EOTD (Eye of the Day)

Color Revival EOTD & Tutorial

Hm, when was the last time I did one of these?  *rifles through archives*  Ah, May 31, 2011…and the time before that was last January.  Bad beauty blogger.

It’s been a long time since I’ve played with eyeshadow, and I wanted to start with something a little bit colorful.  The first thing I pulled out was my Deluxe Shadow Box from Urban Decay.  I think it was the first palette I ever bought (could be wrong on that one, but at any rate, it’s definitely one of my earliest palette purchases).  From there, I built up the look with some neutrals and (at attempt at) winged liner.

Please keep in mind that I’m out-of-practice!  This isn’t going to be perfect, but I’m slowly working my way back into the EOTD swing 🙂

You Will Need:

Eyeshadow primer (Too Faced Shadow Insurance)
A bright green eyeshadow (Urban Decay Deluxe Eyeshadow in Graffiti)
Neutral crease color, and a dark brown (the Lid and Outer Corner shades from the old Maybelline Chai Latte Quad)
Lighter green eyeshadow (Victoria’s Secret Beauty Rush Eyeshadow in Glamerald)
Liquid liner in color of your choice (Urban Decay 24/7 Waterproof Liquid Liner in Smog*)
Mascara (Urban Decay Supercurl Curling Mascara*)

Step-by-step:

1. As always, I begin by priming my eyes.  I then take my bright green shadow (Graffiti), and apply it to the inner 2/3 of my lid.  Because I want to go for a bright color here, I go back a few times, patting the color on to achieve my desired intensity.

2. Next, I take a matte taupe, and blend it in the outer third and along my eye socket.

3. I add more definition to the look by layering a darker matte brown on the outer corner, then apply a lighter green shade (Glamerald) where the green and brown meet.

4. I attempt to do winged liner.  It fails miserably, but I soldier on and line my lower lashline as well.  You can use any color of liner you want here, but I thought this shimmery olive green would bring everything together nicely.  Finally, I curl my lashes and apply a generous coat of mascara.

Lastly, I tack on some false lashes in Photoshop:

lash stamps from http://www.obsidiandawn.com

Hope you enjoyed the look!  Let me know if you recreate it, it’s very easy to do 🙂

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: Products marked with an asterisk (*) are press samples.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

12 thoughts on “Color Revival EOTD & Tutorial

  1. I like it! Green + brown is an awesome combo, imo, and I agree with Tracy’s comment – very hobbit inspired. Oooooh we should do LOTR looks!!!!!!!!

    Also, if you like, Tracy, Dani and I are doing HP Looks as soon as Dani gets a new laptop. We’re doing the four houses. Are you in? 😀 College apps are done already, right???

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

