Drugstore / Nails

Stop, Drop, and Roll…It’s Del Sol!

A day will come when I run out of cheesy titles.  But that day is not today!

I’ve already covered mood polishes on this blog, but today, let’s explore the magic of Del Sol.  If you haven’t heard about them already, these nail polishes change color in the sun.

Before I get into the review, let me first apologize for the quality of my swatches.  There’s a reason I’m not a nail blogger.

Indoor lighting on the left, sun working its magic on the right.  I believe that these were mostly 1-2 coaters.

I’ve seen Ruby Slippers frequently floating around the interwebs.  Why?  It could be that it’s really gorgeous!  The indoor color is a smooth, linear silver glitter, while the outside base color transforms into a pinky-red.

Peek A Boo is so much fun for me to wear, just because it’s such a tricky little bottle of  tricks.  It looks exactly like clear coat indoors, but turns into a squishy red jelly once the UV rays hit.

Electrick was my least favorite of the bunch.  I found the formula streaky, plus I generally don’t like this type of frosty finish.  This transitions from sky blue to pale green.

 For all you shimmery pink polish lovers out there, Foxy is your shade!  I’m not going to get into my feelings about pink polish again, but let’s just say that I wear this one outdoors as much as possible.  The lavender shimmer has a tiny bit of pink flash, very pretty.

Whenever I hear Heartbreaker, I can’t help but think of G-Dragon.  I wonder if he would approve of glass fleck shimmer suspended in red jelly polish?  Or maybe he would prefer the violet jelly base of the outdoor version?

Pretty in Pink gets a full manicure because it’s my absolute favorite (top: indoors, bottom: outdoors).

The inside color is a sheer white with strong violet flash.  It’s absolutely gorgeous, and I bet it would look even better layered over black.  While I’m not as crazy about the outdoor color, it’s one of the few pinks I’m willing to wear.

Now, a little bit about the color-changing process.  Each shade changed very quickly once I stepped outside.  I’d say it took under a minute, which was nice because I got to see the color change, but wasn’t bored to death singing “99 Bottles of Beer on the Wall” while I waited.

Another thing I liked about these polishes is that they come with a sticker on the cap that gives an approximation of what the color will look like outside.  The formula was easy to work with (with the exception of Electrick), and I found most of these to be on the sheer side, as I’m sure you can tell from my swatches.

One thing you do want to be careful of is topcoat.  I can vouch for the fact that Seche Vite does not interfere with Del Sol’s ability to change color, but I can’t speak for other topcoats.  My advice would be to do a patch test on one nail before you paint over the others.

Del Sol nail polish retails at $10 a bottle, which is a bit pricey, but within the limits of what I’m willing to pay.  I’ve seen these go on sale at Walgreens from time to time, so that’s one way you can knock a few dollars off the price.  They’re also available on Del Sol’s website, which I’ve linked at the beginning of this post.

Thumbs up for

A novelty nail polish that changes color in the presence of UV rays.  Perhaps it will remind you to apply your sunscreen (and while I’m at it, let me add that these did change color when I was outside on a cloudy day.  Which means you should be wearing sunscreen even when you can’t see the sun).  There’s also a wide variety of colors to choose from.

Thumbs down for

The formula on Electrick.  But that was the only miss out of all 6 colors, so not bad at all.

Final decision

Del Sol polishes are great novelty items that won’t break the bank.  I think they’re worth a look, and if you buy one, you’ll get two looks!  Har har har 😀

Which color is your favorite?

~Makeup Morsels

P.S. My Fyrinnae order shipped out yesterday!  My mind is boggling in amazement at how quick that was, can’t wait to share my haul with you guys.

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were submitted for review, either by a PR firm or directly from the manufacturer.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

12 thoughts on “Stop, Drop, and Roll…It’s Del Sol!

  1. I like the Ruby Slippers one 😀 I’ve never seen these at drugstores though. Your drugstores are apparently more awesome than mine 😛

    Can’t wait to see your Fyrinnae haul.

    And I bought Fire & Ice last night! 😀

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

