Drugstore / Eyes

My Fluttery Fringe, Courtesy of Ardell Lashes

One of the most important life lessons I’ve learned is that many things aren’t nearly as daunting as they seem.  How exactly did I learn this?  Why, through the application of false lashes, of course.

(Pfft, what else?)

I feel reasonably comfortable applying full-strip false lashes at this point, so I decided that it was time to take things one step further.

The first false lashes I ever wore were from Ardell, and now that I’m embarking on the next stage of my journey *DUN DUN DUN,* I’m letting Ardell guide the way once again.  What can I say?  They know how to do lashes!

Ardell sells two types of individual false lashes: knot-free flares and knotted flares.  I have two lengths of the knot-free flares today, which I have to say I prefer over knotted flares.  The knotted flares feature pink plastic packaging instead of white/grey, and look a tad more obvious than their knot-free counterparts.  Also, I find that sometimes the knots will poke me in the eye if I place the lash close too my inner corner.

Each box contains a plethora (no, I’m not going to count them) of lashes in the same length.  Each lash ‘bundle’ contains about 4-5 individual lashes:

I’ve seen the long ones in store, and they look way too long to be natural on someone with my short, stumpy lashes.  The mediums, however, are perfect for my outer corner, and the short length works well from the middle of my lashline to my inner corner.

This shot shows off the length of the flares better than the first one:

Applying individual bunches is trickier and more time-consuming than applying strip lashes, but it’s really not as huge of a leap as I thought.  It’s good to watch an instructional video beforehand, as this will save you a lot of time the first time you try to apply them.  I’d recommend this one, since Lisa Eldridge always knows what she’s doing:

My one issue with these is the glue they’re supposed to be used with (LashTite, sold separately).  It’s a special lash glue that’s supposed to keep these on for weeks (until your natural lashes shed, since individual lashes are applied directly onto the lashes instead of on the skin).  While it’s a good idea in theory, both the glue and its corresponding remover irritated my eyes.  I will add that I have the most sensitive eyes in the world, but I prefer to use these with Duo lash glue, which keeps my eyeballs nice and white-ish.

I’ve seen these go from $3.50-$5, depending on the retail location, which is a bargain, especially since one pack should last for a good while.

Thumbs up for

The price, natural lengthening effect, variety in length, overall look.

Thumbs down for

The fact that these are meant for extended wear, which probably won’t work for sensitive eyes.

Final decision

Get them!  I don’t wear these very often since they do take a little extra time to apply, but for special events or picture days, they blend right into the lashline while adding an extra oomph to your eyes.  I wore these for picture day this year, viewed the final image on a ginormous screen, and honestly couldn’t even tell that these were fake (aside from the fact that I already know there’s no way my lashes would’ve looked so great on their own).

Have you tried individual fake lashes before?

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The product in this post was submitted for review, either by a PR firm or directly from the manufacturer.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

6 thoughts on “My Fluttery Fringe, Courtesy of Ardell Lashes

  1. I’m too lazy to wear false lashes everyday but they are perfect for special occasions, I agree with you. These look very pretty and natural on you!

  2. I’m too lazy for falsies, even though I think they look gorgeous. That, and I’m a little wary of the glue, since I have allergies to other types of commonly used cosmetic adhesives :/

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

