Bargain Buys / Base / My Favorite Things

My Secret Contouring Weapon: NYX Blush in Taupe

I hope those of you that celebrate Chinese New Year had a delicious dinner and quality family time yesterday.  And a wonderful new year, of course.  We did the whole red-envelope-under-pillow-only-eat-a-bite-of-the-fish-plus-red-underwear-and-a-billion-other-traditions-thing, and I baked blueberry muffins.  Because, you know, dragons like blueberry muffins and it’s the year of the dragon.

Switching gears to coherent beauty talk…

For the longest time, I thought I couldn’t get the hang of contouring.  Each time I’d try it, I wound up looking ridiculous.  Maybe I’ve smacked my head on too many walls, because it never occurred to me that it was the color and not the technique that was the issue.  I’m on the pale side (think N15), but started off with pigmented bronzers.  Picture the Pillsbury dough boy with orange marker drawn on his cheeks, jawline, and down his nose.  Do you see the problem here?

I purchased this NYX blush two years ago, declared it HG (holy grail) practically on the spot, and have been using it ever since.  Why then, has it taken me so long to review it?  Well mostly because when I bought it, I didn’t have my weird touch nothing until photographed obsession.  Instead of snapping a picture, I just went ahead and used it like a normal person.  And now it makes my soul hurt to post a picture of a blush that is clearly past the prime of its life.  But I will do it anyways:

It’s a matte taupe that’s on the cool side, with more grey than brown, but not so grey that it looks unnatural.  A little bit of this under my cheekbones, down the sides of my nose, under my jawline, and suddenly I have semi-amazing bone structure.

For whatever reason, I could not get a good picture of this on my face.  There is actually a really great example of how this product gives me cheekbones on my school’s website, but I’m too stalker-leery to show you guys.  So you’ll just have to look at these terrible-lighting images, and make them better in your head:

Magic in a pan, I tell you.  It does fade a little bit as the day goes on, but it’s still there when I take off my makeup at the end of the day.  It’s also quite pigmented, so apply with a light hand.

I get the best results with my Walmart HD Contouring brush (review here), and I’d recommend that you invest in a contouring brush if you don’t have one already.  A regular blush brush works for me too, but not as well.  A pan will last you an eternity, and retails from $6-9, depending on where you buy it.  I think I bought mine for $8, at some accessories boutique in the mall.  Well worth it.

Thumbs up for

The natural shade, affordable price tag, reasonably good availability.

Thumbs down for

Sadly, it’s not going to work for everyone.  If your skintone is medium-dark, or if you have very warm undertones, this might not be the way to go.  But look on the bright side!  You have a whole world of bronzers at your disposal.

Also, I suppose the packaging isn’t the fanciest.  But it’s travel-friendly, not too flimsy, and in line with the price tag.

Final decision

If you have pale skin and need a contour color that looks natural, I highly recommend that you try this one (and wave goodbye to your Pillsbury pumpkin stripe days in the process).

For those of you that are new to contouring, let me steer you in the direction of Rae’s videos.  They are amazing.  And she has killer cheekbones.

Do you contour?  What’s your go-to contour color?

~Makeup Morsels

29 thoughts on “My Secret Contouring Weapon: NYX Blush in Taupe

  1. ❤ ❤ Thanks for the link love, hon! I've yet to try Taupe (keep meaning to give it a swatch; keep forgetting), but I've heard such great things about it. Adding your raves to my mental product notes sheet 😛

  2. This sounds like a fun blush to try if I get any paler 🙂 I do agree with you, a wrong bronzer can make your face look streaky and tacky. Thanks for the reminder, M!

  3. Happy CNY to you! 😀 What’s the only eat a bit of a fish tradition all about? I guess I don’t know all of them…hehe. 😉

    Love this blush on you! Really goes nicely with your skin tone. I used to kinda contour (I say “kinda” b/c I’m not the best at m/u…lol) and use MAC but now I’ve gotten lazy and just skip this step. 😛

    (Haha…I know you are a big Eminem fan)

    • Happy CNY to you too! Have you ever heard that saying, nian nian you yü? My phonetic spelling might be way off there LOL it’s been awhile. Anyways, the yü character means abundance (I think. Again, I’m rusty), but also sounds like the character for fish. So try to make the fish last as long as possible, and you’ll have an abundance of good stuff in the coming year.

      Yup, I wanted MAC Emote originally, but I think that was discontinued by the time I got around to hunting for a contour color, so I picked up this one instead. You should start kinda contouring again, it’s so quick but makes a big difference 🙂

  4. Oooh, looks good! (for some reason I just had a hard time there not adding extra ‘o’s’ to every word there). I have always wanted to try contouring, but when I do I have similar results as you used to. I have tricky coloring so bronzers are often too warm, but shades like ‘Taupe’ are too light…grr. But, my dedication to finding a shade that works has been renewed now, thanks!

  5. I contour with my bronzer(s) or MAC Equilibrium which is a similar colour. I just don’t see a wide range of NYX near me, or else I might have looked into them earlier on. I’m glad you have this trusty tool and trick to give yourself Rae-like cheekbones. 😉

  6. Happy new year love! I see cheekbones! I have a hard time contouring, but for me, I think it’s a combination of bad technique and… a lack of the right brush. I don’t know where to shade on my cheeks. In addition to that, once I put blush on, my whole face just looks pink. Like a clown. So not hot.

    • Happy New Year to you too! And YES, SUCCESS. The brush you use can definitely make a difference. It’s possible to use a blush brush to contour, but the process is a whole lot easier with an angled contour brush.

      I look like a clown without even wearing any blush. Flushed cheeks all day, every day.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

