Mid End / Skincare

Liz Earle Superskin Concentrate: Rollerball Relaxation

Liz Earle’s Superskin Concentrate is a curious product.  It’s a blend of pure plant oils, for some extra skin TLC pre-moisturizer.  I’ve already told you why I love oils here and here, and was equally pleased with how this performed on my skin.

But there is a twist!  Supposedly, this product also clears toxins, reduces puffiness, boosts circulation, encourages cell renewal, and aids lymphatic drainage.  Now, I have no idea how to measure that, so I’m just going to call it relaxation.

Step 1: Warm a small amount in your hands and breathe in the divinely aromatic aroma. Then massage onto your skin with upward and outward movements using firm pressure.
Step 2: With your fingertips, lightly smooth in an outward circular direction along the cheekbones to above the eyebrows.
Step 3: Finish by gently sweeping your hands up the neck and over the décolletage

This smells very strongly of neroli, with a little bit of lavender.  If you like neroli, great.  I’m actually not the biggest fan of neroli.  When I sniffed this, my first thought was oh le sigh, how is this supposed to make me feel relaxed?

The confusing part is, I love this product.  It’s kind of like Calculus.  I thought Calculus would be an utter train wreck, but it ended up being the one high school math class that just clicked for me.  Well, this ended up being relaxation in a bottle.  You would think that because I’m merely meh about the scent (which by the way, most people seem to love), I wouldn’t enjoy this, but it’s incredibly soothing when applied as instructed.

It doesn’t even faze me anymore when those jerks I’d like to feed to orcs careless drivers cut me off on the freeway.  I rise above it, retreat to my happy place, and very calmly serenade them with my horn.

It’s also the exact type of thing I would want with me on a cold plane, when I’m stuck between the kid who prefers his chair as a bed and the kid who kicks me if I put my chair back.  A little bit of this, 5 minutes of deep breathing, and I feel like I can tackle whatever needs to be tackled.  Like those kids.

As with all their other products, this one comes in multiple sizes.  I have the .3 fl oz rollerball, which retails at $30.  I get that they use high-quality ingredients (see here) and I only need a bit at a time.  Unfortunately, I do have to say that this is too expensive for me.  It’s not so much the actual price that is the issue, since I’ve paid this and more for skincare.  It’s just that for the amount of product you get, the cost seems very high

Magical, calming powers.  Also love that they always offer multiple sizing choices, so you  don’t have to commit to a large bottle on your first purchase.  The roller-ball is very travel-friendly and easy to toss into my purse, while still having a nice weight.

The price.

I’d say get it if you have the budget and are a fan of Liz Earle.  True to their brand, this is a quality product that performs well, and I do enjoy it very much, although I’m having trouble getting past the price tag.  For those of you looking for something more budget-friendly, I’d highly recommend their Skin Repair Moisturizer for Dry/Sensitive Skin and Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser.

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The product in this post was submitted for review, either by a PR firm or directly from the manufacturer.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

10 thoughts on “Liz Earle Superskin Concentrate: Rollerball Relaxation

  1. Weird but I actually don’t know what neroli smells like but feel like I’ve smelled it before in other products. *scratches head* A relaxing rollerball sounds all kinds of great but you mentioned there is a little lavender in it? Hmm….

    • Don’t know how to describe it but it’s very distinctive, I bet you’ve smelled it before. The lavender is barely detectable, it’s more of an afterthought after the first wave of neroli.

    • There is a smaller size available for less money if you want to try this 🙂 And I wish I liked neroli because it would have made this even better for me! But I can’t seem to bring myself to love it, luckily I don’t hate it either.

  2. oooh this sounds interesting! but I am the laziest person ever when it comes to skincare. I JUST manage double cleansing, toning, eye cream, a dab of acne meds and moisturiser. Anything else is just……….effort =_=

  3. this sounds like it was MADE for me! it is a little pricey, but, that’s ok, i’ll spend money on anything that will lower my stress level!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

