Drugstore / Skincare

Exploring Borba from the Outside

Remember Borba?  They’re the brand that believes in beauty from the inside-out.  You may recall these adorable gummi mice in particular:

I’ve already talked about Borba’s “inside” solutions, so today I’ll show you a few of the items from Borba’s “outside” line.

First up is the Age Defying Eye Creme Concentrate.

The bottle is a nice size, and contains 0.5 fl oz of product.  The cream is extremely light in texture, and almost feels like a regular lotion to the touch.  Once on the eye though, it provides a surprising amount of hydration, and sinks in right away.  Rich eye creams can sometimes cause irritation on my delicate undereye skin, but this didn’t cause any problems for me.  As far as I can tell, it’s unscented

My favorite part of the eye cream is the packaging.  It looks rather unremarkable in that first image, but…

When you twist the silver part on top, the pump dispenser pops out!

Like daisies!

(If you have no idea where I’m getting the daisy thing from, see video clip below)

The eye cream retails at $20.99, not bad considering the amount of product you get.  If you’re looking for a light, non-irritating eye cream that still packs some serious hydration, try this one.

Moving onto sunscreen 😀

Borba’s Age Defying Super Creme SPF 100+ comes in a sleek purple tube, perfect for tossing into your purse.  Just in case you haven’t read my SPF talk before, I’ll give a brief summary.  You don’t need to buy sunscreens that have an SPF level of 100, as an SPF 35 sunscreen is perfectly good, but as long as you’re not paying extra for that extraneous SPF, it’s really not a big deal.  You’re just getting an extra 5% or so of sun protection.

The formula smells distinctly of berries, which I’m not totally crazy about.  However, I know that lots of people complain about that “sunscreen smell,” and this one doesn’t contain a trace of that scent.  The lotion is a bit thicker than what I’m used to (ehem, feather-light Asian sunscreens), but it’s not overly heavy.  This would probably make a great sunscreen for winter, as it’s moisturizing but doesn’t leave my face feeling greasy.

Borba’s formula protects from both UVA/UVB rays, although as usual, I’m a bit peeved that you can’t tell how much UVB protection you’re getting with US sunscreens.

Borba’s suncreen also retails at $20.99.

Last product is the Age-Defying 4-in-1 Cleansing Treatment, which boasts makeup-removing, pore-refining, exfoliating, and anti-ageing powers all in one tube:

Once again, the berry scent makes an appearance.  The formula is a pearlescent, fluffy white cream with little scrubby beads throughout.  Anytime I see the claim “makeup-removing” on a cleanser, I feel a little skeptical, as this usually turns out to mean something along the lines of “I will take off some of your eyeshadow, but not much else.”  I was pleasantly surprised that this cleanser dissolved all my makeup, including my non-waterproof mascara.

I also like that the scrubby bits aren’t too harsh, and my skin still feels hydrated after I use this.  I don’t know about anti-ageing, but I do think that this has a refining effect on my skin.  Like this one very much, especially at the $10.95 price tag.

Thumbs up for

The cleanser and reasonably priced eye cream.  Both are very good quality drugstore skincare items.  I’m also loving the packaging!

Thumbs down for

The scent, but that’s a personal preference.  I definitely don’t hate it, but I could do with a lighter, fresher fragrance.  Unscented would work as well.

The suncreen (more of a thumbs-to-the-side).  Don’t get me wrong, it’s an impressive sunscreen for the price point, but if you are willing to spend extra, I think there are better options out there.

Final decision

Overall, I think this is a nice line from the drugstore.  I’ve seen it at select Walgreens, so check it out next time you’re there!  More retail locations here.

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were submitted for review, either by a PR firm or directly from the manufacturer.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

6 thoughts on “Exploring Borba from the Outside

  1. I didn’t realize this was a drugstore brand. The packaging for the eye cream is awesome 😀 And the sunscreen looks good, too! I think I’d rather take the berry scent than the sunscreen scent (so long as it isn’t too strong!) More things to look for in Walgreens…

    • Isn’t it super ninja-looking?? I don’t mind the sunscreen scent, but my favorite sunscreens have a light, clean/fresh scent. Let me know if you end up trying anything from this line 🙂

  2. “Let’s go kick some Hunny Buns!” Hahaha! I totally forgot that scene. I’ve seen this line at Walgreen’s but didn’t it used to be at Sephora or am I imagining things (<–highly possible…lol)?

    • LOL how could you possibly forget something that awesome? xD

      Not that I’m aware of…I’m not sure though. I hardly ever go to the skincare section at Sephora, too many pretty things distracting me in the makeup aisles!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

