The Wednesday Wigeon

The Wednesday Wigeon No.38

It’s The Wednesday Wigeon, Thanksgiving edition!

1. What are you reading right now?

*Note: ‘Right now’ being a broader ‘right now’ than literally ‘right now,’ because otherwise you’re reading the wigeon, of course.

I just checked out Pale Fire by Vladimir Nabokov, and will get started on it over Thanksgiving weekend.  I’m also starting Twilight (nope, not the one about vampires.  Read that one a long time ago, and actually did enjoy it) by Anna Deavere Smith, and finishing up Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell (which I highly recommend for leisure reading), both for English class.  Oh yeah, and then I’ll make time to look at my new issues of Food & Wine, Architectural Digest, and Vogue.  I’m excited!

2. What’s your favorite Thanksgiving-themed song?  Or if you don’t have any, what’s your favorite holiday song?

Mine’s called “Turkey Trot Blues.”  I’m fairly sure my middle school music teacher made it up, because I can’t seem to find it anywhere.  Anyways, my favorite part goes:

Turkey trot, trot, trot
Across the lot, lot, lot
Feeling fine, fine, fine
Until…Thanksgivingggg timeeee

(That last bit must be sung in a drawn-out, mournful manner)

3. If you celebrate Thanksgiving, what are you doing this year?

Usually, we do a big family get-together, but this year we’ll be heading up to the mountains for a few days.  I just baked a huge pan of pumpkin sheet cake today, and will probably whip up some stuffing tomorrow.  Since no one else wants to cook (and I’m not hard-core enough to roast the turkey), that will probably be the extent of our special dinner.  Which means everyone eats whatever I choose to make, and has to smile!  Muahaha  

To take part in TWW, just copy/paste the questions and answer them in the comments below!

1. What are you reading right now?

2. What’s your favorite Thanksgiving-themed song?  Or if you don’t have any, what’s your favorite holiday song?

3. If you celebrate Thanksgiving, what are you doing this year?

Hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving tomorrow!  Or, as my dad likes to say, Happy Turkey!

(I find that phrase quite strange, mostly because turkeys are not, in fact, happy during Thanksgiving).

Love,

Makeup Morsels &

10 thoughts on “The Wednesday Wigeon No.38

  1. Pumpkin sheet cake sounds delish!

    1. What are you reading right now?
    US Weekly *blushes*

    2. What’s your favorite Thanksgiving-themed song? Or if you don’t have any, what’s your favorite holiday song?
    The one in A Charlie Brown Christmas where the kids are all dancing. It’s so cute:

    3. If you celebrate Thanksgiving, what are you doing this year?
    Dim sum for brunch and prime rib for dinner (we don’t do turkey…ha!)

    Have fun in the mountains! 😀

  2. 1. What are you reading right now?
    Marriage Customs of the World: From Henna to Honeymoons by George Monger and Lady of Hay by Barbara Erskine.

    2. What’s your favorite Thanksgiving-themed song? Or if you don’t have any, what’s your favorite holiday song?
    Mmm I’ve never thought about it.. White Christmas?

    3. If you celebrate Thanksgiving, what are you doing this year?
    I don’t celebrate it, but Happy Thanksgiving to all who do!

    • LOL just because I’m reading it doesn’t mean I’m going to understand it 😛 It was a rec from my English teacher, who I’m probably going to pelt with questions before I’m even halfway through. And my goodness, you are a delinquent! hehe

      HAHAHA I like that turkey song.

  3. 1. What are you reading right now?
    I’m on Goodreads! I’m Pestozesto 🙂 I haven’t read anything hard core in a while; I will look into this Pale Fire book. I feel like I’ve read a lot of trash, lately, haha. It’s so disappointing!
    2. What’s your favorite Thanksgiving-themed song? Or if you don’t have any, what’s your favorite holiday song?
    Um, Larie does not do holiday music. The end.
    3. If you celebrate Thanksgiving, what are you doing this year?
    I went to the East Bay area to visit my aunt and uncle 🙂 Ate at a nice restaurant for Thanksgiving dinner (no cooking or cleaning, yay!), and then visited Napa Valley on Black Friday. Quite the awesome holiday!

    • Read it! It will probably negate any pestozesto feelings you have…from the past 5 years hahahah. I am so lost, but the writing’s good, and the teacher who recommended it in the first place offered to explain it to me.

      Sounds like a very fun Thanksgiving weekend 🙂

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

