Mid End / Skincare

Super Skincare: Liz Earle

Guess what, guess what, guess what?  Fyrinnae is back up, and I finally made my first order!  *grins gleefully*  I’m sorry, I just had to share.  Too much excitement.

You know what else I’m excited about? *cue the awkward segue, a Makeup Morsels trademark…*

More awesome skincare from Liz Earle!  See how excited I am?

If you’re a veteran Makeup Morsels reader, you might remember my review of their Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser.  Now that I’ve tried two other products from Liz Earle, I’ve concluded that this brand really knows their skincare.  Don’t go expecting bells and whistles, but when it comes to effective, dependable skincare, they deliver.  If I were doing one of those trust exercises (you know, the one where you fall blindly back on a partner, and trust them to catch you) with…skincare, I’d fall back on Liz Earle.

How do I even come up with these things?

First up is their Instant Boost Skin Tonic:

This is a toner for all skin types.  It comes packaged in a pale, greeny-blue bottle with nicely rounded edges and a twist-up cap.  Very spa-like.

As far as the actual toner goes,  it’s an alcohol-free formula (I don’t like toners that contain alcohol, since they can be quite drying) that’s gentle and soothing.  It smells very natural and ‘green’ without being overpowering, and does a great job prepping my skin for moisturizer.

Liz Earle Instant Boost Skin Tonic gets the job done.  I have to admit that Kosé toners will always be my favorite, but if I hadn’t met them first, I could have had something special with this one.  Retail value is $21 for 6.7 fl oz, which will last you awhile.  The price is on par with what I’ve paid for toners in the past, and you get what you pay for.

Next up is the Skin Repair Light Moisturizer!  I used this back when my skin was still in oily/combo zone (yup, I’ve been sitting on this review for awhile).  While I thought the toner was good, this moisturizer is excellent.  In fact, I will go as far as to say that it’s one of the best moisturizers for oily/combo skin that I’ve ever used.  The texture is light but not liquidy, moisturizing without being overwhelming, and so comfortable on the skin.

Another great thing about this is how quickly it absorbs, leaving a thin layer of moisture but no icky residue behind.  Again, there are no fancy frills here, but it’s incredibly comfortable, and contains just the right amount of moisture.

A 1.6 fl oz bottle retails $31, which lies in the higher end of mid-end skincare pricing.  A tiny bit of this goes a long way, so the product should last a good while.

Thumbs up for

Well-made, quality skincare that simply works.  I also like the spa-ish vibe of the line 😛

Thumbs down for

Nothing really warrants a thumbs down.  Even though the prices definitely aren’t low, I’d say that they’re more mid-end than high-end, especially considering the quality of the products.

Final decision

Once again, I’m impressed with Liz Earle’s consistently good skincare, and they’ve earned a place on my top-5 list for skincare brands (in case you’re curious, that would be Lumene, Liz Earle, Lancome, Kosé, and DHC).  While the toner is not a must-buy, it’s still good.  The moisturizer, on the other hand, is definitely something you should consider if you want a light, supremely comfy formulation.

Have you tried Liz Earle skincare before?  What did you think?  And is anyone else getting a spa vibe from the packaging?

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were submitted for review, either from a PR firm or directly from the manufacturer.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

7 thoughts on “Super Skincare: Liz Earle

  1. Yay for your first Fyrinnae order! They make some awesome products, you’ll love them.

    I love Liz Earle skincare products too. They do their job really well and I have yet to try something from them that’s disappointed me.

    • There were so many pretty things on that site! I bought Pixie Epoxy of course, and then some shadow samples.

      What’s the best thing you’ve tried from Liz Earle? I’m curious xD

  2. Yep, I definitely get that vibe from the packaging! Maybe it’s the color of the bottles? 😉 Haha…I love that pic of “you”! So why was Fyrinnae down? I read on MUA a few days ago about them having some kind of ominous message on their site?

    • That’s what I was thinking…the scents are actually quite spa-like too.

      What do you mean “you??” That IS me 😛 It was just one of their routine maintenance things, but people started speculating that it was permanent, and then the rumors just went out of control.

  3. I’ve never tried any Liz Earle – I’ve seen products all over blogs, but I’ve never seen one in person. Is this an online only type of thing??? And yay for making a Fyrinnae order! I prolly never will because their TAT is insane, but…I love looking at their products 😀

    • The brand is based out of the UK, so I think it’s probably easier to get your hands on the products over there. They do have some retail locations in the US though, see here.

      I’ve heard that Fyrinnae usually delivers under the time frame that they put up on their website, so hopefully that’s the case for my order xD

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

