High End / Skincare

Anti-Ageing for the Young’un

(The young’un is me)

Over the past year, my skin has gone from oily/combo to dry with an oily t-zone.  The dry patches on my face can get out of control sometime, so I like to feed them with a steady diet of moisture.  I’ve noticed that overall (and this doesn’t apply to every single brand out there, but it seems to be the trend), skincare targeted towards people in their teens and early 20’s focuses on oil control, while anti-ageing skincare tends to promote skin nourishment and hydration.

Dermelect’s Alpine Rose Resurface Stem Cell Reconstructing Serum is designed to boost facial stem cell activity, while stimulating the skin’s protein production.

I had to post this tidbit from the press release because it just sounds so lofty and dramatic:

The Swiss Alpine Rose is an anomaly that grows remarkably beautiful under the most extreme and unfavorable conditions: high altitude, extreme dryness, bitter cold and an intense sun/UV index. While roses are known to oxidize quickly, the Alpine Rose not only survives but flourishes under these conditions, with a reported extended life span of up to 100 years. Scientists acknowledge that the key to its longevity lays in its amazingly resilient stem cells.

I’m not going to go into the science behind the product, since frankly, I’m not a science person, and would probably do a miserable job trying to explain something I don’t even understand.  Let’s talk about the packaging instead!

The serum comes in a slim silver cylinder with a pump built into the top.  It might not be the most travel-friendly product, since there’s no cap, but I think it looks really cool (does this remind anyone else of the Skin 79 BB Cream?).

It smells lightly of roses, of course, but it draws more on the ‘fruity’ notes of the rose, making a delightfully fresh scent.  The texture is a bit like a watery gel, and the product is transparent.  A tiny bit goes a long way, and the serum feels very light and refreshing as it spreads across my face.  When I first apply it, I get that ‘post-sheet-mask’ feeling, where my skin feels a little bit sticky.  As the serum absorbs (about 4-5 minutes), I can feel my face drinking it in.  I’ve also noticed that my skin feels more firm post-application, not in an unpleasantly tight way, but in a recharged sort of way, if that makes any sense.

Dermelect Stem Cell Serum retails for $75 in-store at Henri Bendel, and online at the Dermelect website.

Is the price tag high?  Well, I really don’t think you need me to tell you that.  I don’t know if the research/science behind this product factors into the price at all, but regardless, that’s not at all cheap.  I will say that it worked very well for my skin, since I didn’t experience any irritation and I could actually feel a result.

Thumbs up for

A lot of hydration delivered through very little product, noticeable firming of the skin (although this is short-term and lasts for about 24 hours), cool packaging.

Thumbs down for

The price tag.

Final decision

As I’ve said in the past, it all depends on what your splurge items are.  If you don’t mind spending extra on skincare, this product does deliver.  However, I realize that this is going to be out-of-budget for many people, so I’m not going to say “go out and buy it no matter what!”  The bottom line is that this is a high-quality skincare item, but not a totally necessary one.

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The product in this post was submitted for review, either by a PR firm or directly from the manufacturer.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

2 thoughts on “Anti-Ageing for the Young’un

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

