Manicures & Nail Art

NOTD: Sparkling Pavement

I was originally going to do a review today, but I haven’t been feeling well for the past week, and I think I’ve passed into the actually-sick-phase today.  So for the sake of coherence, I’m posting a quick NOTD instead.

This one is from a few months back.  I was inspired by the way that the street looks when it’s raining.  But I wanted to amp the whole thing up a bit, so this is what rain-on-pavement would look like if it rained diamonds on a sparkling street:

Closeup to show the gorgeous, multidimensional glitter:

This is one of my favorite manicures ever, but I never wore it again.  You want to know why?  Because it’s a glitter polish on top of another glitter polish, and that is double the fun to remove.

Still, it’s worth at least one try, and you can get both of these polishes from the drugstore.  I used CoverGirl Boundless Boundless Color Topcoat in Disco Dazzle over Milani One Coat Glitter in Silver Dazzle, and then topped it off with Seche.

~Makeup Morsels

Milani Silver Dazzle was provided by PR, previously reviewed here.  Everything else was purchased by me.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

23 thoughts on “NOTD: Sparkling Pavement

  1. 😦 Hope you feel better soon! And I have Disco Dazzle! 😀 That is such a pretty combo, and I love your description of it – totally spot on. But holy moly, that looks like it took some serious effort to take off ._. I’m always torn when it comes to glitter polish for exactly that reason…it’s so pretty when it’s on, but do I really want to go through 485793483 cotton balls afterward?

    • Thanks, I hope so too because school starts in less than a week, and that would be the worst time ever to get sick.

      Yeah, I prefer scrubbing away even though I know the foil method is easier. But I just don’t think drenching my nails in acetone for 5-10 minutes is a good idea…

  2. Reminds me of a clear starry night instead of sparkling pavement hahah~ OMG yes, I love glitter polish but I seldom wear them, it’s a pain to remove. And what?!! I can’t imagine removing two glitter polishes o.O

    • hahaha that would be a LOT of stars xD It took a long time, but it actually wasn’t the worst removal I’ve done before (worst removal would be glitter polish + Sally Hansen Hidden Treasure. It’s a complete nightmare).

  3. OooOO, I really like this!

    But I know what you mean about it being hard to get off. I’ve used a few of OPI’s polishes that were glittery and holymoly… It took FOREVER to get off! I could only imagine how long it would take to remove TWO different glitter polishes!

  4. oH MY GOD! I say this for two reasons. YOUR BLOG FORMAT TOTALLY CHANGED WHEN I WAS GONE AND I FEEL LIKE SUCH A BAD FRIEND FOR NOT CHECKING IN! IT LOOK FABULOUS! I DECIDED THAT I’M BACK NOW! Second reason: I LOVE THIS NOTD. It’s one of those things where you see the title you’ve given it and it makes you like it even more. GRAAA.

  5. OMG love the new layout! ❤ I didn't notice since I always read your blog on my phone and see the mob layout!

    Food ❤ Food ❤ AND MAKEUP. What better combination!

    And I absolutely adore the nails! They are beautiful! It looks a bit like the sidewalk when someone's had their car windows smashed. PRETTY!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

