Manicures & Nail Art

NOTD: Beauty Blogger

During the first half of my day, I pretty much forget that I’m a beauty blogger.  Sure, it’s always in the back of my head, but it’s not the first thing I’m thinking about while trying to absorb pages of Art History reading.  And because I do try to keep my blogging life (when you refer to your blog as your baby, I think it’s safe to tack ‘life’ onto the end) reasonably separate from my personal life, it hardly ever intrudes on my school day.

There are, however, those golden moments when you realize that it is not, in fact, normal to own an entire arsenal of makeup.  Or those stares people give you, after you’ve taken precisely one look at their nails, and excitedly identified the brand and shade.

If you’re a longtime Makeup Morsels reader, you might remember the last time this happened to me (July 9, 2011, to be precise.  I can’t believe I’m linking this because the polish application was just so dang bad).  I saw Chanel Black Pearl gleaming merrily on my classmate’s nails (she knows me as high school student by day, not beauty blogger by night), pointed dramatically, and gasped is that Chanel Black Pearl?

Looking back, I definitely should have been prepared for the what is the matter with you look she leveled my way.  What I was not expecting was that today, half a year later, she still remembers.

As I was sitting in math class this afternoon, a couple of my friends remarked that they really liked my nails (ironically, I was bored of this manicure as of 7:00 this morning.  I think it needs a design or some rhinestones to spice it up a bit).  Classmate-Chanel-Black-Pearl asked what color it was, and I said it started off as an attempt to imitate Chanel Graphite (notice the emphasis on attempt, as I fully admit this is a pathetic excuse for a dupe), and she brought up the incident!  Complete with nervous laughter and a sketched-out expression.

I must have really weird-ed her out that day *gleeful chuckling*

Terrible lighting, but gives you an idea of the khaki/gold undertones.  Also, this is what my life looks like 24/7 right now.  Yes, that’s the Common App home page in the background. I live it.  I breathe it.  I even fall asleep mumbling about it sometimes.  Just kidding.  Halfway.

In case you’re wondering what I have on my nails, this is one coat of China Glaze 5 Golden Rings over 2 coats of Revlon Carbonite.  Carbonite is similar to Chanel Graphite from about 50 miles away, which means it’s not.  It lacks that trademark Chanel shimmer, and has more of a warm khaki base than Chanel’s cool grey one.  That being said, it’s still a pretty color, so I added a some gold glitter on top to further bring out the warm tones.

Do you ever have ‘intersecting spheres’ between beauty blogging and real life?  How did you handle it?  With more grace than me, I hope.

~Makeup Morsels

18 thoughts on “NOTD: Beauty Blogger

  1. I feel like my work and personal life aren’t as separate as yours. Mostly because my work sort of is my life. I do this full time and don’t go to school or anything.

    I think everyone in my life is fully prepared for me to talk beauty randomly. 😉

    • That’s cool! I remember reading some of your Type F articles, and I think it’s awesome you’ve made a living out of this 🙂 My close friends do know that I’m a beauty blogger, but when I start babbling on and on about sunscreen or something, it’s like we’re speaking two different languages. So I keep it to a minimum haha.

    • I don’t know Liz, I don’t know *shakes head ruefully*
      Chanel Black Pearl is pretty distinctive too, no? The only polish that looks somewhat like it is Revlon Black With Envy, and even that’s not spot on.

  2. No one really knows about my blogging side but my closest friends know how a convo with me sometimes can turn into lipsticks. 😛 I’m the biggest nerd in the world, so I’m the last person on earth they’ll connect with beauty blogging. 😉

  3. Ahhhhhh! It’s soooo purty! I did also try to dupe Graphite kind of, inadvertantly i suppose. So really I didn’t really try to dupe it. I am quite taken with applying OPI for Sephora Already Famous over two coats of Chanel’s Black Pearl (funny, since you mentioned it in your little story, which I do remember from the first time you mentioned it here!) . I then layer some silver glitter polish on, and from afar…it doesn’t look all that dissimilar 😛

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

