Adventures in the Kitchen / Tasty TGIF Tidbits

Tasty TGIF Tidbits: Dressed-Up Potato Latkes

The proper name for these is actually ‘Potato Pancakes with Smoked Salmon, Caviar, and Dill Cream,’ but I thought that was a bit long for the title.

I first came across this Wolfgang Puck recipe a few years ago, in what I believe was my very first issue of Food & Wine.  Back then, I was too discouraged by my complete lack of kitchen tools to attempt these, but I decided to give them a try the other week when my uncle visited from Taiwan.

I followed the recipe closely (with the exception of sour cream, which I swapped out for Fage 2% Greek yogurt…and the caviar, which I left out altogether).

Now just to clear things up, I am still sorely lacking in kitchen tools, which means this recipe was a lot more labor intensive for me than it will be for those with a food processor or box grater.  Let’s just say I stood in the kitchen for a good couple of hours, with a potato in one hand, and a dinky little two blade grater in the other hand.  By the time I got to the onions, I lost patience and chopped them pretty coarsely.

Anyways, the point is, if you have some method of getting potato shreds that doesn’t take eons, these are really worth it.  I made 10 or 11, and it took my family 5 minutes to polish off the entire stack.

Do you like latkes plain or all dressed up?

~Makeup Morsels

8 thoughts on “Tasty TGIF Tidbits: Dressed-Up Potato Latkes

    • I think I like all forms of salmon. Baked, smoked, raw (raw in particular, I never stop craving salmon sashimi).

      Let me know if you try this recipe! It’s really yummy, the onions+potatoes make a tasty base.

  1. Oh no… it’s past midnight and I’m craving dinner AGAIN. Yum!

    I’ve never tried shredding potatoes. If I see a recipe calling for difficult methods or ingredients that are impossible to locate, I’ll just move on to something else. So nice of you to prepare this for your family!

    • Woops, sorry! I’d send some your way, but these are long gone.

      By hand, it’s not fun. I even tried to entertain myself by singing (very off-key), but when I passed the one hour mark, I lost energy 😛

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

