Randomly Beauty Related / Skincare

Skin Rules & An Interview with Dr. Jaliman

A quick heads-up: my first Teen Beauty Contributor post for Temptalia is up, and guess what would make me happy?  I’m guessing you guessed it already!  You can mosey on over and read it here 🙂

It’s no secret that I’m a skincare junkie, so when asked if I was interested in interviewing a dermatologist, I happily agreed.

Debra Jaliman, MD, author of Skin Rules: Trade Secrets from a Top New York Dermatologist, is a board certified dermatologist with a private practice in New York City. She is an assistant professor of dermatology at Mount Sinai School of Medicine and a member of the American Society of Dermatologic Surgery. She is a spokesperson for the American Academy of Dermatology and is regarded as an authority in her field by journalists and cosmetics industry, appearing frequently on television and in publications such as theWall Street Journal, the New York Times, Allure, Glamour, Self, and InStyle.

Read about her skincare routine and favorite products below:

MM: How would you describe your skin type?

Dr. Jaliman: I have oily, acne prone skin. I thought that at this point in my life I wouldn’t have any more breakouts. Unfortunately, I have to be careful about maintaining a strict skin care regimen to prevent breakouts.

MM: What does your daily skincare routine look like?

Dr. Jaliman: I use a mild cleanser for my face. Sometimes I’ll use a Clarisonic for deep cleaning. I use glycolic acid pads to wipe my face every morning. I use a green tea serum to soothe my skin and reduce inflammation. Then I use a tinted sunscreen with an SPF of 40.  In the evening I use a retinoid as an anti-aging tool and to control my acne. I use the green tea serum on top of that for some extra moisture.

MM: What are some of your favorite skincare products?

Dr. Jaliman: My favorite skin care products are the Neutrogena Extra Gentle Cleanser and the CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser. I like the EltaMD UV Physical Sunscreen SPF 41. The Colorescience Sunforgettable SPF 30 is great for oily skin, especially for individuals who are on the go and want to blot their skin throughout the day. I also recommend the Peter Thomas Roth Max Correction Pads which contain glycolic acid. The Ole Henriksen Truth Serum Collagen Booster With Vitamin C is also a favorite of mine, as well as Philosophy’s Help Me Retinol.

MM: Lately, there seems to be a lot of focus on ingredients, with brands marketing their products as ‘paraben-free’ or ‘all-natural.’ Are there any ingredients you think people should avoid in skincare?

Dr. Jaliman: I’m not a big fan of parabens and understand why people would want to avoid them. In our practice, patients request gluten free products as many of them have a gluten intolerance.

MM: Can you tell us a little bit about your book? What are some of the topics you cover?

Dr. Jaliman: Skin Rules: Trade Secrets from a Top New York Dermatologist is a short, concise, and practical instructional manual on how to attain beautiful skin and a more youthful appearance. It contains the same successful tips I give my patients. Some of my rules discuss the simplest things you can do at home to benefit the skin, how to navigate the beauty aisles, alternatives to plastic surgery, such as radio-frequency skin tightening and coolsculpting, technological breakthroughs that are increasingly used by dermatologists.

A big thank you to Dr. Jaliman for answering my questions!

And now, I turn it over to you.  Would you describe yourself as a skincare junkie?  What are some of your favorite skincare products?

~Makeup Morsels

4 thoughts on “Skin Rules & An Interview with Dr. Jaliman

  1. I’m a junkie for sure and was glad to read the good doctor has the same skin condition as I do – makes her recommendations easier to accept. However, it’s funny that she recommends the Ole Henriksen Truth Serum. It totally made me break out. I had to return it even though everyone said it was amazing on them. Sad face.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

