Bath & Body / High End

Quench Your Skin with Diane Lai

Hello, lovely readers *sleepy wave*

If you didn’t pick up on the sleepy undertones in that first sentence, let me just go ahead and say, “I’m sleepy today.”  So please.  If you read my review, and it says something like “la di da and then there was a tree that ate pizza,” it’s because I have currently lost the ability to speak coherently and articulately.  But really, what else is new?

As the colder months close in (obviously not here in SoCal, but you know…in other places), it’s time to take a good look at your skincare lineup, and possibly add in a moisturizing product or two.  After all, dry patches are no fun, and the sooner you start hydrating your skin, the less damage control you’ll eventually have to do.

I learned this the hard way last winter, when I sort of puttered around doing nothing while my cheeks became dryer and dryer.  When my forehead (which typically leans on the oily/combo side of things) started drying out as well, it finally hit me that I had to do incorporate some more moisture into my skincare routine.

My weapon of choice was Diane Lai.  The Canadian skincare brand radiates wholesomeness, from their packaging (BPA free), to their ingredients (no parabens, phthalates, artificial fragrances, sulfates, or other bad things), to their guiding principles (see here).

I give most of the credit for my skin’s rejuvenation to (what else?) their Rejuvenation moisturizer, which comes in a 3.4 oz pump bottle:

The pump works smoothly and dispenses the perfect amount of product.  As for the moisturizer itself, it has an extremely light formula.  In fact, after I’ve applied it to my face, I don’t feel that I’ve applied something heavy-duty at all.  But this stuff goes to work, and soaks right into those dry patches.

While I wouldn’t call this a miracle product, it was excellent for daytime application.  It kept my dry skin under control during the day, allowing me to speed up the healing process with extremely heavy products (like A&D or Skin Food Potiron au Lait) at night.  At the same time, it was so light that I could easily apply product over the top, and not waltz out the door feeling like a greaseball.

I also tried their Soothe moisturizer, which looks like the baby version of Rejuvenate:

Soothe is a more concentrated version of Rejuvenate.  What I love about Rejuvenate is it’s lighter-than-light texture, so I actually prefer it to Soothe.  On top of that, Soothe costs $34 for 1 oz, while Rejuvenate is $45, so the latter gives you better bang for your buck.

Both of these have a lavender scent (they use lavender oil, so it’s not an artificial fragrance) that ranks at a medium on the light-medium-heavy scale.  I thought I’d mention it because these products are designed for people with extremely sensitive skin (think toddlers or people with eczema).  I feel pretty neutral about lavender so it’s ok with me, but I do think that Diane Lai should consider making unscented versions of their products.

Thumbs up for

The nasties-free ingredients list, practical packaging, light and non-greasy texture, overall effectiveness of the products.

Thumbs down for

The price point.

Final decision

It bears mentioning that these are would be considered high-end moisturizers.  We’re not talking La Mer level, but I wouldn’t call them affordable either.  If you have dry, sensitive skin, I do think these are worth a look because they contain a clean ingredients list, and perform well.  I’ve also seen these used as hand creams and scalp treatments (I tried the latter,and it worked marvelously), so there’s more than one use for them.  If you can afford these, I would recommend them.

Do you change up your skincare routine when winter hits?  Which products do you rotate in?

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were submitted for review, either by a PR firm or directly from the manufacturer.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

7 thoughts on “Quench Your Skin with Diane Lai

  1. I am all about the sheet masks! These Diane Lai products sound great but I’m a bit confused as to why there is lavender oil when it’s geared towards those with extremely sensitive skin. As someone with this skin type, lavender oil breaks me out. 😦 So I’m with you that they should make unscented versions! 😉

    • OMG me too! I just haven’t had time to do one lately.

      I’ve never had any reaction to lavender oil, and wasn’t aware it caused irritation to some people. I just thought that people with sensitive skin tend to prefer their products completely scentless, but if that’s the case, they should definitely consider unscented versions.

  2. You are HILARIOUS. I love your first few paragraphs. So funny. 🙂

    Ya know, the packaging for this looks a lot like the Skinfo Pure Protection SPF I tried recently. Like, almost exactly. I wonder what that’s about.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

