The Wednesday Wigeon

The Wednesday Wigeon No.45

1. Pancakes or waffles?

Pancakes.  Unless we’re talking Liege Waffles (which I have yet to try), then please pass me one of those.

2. What did you have for lunch today?

I got home early today, so I made a lovely bowl of eggplant pasta and a baked egg with a gloriously runny yolk.  Perfect for today’s rainy weather.

3. Share your current favorite jewelry piece.

Monserat De Lucca makes some of my favorite statement jewelry.  As far as I can tell, their whimsical and very wearable designs are all done in brass.  Lately I’ve been crushing on this Brass Watch Bracelet.

Come take part in TWW!  Simply copy/paste the questions, and answer them in the comments below.

1. Pancakes or waffles?

2. What did you have for lunch today?

3. Share your current favorite jewelry piece.

Love,
MM &

24 thoughts on “The Wednesday Wigeon No.45

  1. Your lunch sounds divine! Shall participate because I want to distract myself from my essay…SO!

    1. Pancakes or waffles?
    Pancakes, hands down. I just love the soft, bouncy, light-ness of a pancake more so than a waffle.
    2. What did you have for lunch today?
    Urrrh, I believe some yoghurt and a sandwich! Not very filling :/
    3. Share your current favorite jewelry piece.
    Don’t really wear jewelry much, but I have been eyeing those Chan Luu wrap bracelets for the loooongest time!!! Y U SO EXPENSIVE!?

    • Yay, A for participation! Good luck on your essay, by the way.

      I too love the soft bouncy lightness of pancakes. I actually don’t even like waffles very much, but Liege waffles have that whole pearl sugar thing going on, so I figure they must be good hahaha.
      Just searched those bracelets, they’re gorgeous! I saw some DIY tutorials for them too, bet you could craft them yourself. Won’t be quite the same, of course, but worth a try 🙂

  2. 1. Pancakes or waffles? Belgian Waffles because I can fit all kinds of stuff like fruit and loads of syrup in the huge dents! I just got a waffle maker and I love it. But I’d never turn down a pancake either!

    2. What did you have for lunch today? Umm, nothing. I skipped it today. Lunch is not my favourite meal of the day. I do like egg salad sandwiches though! YOUR lunch sounded really good. I’d eat that. If someone made it for me!

    3. Share your current favorite jewelry piece. I want a Chan Luu Garnet wrap bracelet really badly! http://www.chanluu.com/Wrap-Bracelets-p/bs-1289webgarmar.htm I figure I need SOMETHING that’s my birthstone, yeah?

    • You do make a good case. Although I actually like waffles plain if I do eat them, that way the waffle-y flavor shines through. Maybe with a little bit of fresh fruit on the side. I end up skipping lunch a lot to study, but I try not to make a habit of it (or my stomach starts making super attractive growly noises along the lines of FEEEED MEEE). And geez, how did I not know about these Chan Luu bracelets before? The Garnet one is super pretty, yes I think you need it too 😛

  3. 1. Pancakes or waffles?

    Pancakes. My dad makes the best ones with secret ingredients I can never quite figure out!

    2. What did you have for lunch today?

    A half of a chicken salad sandwich and a bowl of tortilla soup. Yum! Especially since it was raining!

    3. Share your current favorite jewelry piece.

    I am obsessed with the show Firefly so I recently ordered a bracelet from Etsy that says “I am to misbehave” etched onto a metal cuff Cuteness!

  4. Staring is always free! I do this all the time. 😛

    1. Pancakes or waffles?
    Waffles unless we’re talking about a companion to fried chicken. Then it would have to be pancakes for sure. 😉

    There’s a food truck in L.A that serves Liege Waffles:
    http://www.wafflesdeliege.com/

    2. What did you have for lunch today?
    Grilled veggie sammie w/ Caesar salad at CPK.

    3. Share your current favorite jewelry piece.
    A vintage MontBlanc watch from the hubs.

  5. 1. Pancakes or waffles?
    Very hard, I like both! But if I have to choose, I guess I’ll go for waffles.

