Adventures in the Kitchen / Tasty TGIF Tidbits

Saturday Yummy Things with Apples

Unfortunately, I can’t exactly title a post ‘Tasty TGIF Tidbits’ if it’s not Friday.  And I know I said morning, but what I meant by that was ‘when I get around to waking up,’ which on weekends, could be anywhere from 12-2:30.  I have to compensate for all that sleep debt from the week, you see.

Apple Sharlotka, adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Butter or nonstick spray, for greasing pan
6 large, tart apples, such as Granny Smiths
3 large eggs
1 cup (200 grams) granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup (125 grams) all-purpose flour
Ground cinnamon, to finish
Powdered sugar, also to finish

You can find the official instructions on Smitten Kitchen (I’ve linked the original recipe above), or you can try to make sense of my bumbling directions below.

The first thing I did was recruit someone to help me slice all those apples.  The way it usually works in my house is that I cook, and someone else does the dishes, but I was feeling spectacularly lazy and decided that I didn’t want to slice 6 large apples.  The great thing about being the only person who ever makes dessert is that you can threaten to withhold said food if no one helps you with the prep work.  So if you’re a terrible person like me, find yourself an apple-cutter-helper and preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

After you’ve cut up all 6 apples, dump them in baking dish.  I think mine was a 9 inch round, and I lined it with parchment paper.  Then beat your eggs and sugar with a whisk/electric mixer if you have it, and chopsticks if you don’t.  Beat them for a long time, the original recipe says to look for ribbons forming on the surface.  Well, I never saw them so I just kept going and going until I got tired.  Then add your vanilla, beat that in, and stir in your flour until everything is just combined.

Now take that batter (which will not want to cooperate), and get it out of the bowl, into the apple dish.  Use a spatula to ‘encourage’ the batter to get in between the apples and cover them.  Then pop it into your oven, bake for 55-60 minutes, and finish it off with a light sprinkling of powdered sugar and cinnamon.

Enjoy!

~Makeup Morsels

8 thoughts on “Saturday Yummy Things with Apples

  1. Yay, I’m glad you made it! I think I’m gonna give it a whirl, too, but maybe next week. Not enough apples this week! I bet it would be awesome with pears, too.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

