Bath & Body / High End / Skincare

Pai Hand Cream: So Wholesome You’ll Want to Eat It*

*Actually, I take that back.  No matter how wholesome your hand cream is, you probably shouldn’t eat it.

For those of you who don’t remember, this is my second encounter with Pai skincare.  The first is depicted below (and you can read the review here):

With winter fast approaching on the horizon (and temperatures somehow still up to 100 degrees Fahrenheit), I thought it would be the perfect time to test out a new hand cream.  Winter tends to wreak havoc on my skin, making my dry patches even dryer, so Pai’s Fragonia & Sea Buckthorn Hand Cream sounded like a promising fix.

The hand cream comes in a cute, squat bottle with a pump dispenser (that strangely reminds me of a penguin).  I have to admit, I have a ‘thing’ for Pai’s packaging.  I think they have the whole design-reflects-the-brand-concept down pat, from the font to the logo to the printed images on the bottle.  The container is made of plastic, but it feels sturdy, and the lid clicks securely shut.  I also love that the pump dispenser works well; there’s nothing more stressful than a pump that gushes forth product like Niagra Falls.

The lotion itself is a gingery-yellow color with a medium consistency.  It’s billed as ‘fast-absorbing,’ and promises to leave no greasy residue behind.  I was delighted to find that this was one of the fastest-absorbing hand creams I have ever used.  It packs a lot of moisture, but starts to sink in as soon as I apply it, leaving my hands smooth and happy, not greasy.

The one thing I wasn’t crazy about was the scent.  Since Pai doesn’t use artificial fragrances in their products, the lotion smells like its all-natural ingredients.  It doesn’t smell icky, by any means, but I was still on the fence.  The best way I can describe the ‘fragrance’ is a blend of ginger and rose.

And speaking of ingredients, I love that the brand always lists them out in plain English.  I’ve linked the full list of ingredients here, and it looks very wholesome indeed.  No alcohol, no parabens, no irritating ingredients in general.  Pai prides itself on creating skincare for people with extra sensitive skin, so they leave out what I will intelligently refer to as ‘the nasties’ (see here for full list of exclusions).

The bottle looks a little bulky, but it’s still purse-friendly.  Here it is next to a travel size Crabtree & Evelyn hand cream:

Pai Fragonia & Sea Buckthorn Instant Hand Therapy Cream retails at $25 for 1.7 fl oz/50 ml.  I do have a habit of buying higher-end hand creams, so I’ll try to put that number in perspective with three well-know brands.  L’occitane sells their travel size hand cream (1 oz) for $10.  Crabtree & Evelyn sells their (I belive) 100 ml hand cream for $22.  Finally, Jurlique sells their 40 ml hand cream for $25.  So as you can see, Pai falls somewhere between L’occitane and Jurlique in terms of price point.  It’s definitely on the expensive side, which I suspect has a lot to do with the quality of the carefully selected ingredients.

Thumbs up for

Certified Organic (by the Soil Association) ingredients, great formula, unique yet functional packaging (throwing out a couple of bonus points because it looks like a penguin).

I also want to give a thumbs up to their customer service.  Pai offers a 30 day guarantee on this product.  If the hand cream doesn’t work for your skin type, you can return or exchange the product, and they will refund your shipping.

Thumbs down for

The price point.  It’s worth the splurge, so it’s up to you to decide whether or not hand cream is something you’re willing to splurge on.

I also wasn’t crazy about the scent, but that’s just me.

Final decision

This is the one of the best hand creams I have ever used.  It would be the best, but I’m just not crazy about that scent.  As I’ve said countless times, fragrance is an extremely subjective, personal thing, so if you feel more than meh about ginger and roses, then chances are you’ll like the scent!  Overall, I was impressed with this product, and would recommend it if you’re willing to spend a little extra cash.

Do you use hand cream in the winter, or all year round?  What’s your favorite one?

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The product in this post was submitted for review, either by a PR firm or directly from the manufacturer.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

10 thoughts on “Pai Hand Cream: So Wholesome You’ll Want to Eat It*

  1. Thanks for the review. I have dry hands so I’m always looking for a good moisturizing hand cream, especially in winter. The packaging looks pretty too.

  2. Trying this as a sample from spirit beauty lounge and it’s my favorite hand lotion ever! I’m trying to figure out a way to justify the price in my budget…hmmmm…

    • Yay! With something like hand cream, where I know I’m going to be using it every day, I always want to make sure it’s something I like. And I don’t mind spending a little extra because then I feel happy every time I pull it out hehe 🙂

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

