Drugstore / Eyes

Stretch Those Lashes with Collection 2000 Skyscraper Mascara

The quest for perfect lashes continues with Collection 2000 Skyscraper Mascara.

Yes, I’ve already found my two HG mascaras here and here, but I’m a bit ridiculous when it comes to my lashes, and keep on searching for something even better.

Is anyone else getting a Leaning Tower of Pisa vibe from this shot?  Just me?

This offering comes in both waterproof and washable versions (I have the latter), and promises to lengthen and define your lashes.  Perfect, because I need both.  In large doses.

The applicator has rubber bristles that come in two sizes: long and short.  The short side builds product on my lashes, while the long side separates and lengthens them.  Think of it as a less extreme version of the Majo Majo applicator:

The formula is a little bit on the wet side, but not so wet that I’m afraid to blink right after application.  I first load up my lashes with the stubby bristles, and then brush through with the taller, spaced out bristles, which ‘stretch out’ and separate my lashes.

I used the shade Ultra Black, which was a ‘true black’ color.  It drives me nuts when black mascaras or eyeliners aren’t black enough (try to explain this to someone who doesn’t wear makeup, and watch them give you weird looks), so I’m glad that wasn’t the case here.

The result:

The mascara was able to hold a curl reasonably well, although I did notice that the curl relaxed a little bit as the day went on.  It was also easily buildable, and didn’t clump up on me after the second coat.  I was impressed that the washable formula didn’t smudge or flake on me, especially since a lot of mascaras give me that “punched-in-the-eye-panda-face.”

If you live in the UK, good news!  You can walk into Boots or Superdrug and pick this up for £4.99.  If you don’t live in an area with either of those stores, your best bet is probably to ask a friend to CP this for you, as I can’t seem to find it anywhere else.  Sorry if this isn’t accessible to you, please don’t throw things!  >.<  I thought it would still be good to review though, since the second largest group of my readers hails from the UK.

Thumbs up for

Effective mascara wand, good formula, Leaning Tower of Pisa packaging (kidding!), reasonable price, decent lengthening and good definition.

Thumbs down for

Availability outside of the UK.

Final decision

While I wouldn’t say that this is the best mascara I’ve ever used, it was miles away from the worst.  Because my lashes need all the help they can get, I would have liked to see a more extreme and long-lasting curl.  That being said, I do think this is one of the better mascaras I’ve tried, and if it’s easily accessible to you, give it a shot!

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The product in this post was submitted for review, either by a PR firm or directly from the manufacturer.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

6 thoughts on “Stretch Those Lashes with Collection 2000 Skyscraper Mascara

    • Thanks xD I’m lucky to have lashes that sort-of curl, but I still like my curl to go at an extreme angle, even if it doesn’t look all that natural.

      Do your lashes usually point straight down? I’d seriously recommend that you look into Majo Majo. Full n’ Soft also holds a curl amazingly well, but that thing went crazy raccoon eyes on me (a lot of things do though, so don’t let that deter you).

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

