Life & Travel / Randomly Beauty Related

Unicorns! Sunshine! Beauty Ban!

One of these things is not like the others.  Can you guess which one it is?!

I just got back from midterms, and now I’m going to be proactive and share my ban plan with you, in the hopes that it will hold me slightly more accountable.

Let’s do this!  (fist pump/celebratory lunge)

The goal:

  • Downsize/streamline my stash.  I’m moving away to college next year (assuming I get in.  One can hope), and I don’t want to leave a big glomping pile of stuff sitting at home.
  • Save money.  The theory is, if I stop buying so much makeup, I’ll be able to replace my t-shirts that have holes in them, and people will stop poking their fingers into said holes and creeping me out.
  • Trim the fat, so that my makeup collection only includes products I love.  I want to be able to get more use out of what I own.
  • Do monthly ’empties’ posts (thanks for the inspiration, Liz) to track my progress.  These posts will probably also include stories of my wavering willpower, plus tips and tricks to keep myself on track.

The rules:

  • The ban will run until May 20 (insert small gulp here)
  • The ban covers all beauty-related items (this includes ‘necessities’ like moisturizer and shampoo) plus home fragrance items.  I mean, especially home fragrance items.
  • Makeup purchases: for every 3 products finished, I can buy a new product in that category.
  • Skincare/body care/essentials I only have one of: I can buy a new one once I run out.
  • Monthly limits: do not exceed 3 items and stay within budget cap of $30.  This includes necessities.
  • Gifts purchased for friends (yes, I know I’m not my own friend) and press samples do not count as purchases.
  • If I finish a single eyeshadow in a quad or palette (wouldn’t that be amazing?), it counts as one finished item.  Expired mascaras also count as finished items.

What do you guys think?  Can I do it?

Also, be sure to check out my ban buddies who are embarking on their own (different but equally dangerous) ban journeys: Liz, Larie, Tracy, Ashley, and Latoya.  Good luck everyone!

~Makeup Morsels

P.S. The apple post is ready to go.  I think I’ll share it tomorrow morning, but for those of you who can’t contain yourselves and must have said apple dessert now, the recipe is here.

20 thoughts on “Unicorns! Sunshine! Beauty Ban!

  1. You can totally do this, MM. I wish you all the beauty-related luck that I can! You’ve even inspired me to go on my own Beauty Ban, and I can gurantee that I have much less makeup than you do! 🙂 Keep up the stellar blogging.

  2. GOOD LUCK!!! You can do it!! 😀 I should be thinking about downsizing my collection too actually.

    Hope your midterms went well. Also, good luck with college decisions! I’m worrying about the whole process already (even though I still have another year). Already compiled a list of colleges and one is University of Southern Cali, which I’m actually visiting in February! Hehehe 😀

    • Thanks Maggie! Let me know if you decide to do this too. And aw, you definitely don’t need to be worried yet. Right now is the time to start thinking about where you want to go, and what size school would be good for you, but it’s definitely not time to start stressing yet 🙂 I’d say visit some of the schools and study up for the SATs for now, and you should be fine. I absolutely loved the USC campus, hope you have a nice visit!

  3. I really like the idea of having an empties post every month.

    I think you can do it…but…what about products sent to you buy PR people? I mean…it’s not like you’re buying it. How does that factor in?

    • Me too, I’ve got an empties bag (from the whole year) sitting on my dresser right now, so I’ll lump those onto this month’s empties. I covered that under the rules 🙂 Press samples won’t count as purchases. I figure they won’t add that much onto my stash, especially because I only keep the ones I really love. I always give family and friends dibs on whatever they want from the rest, and I’m not counting products I give away as finished products.

  4. *Fist pumps for empties posts!*

    Everyone has their bans planned out so well. I have faith in all of us!
    Next thing you know, it’s May and you’ve made it out aliveee!

    • lots and lots of fist pumps!

      Counting down the days to Feb 20, it will be the first test! I feel like if I can do that, I can do anything (ok maybe not anything, but I can certainly go until May 20)

  5. Ganbatte!!! 😀 I’m sure you can do it ! it sounds reasonable actually! especially since you are DEFNITELY MOVING AWAY TO A VERY GOOD COLLEGE 😀 *has lots of faith in you*. 🙂

    Keep us updated on how it goes!!

  6. Way to go! Although I’m not banning myself from anything I do have intentions on cutting back for my trip in March and trying to overall think more about what I purchase and actually use, versus just buying something because it looks new and pretty and shiny..etc. Good luck!! 🙂

    • New/pretty/shiny things are hard to resist. I also don’t want to buy something just because it’s on sale, I’d rather save up for something I really love and am going to use. Good luck to you too, that sounds like a good plan 🙂 Where are you going in March?

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

