Mid End / My Favorite Things / Skincare

Is Liz Earle Skin Repair Moisturizer ‘The One?’

I have a history of being flighty with skincare products.  While I’ve used a lot of good skincare, it’s rare for me to love something so much that I’ll dub it HG (Holy Grail), and add it to my permanent routine.  After much searching, I’ve settled on my perfect cleansers, toner, and sunscreen (DHC Olive Oil Soap/DHC Deep Cleansing Oil, Kose Toner, andBioré Aqua Rich Watery Mousse Water Base).  However, the moisturizer slot has yet to be filled.

Today, I’m reviewing a product from British skincare brand Liz Earle, and it happens to be a moisturizer.  Will it achieve HG status, or will it be just another used-up container on my bathroom counter, unceremoniously tossed once its last dregs are emptied, never to be replaced?

(Sorry, I think I’ve been reading too much depressing LA literature lately)

To be concise (for once), Liz Earle’s Skin Repair Moisturizer for Dry/Sensitive Skin is practically HG for me.

Ever since I’ve started using it, I haven’t stopped.  I dab it on in the morning.  I pat in on the evening.  It’s the first thing I toss into my makeup bag when traveling, and I’ve even introduced it to my car on a few rushed mornings.

What makes this stuff so great?  For one, it’s insanely rich and hydrating, yet feels light and comfortable going on my face.  It doesn’t irritate my skin, soothes my dry patches without turning my t-zone into an oil slick, and keeps my complexion looking bright and even.  Another bonus is that it comes in various sizes, and you can order it in either a tube or tub.  The 50 mL tub I have retails at $31, which I find reasonable.

However, there is that little matter of shipping & handling.  To my utter dismay, Liz Earle hasn’t opened any brick and mortar shops in the US (yet.  Perhaps they’ll spontaneously decide to open one right next to my house before I finish this jar.  pffft, I can hope, right?).

Update: If you live in the area, Fred Segal in Santa Monica carries a select range of their products.  I’m not sure if they carry this particular moisturizer, but I’ll call tomorrow and check.

Shipping charges to the US are as follows: Royal Mail International is a rather hefty $7, and International is a painful $30.  That’s not exactly pocket change.

Thumbs up for

The most effective moisturizer (for my dry/combo skin) I’ve used to date.  I’m also a fan of Liz Earle’s comprehensive product range, and the fact that they have different lines of skincare for different skin types/concerns.  The price point (disregarding S&H, of course) is just right, and if you’re hesitant to buy this size, there’s a smaller version available for $12.

Thumbs down for 

Shipping costs if you live outside of the UK (and wherever else this is sold in-store)

Final decision

Is it worth re-ordering/making the drive to Santa Monica?  I’ll have to make that decision soon, because I’m down to the very bottom of the tub, and probably only have enough for another week’s worth of applications.  I will say that this has become my favorite moisturizer, and nothing else in my stash quite measures up.  If you have dry skin and easy access to a store where Liz Earle products are sold, I would highly recommend you check this one out.  Otherwise, if you live in the US (and not near Santa Monica), it’s up to you to decide whether or not the $7 shipping fee is worth it.  It’s not terrible if you buy other products from the brand as well (which I do like), but I would only be purchasing the moisturizer since I’ve already found my other Holy Grails.

Have you discovered the one yet?  Moisturizer-wise, I mean.

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The product in this post was submitted for review, either by a PR firm or directly from the manufacturer.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

9 thoughts on “Is Liz Earle Skin Repair Moisturizer ‘The One?’

  1. I’m glad this moisturizer works so well for you. I used the version for combination skin and thought it was very good too, although it didn’t reach HG status for me. That place still belongs to Olay Total Effects Day Cream. And I think Liz Earle should open more shops too. I don’t mind shopping online but it’s nice to buy things in store too.

    • I’ve also used the one for combo skin, but this version actually suits my skin type much better. Yay for Olay 🙂 I’ve actually never used their skincare before, but my mom likes a couple of their products a lot.

  2. This stuff sounds awesome. I’ve tried the cleanser and it was okay, but sometimes too much for my sensitive skin. I now use Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cleanser as it never strips my skin. Might consider ordering this one though.
    P.S. You should do a post in a LOTR voice. If anybody can do it, it’s you. 🙂

    • Kiehl’s makes good skincare too! I used to use their Cucumber toner a lot, it was so cool and refreshing.

      And LOL I should! Will have to give that one some serious thought 😛

  3. I’ve tried the Liz Earle Skin Repair moisturizer and it’s very basic. For an HG status moisturizer, try Liz Earle’s Superskin. I’ve never used anything like it before – nothing makes my dry skin softer. I also love Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish. Both of these products have transformed my skin.

  4. Try Somatique’s Moisturizer. My doctor recommended it while I was pregnant with my fourth child, because its ingredients are safe for pregnant women. I would not put the jar down.

    It really helped fight my dry skin, and those wrinkles around my eyes. After my baby was born, my skin because extra dry and this moisturizer was able to handle it. I just wish they made a biger jar because I use so much of it. Well worth it if you have sensitive skin like me, and need something gentle yet effective. I bought at LadySoma.com

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

