Lip Looks

Lip Look: Orange You Glad It’s Summer?

I’m actually not glad it’s summer (aside from the lovely I-have-more-free-time tidbit), but you know I can’t resist lame titles.

The above lip look is the result of four different products.  Should you be wearing 3 lipsticks and 1 gloss at the same time?  Probably not.  Did I have a good reason for doing it?  Nope.

I used the following (‘used’ meaning I’d find one product, get all excited and put it on, and then repeat the process with the next one):

left to right: Maybelline Pop Stick in Citrus Slice, Milani Lipstick in Mandarina, Rimmel Lipstick in Coral Shimmer, Lancôme World Tour Juicy Tubes in Peach Mochi.

A brief overview of the products:

The Maybelline Pop Stick was a very recent purchase.  I think I drove to three different drugstores just to track that one down.  I had originally planned on getting Fruit Punch (looks like a dupe of Clarins Crystal Red), but then I opened Citrus Slice up (also looks like a Clarins Crystal Balm dupe), and couldn’t.  Stop.  Staring.  I wasn’t about to buy both since these are more of a fun novelty item than something I’ll wear on a daily basis, so I eventually decided on the eye-searing orange.  As you can see from the swatch (below), the color is super sheer.  Like I said, more of a novelty item.

Milani Lipstick in Mandarina…I love it!  After I bought this one, I was hooked on Milani lipsticks, I think they make some of the best drugstore lipsticks in terms of  opacity and pigmentation.  It’s so neon that my camera couldn’t properly capture the neon-ness of it, plus the lighting was just plain bad.  Super opaque orange, I used this in my Halloween FOTD last year.  For this look, I dabbed a bit on my lips over a coat of Citrus Slice and sheered it out.

Rimmel Lipstick in Coral Shimmer is an extremely wearable pinky-coral flecked with golden shimmer, I think this is the second lipstick I got from their new line (the old line didn’t have the best formulas, but I liked the colors better).  I applied some to the center of my lip to add some pink tones to the look.

Lastly, my Lancôme Peach Mochi gloss, which I talked about here.  Obviously an early purchase, as I wouldn’t fork over that much cash for such a sheer gloss now.  Still, I have a soft spot in my heart for this one, and I added a coat over my lips to tone down the overall look, and add some juicy-looking shine.

Swatches:

Which lip products have you been wearing lately?

~Makeup Morsels

8 thoughts on “Lip Look: Orange You Glad It’s Summer?

  1. Wowza, I don’t think I’ve ever used 4 at one time but I likey what I’m seeing. 😀 Of course it helps that you have naturally luscious lips. 😉 I’ve been rotating from my small collection of glosses. Today for example, I whipped out my Chanel.

    • This only happens when I’m in a lip product trance…you know when you just keep thinking *oh pretty* and don’t really have control over what you’re doing…

      You’re a gloss girl but you have a small collection?
      I think I need professional help.

      btw, which Chanel gloss? I love their Glossimers, never invested in one, but they have the most gorgeous shimmers.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

