The Wednesday Wigeon

The Wednesday Wigeon No.48

1. How do you feel about image retouching on beauty blogs?

Well, I think you know my answer already!  I’m open about the fact that almost every image on this blog has been retouched.  The way I see it, retouching lets me showcase the best possible version of any given image, plus I’m a post-production type of gal, not really a photography ‘purist.’  And since I’m up-front about that fact, I would hope it’s clear that I’m not trying to promote any type of false reality/crush anyone’s self-esteem here.  But on that note, I thought I’d show you this video, which is a tongue-in-cheek commentary on Photoshop (first saw this on Beauty’s Bad Habit, and spent a good 5 minutes laughing).  It’s well done, no?

 

2. What’s your current favorite pair of shoes (that you actually own)?

My Legolas boots.  ‘Nuff said.  You can find them here.

3. What are 3 things you always carry with you, or carry at least 90% of the time?

Water, lip balm, keys.

Come take part in TWW!  Simply copy/paste the questions, and answer them in the comments below.

1. How do you feel about image retouching on beauty blogs?

2. What’s your current favorite pair of shoes (that you actually own)?

3. What are 3 things you always carry with you, or carry at least 90% of the time?

Love,
MM &

18 thoughts on “The Wednesday Wigeon No.48

  1. 1. How do you feel about image retouching on beauty blogs?
    It depends. I don’t mind if swatches and product photos are retouched to make the color look as accurate as possible, but I prefer FOTD pictures and things like that not to be retouched. If the blogger wants to retouch those as well I guess it would be ok as long as he/she mentions it, otherwise I might think that their flawless skin is the result of the foundation she’s using instead than photoshop for instance and that’s not fair.. And lol at that video!

    2. What’s your current favorite pair of shoes (that you actually own)?
    A pair of black flat shoes with an half bow on the tips.

    3. What are 3 things you always carry with you, or carry at least 90% of the time?
    Keys, wallet, phone.

    • Gio, I agree. There are certain things I think should not be retouched (e.g. if you’re reviewing a foundation, you shouldn’t retouch your skin to make it look smoother, and if you’re reviewing a mascara, you certainly shouldn’t photoshop your lashes). However, I have no problem with people retouching their FOTD shots or product shots as long as they’re open about it, since that to me is more about presentation, and less about the actual product (making no sense today LOL). I need to find a pair of black flats like that! Should go shoe hunting this weekend.

  2. 1. How do you feel about image retouching on beauty blogs?
    This is something I’ve been meaning to address on my own blog for a while, thanks for reminding me! I do touch up some of my photos because I don’t want elements to distract/detract from the main point of the photo, especially if it’s a swatch or something. With that said, if it’s overboard/excessive, then yes, it doesn’t accurately portray the product and that’s not quite right.

    2. What’s your current favorite pair of shoes (that you actually own)?
    Knee-high DKNY black leather boots.

    3. What are 3 things you always carry with you, or carry at least 90% of the time?
    Water, keys, wallet.

    • You make a good point! I’m with you on that, I think as far as reviews go, photoshopping is ok as long as you’re not altering the actual effect of the product. I LOVE your boots so much, they went so well with that outfit you posted too. Looks like we all carry the same things pretty much hahahh

  3. 1. How do you feel about image retouching on beauty blogs?

    I was JUST thinking about this! Personally, I don’t retouch my pictures. Not in the way meant in that funny video. I take every photo into photoshop, but only to make sure you can see everything, and to crop. I don’t retouch my skin or anything. How do I feel about other people doing it? Well, if it means you’re lying to me (like trying to make it seem that a foundation makes skin smoother than it really does) I’m not happy about it and I’m not going to trust you. (That’s the all-inclusive “you.” I don’t actually mean you, MM. 😉 )

    2. What’s your current favorite pair of shoes (that you actually own)?

    This is totally an answer you probably won’t hear from anyone else, but it’s my puppy shoes. That’s what I call them anyway. They’re these bright blue slip-on tennis-style shoe I got at Hot Topic that has Boston Terrier puppy faces on the top. I’ve worn them so much they’re falling apart.

    3. What are 3 things you always carry with you, or carry at least 90% of the time?

    Cell phone, lip balm, wallet.

    • It seems we’re not the only ones either! I occasionally retouch my skin and apply concealer in EOTD shots (because I’m too lazy to apply actual foundation and concealer), but I figure since I’m not listing any type of base makeup under ‘products used,’ I’m not trying to trick people into thinking I have this super awesome product on. In a review though, I would steer clear of that type of retouching.

      Puppy shoes!! I love that answer hahaha, I have a pair of puppy slippers that I was obsessed with, wonder where they ran off to…

  4. Um…I actually have no idea how to retouch a photo LOL – so, not sure how I can respond on MY end haha. I don’t mind bloggers retouching really, because we usually do it for the good of our readers. And I don’t really care about it that much in mags etc. because I KNOW it’s retouched and it doesn’t give me a distorted self-image – however, I know it does affect some people (young girls eg) that way, so I think pulling back on some of the retouching would be a good thing.

    Shoes. I am super lame lately with shoes and I don’t have a fave pair because I’ve only been wearing two different pairs of boots all winter and they have had ENOUGH. Snore.

    3 things…lip *something* (could be balm, or gloss, but must be one or the other), cell phone, and keys. ALSO bo-ring!

    I’m getting dull in my old age.

