ll left it dry halfway, and then use my finger to blend the line out.  UD says that these are waterproof, I think they’re more “water-resistant” (they stay put when I run my hand under water, but flake when I rub them afterwards).  Remember to shake the tube before you open it, so that the liquid can properly mix together.

These liners come in 11 gorgeous shades, and some of them have color twins in the 24/7 pencils.  What I love most about the color range is the mix of textures.  Instead of going all shimmery or all matte, Urban Decay mixed it up with a variety of matte, glossy, and shimmery finishes.  The shades I have all happen to be shimmery:

Above: “Word swatches” to demonstrate the excellent brush control

Below: Proper swatches to show off the gorgeous colors, swatched from left to right in the same order as the (top to bottom) word swatches

Each swatch = one pass with the brush

Out of the four shades, Smog is my absolute favorite, with its blackened olive-green base and dirty gold shimmer, closely followed by the hot-pink Woodstock.

Urban Decay 24/7 Waterproof Liquid Liners retail at $18 each, $1 more than their pencil counterparts.  While I was iffy on the $17 pencil price tag, I’m actually more ok with these.  High-end liquid liners that work well are usually priced around the $20 mark or higher, so while I think $18 is still expensive, it’s not exorbitant.  Obviously, some of these shades are probably not worth that price tag, so I’d suggest that you go with the unique shades (psst, that means Smog!  In my case, at least).

Thumbs up for

Beautiful color choices, long-wearing formula, ease of application.

Thumbs down for

The price point, so make sure to get a shade you really love.

Final decision

Urban Decay knows how to do liners!  If you’re in the mood to splurge a bit on a new liquid liner, definitely consider these.  Once again, I don’t recommend that you buy a color that’s easily available from a more affordable brand, but there are some beautifully unique shades in here that merit a look.

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were submitted for review, either by a PR firm or directly from the manufacturer.  For more information, please  see my disclaimer.

12 thoughts on “The New Urban Decay 24/7 Liquid Liners: Liquid Fairydust Magic!

  1. Woah! Smog is gorgeous! I may have to seriously consider this one… the MA did liner on me when I got a makeover at a NARS event recently and I actually really liked how it turned out, so I might have to start practicing myself haha.

    • Agreed! I was completely blown away by the color. That’s awesome!

      One of my lids has started folding differently from the other lately, but I find that as long as I adjust the liner, it looks more or less the same on both eyes. Soo glad I can still wear eyeliner, it pulls together a look really nicely.

  2. Retrograde and Smog look gorgeous! I’m a bit worried about the brush though. I find it really hard to draw a straight line when a liquid liner comes with a brush. I guess I’ll just have to keep practicing.

    • I usually do as well, but I think something about the thinness of the brush + the very smooth formula makes it a lot easier to get a straight line. Or maybe I’ve finally mastered liquid liners! xD nahh it’s the first one definitely.

    • I actually still think pen tips are the best, but these come in a very close second (plus, I don’t think I’ve ever seen shimmery formulas w/ pen tips, maybe it’s not possible to combine the two).

      Darn 😦 I’m sorry about that, I think companies are headed more and more in a paraben-free direction though, so hopefully they can release a paraben-free version sometime in the future!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

