Mid End / Skincare

Just How Pure is 100% Pure’s Argan Oil?

*To skip past this unrelated blurb, scroll past the stick figure*

If you’re a high school senior, you can probably relate when I say that last night and this morning were filled with lots of anxiety and hyperventilating.  SAT scores…they can pretty much make or break your day.  Fortunately, I saw some improvement, so it’s time for a celebratory lunge!

But you probably didn’t come here to see my beautiful stick figure drawings, so back to the question at hand.

Answer: about as pure as it gets.  The ingredients list doesn’t even count as a list because it’s only one ingredient.  And that would be Argania Spinosa Kernal Oil, also known as 100% Certified Organic Argan Oil).

A few years ago, I would have never even considered putting oil on my skin or hair.  My mind has always associated oil with breakouts and grease, which is why I’ve been missing out until now!  If you’ve read my reviews on Sensorielle or Pequi Oil (although that one’s not a pure oil), you know that I’ve completely changed my mind now.  Oil (keep in mind, I’m talking about 100% Certified or cosmetic grade oil here) is awesome.

100% Pure’s offering comes packaged in a weighty, brown glass bottle.  The pump dispenses the perfect amount of product, and the cap prevents any accidental spills or leaks.

Argan Oil is rich in Vitamin E and essential fatty acids, which means it’s great for locking in moisture.  This stuff adds serious shine and gloss to my hair, and is great for smoothing out dry patches on my skin.  It’s never broken me out, even on the more oily areas of my face (my t-zone).  You can also use this product on your cuticles, but I’ve already found my HG cuticle treatment, and I’m sticking with it.

As for the consistency, think along the lines of extra virgin olive oil.  Argan Oil is completely transparent, and has a slightly green, nutty scent with that unidentifiable undertone all vegetable oils seem to share.  It’s very faint and doesn’t bother me, but I’m just throwing it out there that this product does have a natural scent.

100% Pure Argan Oil retails at $19.00 for 1 fl oz.  I balked at the price at first, but after a quick googling session, it seems that 100% certified argan oil tends to be on the pricey side.  And there are definitely more expensive versions out there.

This argan oil is produced by a woman’s cooperative in Morocco, which shares profits among woman of the Berber tribe.  The money earned provides healthcare and education to the local women, as well as support to the entire community.  Oh, and did I mention that the packaging is made of recycled materials, and the label is printed with biodegradable, non-toxic vegetable ink?

Thumbs up for

All-natural, vegan product with equally pure (and cute) packaging.

Thumbs down for

Nothing I can think of at the moment.  I would complain about the price if there were significantly less expensive options out there, but I couldn’t find any (again, it was a speedy googling session, so please do correct me if I’m wrong).

Final decision

If you’re a fan of all natural brands, 100% Pure is definitely one to check out.  Their Argan Oil is a great, multi-use product that performs well.  If you’re interested, take a look here.

Have you ever used cold pressed oils on your face?  What’s your favorite type of oil for skincare or haircare?

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The product in this post was submitted for review, either by a PR firm or directly from the manufacturer.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

14 thoughts on “Just How Pure is 100% Pure’s Argan Oil?

  1. I’ve been meaning to try argan oil & I’m likely to try it when I make my next 100% Pure order. Jojoba oil is the only pure oil I’ve tried is far though and it’s been a life saver.

  2. Thanks for the review. I like Argan Oil, it’s effective and multitasking. However, I rarely buy it because usually it’s a lot more expensive. I’m glad this one is quite reasonably priced.

  3. I’ve actually been making my own oil moisturizer for five years now – I use a 1:1 blend of jojoba oil and olive squalane, and since I moved to San Francisco I’ve been adding a drop of rosehip oil for extra nourishment. Jojoba honestly saved my skin five years ago when I started using it!

    I’ve tried argan oil too, but I’m not a huge fan of it. It’s a little on the more viscous side without the nourishing benefits of rosehip for me and I find it a tad sticky. Though… I think you’re wrong. If you tried to put olive oil on your face I daresay you’d find it much, much heavier and greasier than argan oil.

    All cold-pressed vegetable oils are a mixture of different fatty acid molecules, but the composition varies for each one (except for olive squalane which is actually a single molecule which you can draw). What works best for you will depend on your skin chemistry. Jojoba happens to be the closest in structure and composition to human sebum, and for that reason it’s a godsend or a nightmare for many people (depending on what your skin sebum is naturally like, if you’re like most people it is amazing for dissolving clogged pores and keeping them clear). It is technically a wax ester, but butters, oils and waxes all fall under the larger category of “oil.” Also, argan oil actually contains a lot of squalane.

    You should try jojoba or squalane though – jojoba has a very light texture, and squalane is so light if you saw it in a bottle you might mistake it for water! Squalane also has the distinction of being the same composition as shark liver oil (of course, that’s illegal now, but you can get the same thing out of olives) and is commonly used in many skincare formulations, especially highly touted as the key ingredient in many eye creams. Which is why I don’t use a separate one lol.

  4. Oooh, intriguing. I’m still not sure how I feel about adding more oil, even if it’s a logically sound thing. I don’t like the feel of oil on my hands, lol…Oh well.

    Love the celebratory lunge! I cracked up.

    • It’s definitely a weird concept, but the more I use it, the more I love it.

      hahahah so I guess you do come to my blog to gaze at my beautiful stick figure drawings! That made my day 😛

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