    2. What did you have for lunch today?
    Chee cheung fun. Do you know what it is?

    3. Share your current favorite jewelry piece.
    My H&M necklace. I’ve been purchasing new clothes just to match it haha!

  6. 1. Pancakes or waffles?
    Pancakes! I find waffles too sweet, unless they are potato waffles, in which case yum yum yum!

    2. What did you have for lunch today?
    I have not yet had lunch today, but I will be having pasta bake in a standard soffritto tomato sauce and aubergines (that’s eggplant to you guys), courgettes (that’s zucchini), red and yellow peppers, topped with a bit of grated cheese and baked in the oven until golden!

    3. Share your current favorite jewelry piece.
    I am currently loving my griege gold bracelet that was custom made to fit my wrist from Fushigi Shop http://fushigishop.bigcartel.com/! I love the way it is so simple yet so sparkly in the light!

    • Potato waffles?? I’ve heard of potato pancakes, but not potato waffles. They sound really good. And so does your lunch! Would you like to save a portion for me? 😛

      That’s Yasumi’s store, right? She makes such unique pieces, your bracelet sounds lovely.

      • Oh yes if you pop on over now you can still catch a slice of the pasta bake. I made so much in one go that we still have one left!

        Potato waffles? Okay how about potato smiley faces? The waffles are basicaly just like the potato smiley faces but they are waffle shaped! 😄 They are coated in the same synthetic flavouring thing and so delicious! Hahahaha…

        Yesss! ^^ It really is! I love it! I got one with a little gold heart charm as opposed to the ones she has now though, which are little skulls, but they are cute too! Ahahaha

  7. 1. Pancakes or waffles?
    Pancakes.

    2. What did you have for lunch today?
    Chicken with fennel

    3. Share your current favorite jewelry piece.
    A bracelet with small, round green stone and a small snail-shaped charm. Simple and pretty.

  8. 1. Pancakes or waffles?
    I like both. Pancakes, usually, because nobody makes Belgian waffles the way I want them – crisp but still fluffy. They’re always soggy at restaurants. Why?????? Plus I love variations of pancakes. Pumpkin, blueberry, banana…<3 S. makes awesome ones 😉 This is why I'm marrying him, of course.
    2. What did you have for lunch today?
    Haven't had lunch yet today, yesterday I had leftover BBQ pork and potato wedges with Sriracha ketchup. Love.
    3. Share your current favorite jewelry piece.
    Um. Hrm. I'm fickle. Hahahaha.

    • I dislike soggy waffles a lot. Especially the frozen variety that have ice chunks on them, and then get soggy when you reheat them. I had one when I was younger, and I don’t think I’ve eaten another since then. But yum, pumpkin pancakes! Might have an unopened can of pumpkin somewhere, I’ll have to try that. And hahaha, that sounds like a good reason to me!

  9. 1. Pancakes or waffles? BOTH! Thanks for the link to Liege waffles. YUM.

    2. What did you have for lunch today? I woke up two hours ago (it’s now 3pm) so my day’s kind of screwed up. I shall have ramen linner soon!

    3. Share your current favorite jewelry piece. Am lemming this one from Anthropologie and no clue why. So not my usual style!

    http://www.anthropologie.com/anthro/catalog/productdetail.jsp?id=24068751&catId=JEWELRY-NECKLACES&pushId=JEWELRY-NECKLACES&popId=JEWELRYACCESSORIES&navCount=49&color=030&isProduct=true&fromCategoryPage=true&isSubcategory=true&subCategoryId=JEWELRY-NECKLACES-STATEMENTS

    • It does look yummy, doesn’t it? Sorry to hear you’re sick, hope you feel better soon!

      And ohh, that Anthropologie necklace is bright and pretty. Although to be honest, the main reason I’m drawn to it is because some of the beads look like candy. Are you getting that vibe?

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

