Tasty TGIF Tidbits

Tasty TGIF Tidbits: Candles

I realize that Tasty TGIF Tidbits are usually about food, but these candles do smell tasty…so I think they’re fair game!

One of my friends bought me a couple of Slatkin & Co. candles (from Bath & Body Works) for my birthday.  I know I’m late to the whole scented candle bandwagon, mostly because I never knew what the fuss was all about.

The picture below basically sums up how I used to feel about scented candles:

Now that I’ve started burning both, I’m completely hooked.  I’ll probably pick up a few more at the Semi-Annual sale (which I believe is after Christmas).

The scents she bought me are Marshmallow Fireside and Fireside.  Marshmallow Fireside has this delicious roasted marshmallow smell, with slightly woodsy/smokey undertones that keep it from veering into tooth-achingly-sweet territory.  The throw is alright; it fills up one room all the way, but only a little bit of any surrounding rooms.  This is actually perfect for me, because my family doesn’t really like strong smells.  I burn this one when I’m doing homework or studying.  It’s quite soothing.

I think the Fireside candle smells wonderful, but my friend stuck her nose in it, and immediately looked displeased.  It’s not for everyone, but if sandalwood, cedar, leather, and amber sound like your thing, give it a sniff.  To me, it smells like a fireplace with a hint of leather, and the sweetness of fresh air.  I like to burn it in my bedroom, while reading a fairytale or two.

Keep in mind that candles smell slightly different in the jar, compared to when you burn them.  I find that Marshmallow Fireside loses some of its depth when it’s unlit, and Fireside smells different as well (although I love both the lit and unlit scents of that particular candle).

One last note about these is that you must burn them all the way to the edges on the first burn (not sure about subsequent burns) in order to avoid tunneling.  You’re supposed to get 40-65 hours of burn time from each 14.5 oz candle.  I burn these anywhere from 2-3 hours per day, and I’m planning on savoring them over the coming months.

What are some of your favorite candles?

~Makeup Morsels

8 thoughts on “Tasty TGIF Tidbits: Candles

  1. I am crazy for candles!! I have not tried Slatkin candles but my fave (and I kid you not) are the Mainstays brand scented candles from Walmart! They are ridiculously cheap and smell amazingly good. I buy ’em in bulk and always get compliments on the smell. Unlike some candles, the smell lasts all the way to the end of the wick! I used to use the pricey stuff (Tocca for example) and these kick its ass in quality and price. Crazy talk, I know! Anyways, ever since I’ve discovered these I’ve been loyal…lol. 😉

    (F21 jeans are good value for the price. I own a few myself! My faves currently are J Brand and 7FAM)

    • Never thought of getting candles from there! Is there a particular scent you like? Good to know Tocca candles aren’t worth the price, you just helped me quash that lemming hahaha
      I do think you should give the Slatkin candles a sniff if you have a B&BW near you. I love a lot of their seasonal scents, too bad they’re all going away soon 😦

  2. I love your thought process – that’s exactly how mine goes! I have S light the candles, because I don’t like matches – they freak me out. Other lighters are okay, but matches, nope. I really love Marshmallow Fireside, too, and wish I had bought a bigger one!

    • LOL matches are terrifying! But my lighter is so annoying, half the time it just doesn’t want to produce flames garr.
      I’m definitely going to go back for more, but I think I’ll hold out until their after-Christmas semi-annual sale. I heard most of their seasonal stuff is a lot cheaper around that time, hopefully it’s not all gone by then.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

