Let's Talk Tolkien

Let’s Talk LOTR Volume I: The Hobbit Trailer

Welcome to a new era Sunday series on Makeup Morsels!  Let’s Talk LOTR is my way of dealing with the wait (for The Hobbit, of course).  Anything Tolkien-related is fair game, and posts for the next two months (yes, I have already mapped out LTLOTR posts for the next two months, that’s how badly I needed to get this out of my system) cover everything from the books to the movies to the music.  I also threw a few stick figure drawings in there for good measure.

So without any further ado, let’s get into the first one!  I thought it would be nice to begin the series with The Hobbit trailer, which I’m sure most of you have already seen.  But it doesn’t hurt to see it a second time (or, if you’re like me, it doesn’t hurt to see it for the second time today).

 

It’s epic, yes?  A few discussion points…

The music.

I am ridiculously in love with this music.  The tune matches the lyrics perfectly, and gives me chills.  The good kind.

Casting.

There have been a lot of complaints about the dwarves (in particular, Kili and Thorin Oakenshield).  Ok, those two look like miniature elf-rangers to me, but if they were all Gimli-esque dwarves, then I probably wouldn’t be able to tell them apart until the movie was over.

Who’s excited to go see this?

Wigeon!

See you next Sunday for another dose of Middle Earth!

12 thoughts on “Let’s Talk LOTR Volume I: The Hobbit Trailer

    • I LOVE The Hobbit, it’s one of the funniest books I’ve ever read. You should re-read it! I read it twice a year every year, and I’m not sick of it yet.
      And dudee, you read The Hobbit for school? I wish we read that for school.

  1. Eeeeeee!

    I like that they tied the LOTR in by starting it like it’s Bilbo telling Frodo the story. And I like the casting of young Bilbo. And I like that this one will be lighter and funnier because that’s the way the book was.

    But…I don’t like that they’re splitting it into two movies.

    Still…SO EXCITED!

    • Yes, forgot to mention that! It’s a smart move on their part because it gets the fans all nostalgic and excited and eager to part with their $$ for more Middle Earth hahaha. I really do hope PJ makes this one funny, I’ll address that in next week’s post actually. I remember you mentioning that two movies thing before, let me go dig up my reply! Here it is:

      Surprisingly, it doesn’t bug me as much as I thought it would. At first I was totally with you, because The Hobbit is on the short side. But I trust PJ to do a good job, and judging by the LOTR trilogy, I had a feeling he would be making lots of changes. I think he recognizes that you can do different things on film than Tolkien did with the books, and takes advantage of that (case in point: Helm’s Deep). Of course, my opinion might change once I watch Part 1, but I think there are certain scenes (like The Battle of the 5 Armies) that need more time in the movie than they take up in the book.

      Anyways to sum up…SO EXCITED TOO!

  2. Seriously. Can we all go see this together!?! THAT would be epic 😛

    I am so excited for this!!!! Thankfully my boyfriend and one of my best friends are majorly into LoTR so I’ll at least have them present to share in the ridiculous awesomeness. And I’m going to New Zealand in October for 5 weeks – did they film this there too? ‘Cause I’m gonna be doing a major LoTR tour when I’m over there!

    I have no negatives to speak of regarding The Hobbit, I’m just so damn happy that the journey isn’t yet over 😀

    • In a perfect world, we would all go see the midnight premiere together 🙂

      Ahh that’s so cool! Not sure if they filmed this one over there actually. Are you going to visit Hobbiton? If you do, please snap a picture for me 😀
      Me too! Usually, when Gandalf goes I will not say do not weep for not all tears are an evil, I start bawling, but I only sniffled yesterday, I think because I know more Middle Earth is coming. The Road goes ever on and on! *ok I’ll stop now*

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

