Adventures in the Kitchen / Tasty TGIF Tidbits

Tasty TGIF Tidbits: Wednesday Morning Crumpets

Lately, I’ve been eating crumpet-egg-towers on Wednesday mornings.  I left the egg in the oven far too long on my first try, and the yolk had completely set by the time I took it out.  Having learned my lesson, I now bake it at 450 degrees for 10 minutes if I butter the dish, and 11 minutes if I line it with parchment paper so the whites are set but the yolk is nice and runny.

Marinated artichokes from Trader Joe’s.  I’ve almost finished the jar, and I’m the only one in my family who’s been eating these.  Everyone else is missing out:

As long as you get your baking time right, this is very easy to put together.  I don’t even think it qualifies as making my own breakfast.

I put an egg in the oven, and while it’s baking, I toast a crumpet.  I prefer crumpets over English muffins, but you could use either.  I tried it with some extra sharp cheddar cheese the first time, but I don’t think this really needs any cheese.  For this particular one, I put the toasted crumpet on the bottom, a little bit of cheese on top, then I top it off with egg and a few pieces of marinated artichoke.  So filling and good.

What’s your favorite thing to have for breakfast when you’re not in a rush?

~Makeup Morsels

10 thoughts on “Tasty TGIF Tidbits: Wednesday Morning Crumpets

  1. I never make fancy breakfast for some reason. Though I love breakfast food, I’m lucky if I sit down for breakfast on most days. (Not because I don’t have the time but because I love sleep just a little more than breakfast.)

    Gonna have to borrow this idea and try!

  2. That looks delicious! Not really an artichokes person though. Shall substitute with hmm…other veggies. Perhaps zucchini or broccoli or peppers or tomatoes…mmmm, now I want to make this LOL 😀

    • *gasp!* It’s ok, we can still be friends 😛 I love all of those vegetables too. If you’re doing this with tomatoes, you can probably add some nice mozzarella mmmm.
      Let me know how it goes if you do end up making it!

  3. Good gawd that looks good. 😄 I’m more of a crumpet girl too. If I’m not in a rush, a croissant from Williams-Sonoma (TDF btw) and maybe a hot chocolate. Not very fancy but it puts a smile on my face. 😉

    (Thanks! I *do* feel like I should probably be wearing heels again. Used to all the time)

    • Ohh, that sounds like a yummy breakfast! Where do you get your hot chocolate from? And geez Williams Sonoma, why don’t you just take all of my money already? Although on a sidenote, I think TJ’s mini croissants are made by the same guy who makes mini croissants for W-S, and they’re a lot cheaper. I haven’t tried those yet, but I do love their Pain au Chocolat, which I indulge in every once in awhile.

  4. Really? I’ll need to make to check them out at TJ’s next time! As for the hot choc, I just grab it from Starbucks. I used to have a machine at home and make it myself but it broke. 😦

    • Went grocery shopping during one of my free periods today, and was going to grab them but I realized they would probably defrost before I got home. Next time! Let me know how they compare if you try them.

      Ohh yum, I saw their salted caramel hot chocolate the other day and was so tempted to try it.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

