Beauty News

6 Tips for Healthy Hair

As all of you know by now, I am extremely low maintenance when it comes to my hair.  I wash it every 2-3 days, let it air dry, and breeze out the door without brushing it in the morning.  This, of course, does not mean that I’m not open to hearing new tips and tricks for keeping my hair in its healthy state.  So when I received these tidbits of wisdom from Nicholas Penna, Jr. (Owner and Lead Stylist of SalonCapri), I made note of them.  And now I’m sharing the knowledge!

Nick backstage at Rodarte, NYFW

1. Pick up a moisture rich shampoo and conditioner for the winter months, preferably one with vitamins and oils.  Nick suggests L’Oreal Professionnel’s Serie Expert Liss Ultime shampoo and conditioner.  “It’s good to change up the product you use every few months so your hair doesn’t build up immunity to the ingredients,” Nick points out.

2. “One of the hottest new trends is incorporating Argan oil into your beauty routine,” reports Nick.  Argan oil contains fatty acids, Vitamin E and antioxidants that restore your hair’s natural luster without a greasy shine.   Nick recommends using the oil like a serum.  “Use about a dime sized amount and comb it evenly through damp hair,” says Nick. Or, look for a conditioning treatment that contains Argan oil like Shu Uemura’s Silk Bloom Restorative Treatment.

3. If you want a more wallet friendly way to add some essential nutrients to your ‘do, try adding a nickel sized amount of honey or olive oil to your daily conditioner.  Nick’s tips to creating your own spa night at home are to soak a hand towel in hot water and let it steam with you in the shower.  Massage your strands with the conditioning olive oil treatment and let it rest.  Wring out the hot towel and wrap it tightly around your head and relax for 30 minutes. Invite some friends over and you’ve got yourself a spa night!

4. “If you’re going to blow dry, always use a thermal spray or serum that will protect your hair,” urges Nick.  Try L’Oreal Professionnel Serie Expert Absolut Repair Cellular Thermo Spray.   Moreover, Nick insists you go big or go home when blow drying. “Blow drying your hair half way will only create frizz and damage.  If you spend the extra 5 minutes using a round brush to blow your hair out to a smooth finish, it makes all the difference,” he says.

5. “Never go outside with wet hair,” says Penna.  Wet hair and even damp hair can easily freeze once temperatures drop into the 30s, and frozen strands mean split ends.  “If you have to run outside, be sure to work a quick squeeze of serum in your hair before tucking your hair beneath a hood or hat.”  Don’t be discouraged by hat hair—the serum will keep your hair smooth and moisturized, so you won’t have to worry about frizz or flatness.

6. Be sure to indulge in the season’s offerings—proteins, fruits and vegetables are full of vitamins and essential oils that help keep your hair healthy from the inside out.  “Believe it or not, eating balanced foods will improve your hair’s natural shine, bounce and body!  Dark leafy vegetables, beans and carrots provide the exact nutrients to promote shiny, silky hair.”

Hope you found that as helpful as I did!  I’m thinking of giving that DIY spa treatment a try, it sounds all kinds of relaxing.

Stay tuned for my weekly LOTR post tomorrow 🙂

Stock image and healthy hair tips courtesy of PR.

8 thoughts on “6 Tips for Healthy Hair

    • A little bit definitely goes a very long way. I don’t think I even use as much as a dime sized amount. Another thing that might help is just applying it to the ends of your hair. If that still feels too heavy, try adding just a drop or two to your shampoo/conditioner. Hope that helps 🙂

  1. you are so lucky you can get away with washing it every 2-3 days. My hair becomes greasy and my scalp feels itchy after one day of not washing, and because I spend so much time in the kitchen my hair smells like whatever I’ve been cooking. I know you aren’t supposed to wash everyday but I have to! I even tried training it before but it didn’t work.

    Thanks for sharing the tips. 🙂

    Luckily my hair is quite healthy cos I don’t blowdry or straighten or do anything to it really.

    • Well, I do have my bad weeks where I occasionally wash every day, but I try not to do that too often. Dry shampoo definitely makes things easier, I don’t think I could go that long in between washes without it!

      Yes, easing up on the heat tools helps a lot, I think. And your hair is quite shiny and pretty 🙂

  2. I only wash my hair every 2-3 days as well. I wish I could air dry it but doing so would only result in some puffy chia pet do for me so I have to tame it with a dryer and straightening iron. Thermal protectants are a must! And argan oil has been a lifesaver.

  3. Oooh, great tips!! Except I’m feeling a little stressed out about reading that going outside with wet hair causes split ends – I never blowdry and always leave in the AM with damp strands :S I’m also pretty low-maintenance with my hair, and only wash once or twice a week at most (though I condition every time). I also want to try the deep conditioning trick with the hot towel, and adding honey to the mix…the better health my hair is in, the even more lazy I can be with it – don’t you agree? 😉

    • Oh, I’m with you on that one. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!

      Luckily, I take night showers, or I would probably be in the exact same boat as you. Maybe try the hat/hood trick, it’s hard to wake up early enough to blowdry your hair in the morning.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