    • It’s really interesting to hear everyone’s thoughts on retouching. Personally, I’ve always thought that people are more affected by what their friends/family say in regards to body image than any type of media and advertising. The reason I don’t have a problem with retouching is because I figure everyone knows those images are fake, although I might be biased because I’ve spent so much time retouching images/looking at retouched images that it’s very obvious to me. I can’t assume the same goes for everyone else, but I do think that overall, people can tell when an image is drastically retouched.

      I need winter boots garrr. Suede doesn’t cut it outside of SoCal. Where did you get your boots, if you don’t mind my asking? We can be dull together 😀 Does that sound like a plan or what??

      • Mine are from Aldo! Last year I bought two stupid pairs of boots that I hated the whole season, instead of buying the more expensive pair I wanted in the first place. So I wasn’t doing that this year! Their just under the knee, black, with a wedge that’s super comfy and walkable 🙂 The other pair are flat tan Rockports I got about three years ago – I’m wearing them out big time, I love ’em! And your Legolas boots are AWESOME.

        • Never tried Aldo shoes before, taking a look at their website right now! Darn, I hate that. I used to do that too, but now I truly feel that it’s not worth my time to buy things just because they’re on sale or less expensive, I mean what’s the point if I’ll never wear them? Makes more sense to buy a few pricey items that I’ll wear the heck out of, rather than a pile of inexpensive things that never see the light of day.

  5. 1. How do you feel about image retouching on beauty blogs?
    To be honest, I’d rather not see a gigantic pustule or something equally as gross on somebody’s face in super close up macro shots that we do our FOTDs in, so I don’t mind at all if someone does a little bit of ‘heal’ tooling to ya know..hide it from sight.

    2. What’s your current favorite pair of shoes (that you actually own)?
    I am loving my dark brown brogues.

    3. What are 3 things you always carry with you, or carry at least 90% of the time? Water, iphone, hand sanitizer xD

  6. 1. How do you feel about image retouching on beauty blogs?
    I have mixed feelings about this. I have freckles, some enlarged pores, a scar on my forehead from a childhood accident- none of which I feel like I have to hide. My thought is why try to pretend to have a standard that no one can attain, you know? I get that if someone has a big ugly blemish that they *might* not want to show it off for the whole world to see and “heal” it out of the picture 🙂 .I agree with the points made above that it makes the reader think that using the product mentioned (if one also used photoshop) look like it performs better than it may actually perform. I am ok with trying to adjust lighting/contrast to make a product/swatch look more like it actually does in real life (I think we all have those “cannot capture the color to save my life” moments) but for the most part I absolutely prefer photos to be free of that “retouched” look. That’s why I don’t trust magazine photos. 😦 I don’t begrudge anyone who chooses to re-touch, but it’s my personal choice not to do so.

    2. What’s your current favorite pair of shoes (that you actually own)?

    Hmm…I would say my Nike running shoes. I have been running a lot this year and they are so comfy!

    3. What are 3 things you always carry with you, or carry at least 90% of the time?
    Purse. Phone. Keys. Always. Well, almost always… 🙂

    • Yes, I definitely think that makes a lot of sense, and it’s great that you don’t retouch but at the same time don’t attack others for retouching. I think it’s important to recognize that there are lots of different ways to look at this, all (well, most) of them valid. I’ve personally always been drawn to the surreal, I just like looking at magazine images for aesthetic value even though I know perfectly well they’re not ‘real.’ It’s mini-escapism in a way. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

  7. 1. How do you feel about image retouching on beauty blogs?

    I’m a bit more purist than the average blogger, I think. I don’t mind retouching if it’s an attempt to make it either really artistic (with full disclosure about what’s been done) or to portray the shades of products to bring it closer to the real thing (if lighting was an issue, etc.) I don’t really judge it by “retouching” in itself nor a blog so much as the individual instance and how it’s done. If it’s excessive or done purely to sell something or convince people of something that’s not true for monetary/selfish purpose, that’s when I’ll hit the unfollow.

    2. What’s your current favorite pair of shoes (that you actually own)?

    I’m in a shoe-slump. I have 100 pairs and I hate them all right now. Makes no sense!

    3. What are 3 things you always carry with you, or carry at least 90% of the time?

    Beauty products: hand cream, lip balm and blotting sheets.
    Non-beauty: cell phone, keys and a pen.

    • I’m just not purist at all, even when I was working with film photography, I would do sandwich negatives. And geez, 100 pairs, and you don’t even like one?? One summer I took a US Law class, and the professor (who was the most fashionable, fabulous woman I have ever met) had 500 pairs (and counting) of gorgeous shoes, and I remember after watching her wear a brand new pair of pumps to class twice a day, I felt very antagonistic toward my shoe collection for awhile hahahha. I got over it though.

  8. Thanks for posting this hilarious video! I shared it on my FB!
    1. How do you feel about image retouching on beauty blogs?
    I think it’s an art form. And photographes are part of that. To touch them up makes the image more beautiful and flawless. But I do feel it can go too far. Such as unrealistic body shapes that young girls strive to acheive.

    2. What’s your current favorite pair of shoes (that you actually own)?
    I have two small kiddos so stiletto’s are now out of the question. I do love wearing my Coach shoes on a daily basis.

    3. What are 3 things you always carry with you, or carry at least 90% of the time?
    LIpgloss, Iphone, and my wallet.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

