Eyes / Mid End / Nails

Blingtones and Nail Chromes and Color, Oh My!

This has been the longest week in the history of the entire world, which is why I decided to take a break and chase wigeons yesterday.  It was very therapeutic.

What else is therapeutic?  Color, of course!  My friend (who you briefly met) recently wrote a fascinating paper on color theory.  I would share the gist with you, but that would require a basic understanding on my part…let’s see what I got out of the paragraph she sent me, something about Freud and red and emotions…

Suffice to say, there are times when a pop of bright color can perk you up in an instant.  And if said color happens to come in a glittery or shiny finish, well, take my cash and call me wigeon.

Blingtones from Myface Cosmetics are just the thing to feed my color/shiny thing obsession.  Both look promising in the pan, but as I’ve learned, sometimes pan color doesn’t quite match with actual color payoff.

Luckily, that is not at all the case with either of these shadows:

left to right: Crystalline Green and Bellbottom Blues (both swatched dry)

They’re richly pigmented and have a gorgeous metallic finish.  Check out that blue, have you ever seen a pressed blue this rich before?

For glitter, the fallout is minimal.  The texture is smooth; it doesn’t feel gritty or scratchy on my lids, although I’d describe as a hard-and-dry type of smooth rather than a buttery-smooth.  These last the whole day on my eyes with primer (I never wear eyeshadow without primer, so I can’t speak to their staying power sans primer).

Each shadow comes in a clear lucite case.  Call me shallow, but I wish they would glam up the packaging, especially for the price.  Speaking of which…

Each shadow retails at $20 on the website.  If you live in the UK, you can buy these from Boots for £9.99 (about $15 USD) a piece.

I also tried their Lil’ Bling Nail Chromes in the same colors listed above.  While the colors are very pretty, chromes tend to show every single ridge in your nail, and as you will see below, my nails contain nothing but ridges.

left to right: Crystalline Green and Bellbottom Blues

The quick fix is a ridge-filling basecoat, but I don’t wear chrome polishes often enough to justify the purchase.

On the plus side, the formula is easy to work with, and the brushes are well-behaved.  I can see myself using these for nail art (perfect for stamping), but probably not for full-on manicures.

Each polish retails at $12 online, and £5.99 (about $9 USD) at Boots.

The colorful eyeshadows.  These are probably the most intense, glittery pressed shadows I have ever encountered.

The nail chromes weren’t my cup of tea, although if you have a ridge-filling basecoat, I imagine these would be really gorgeous.  I also found the pricing a little high (on the US website), but not ridiculously so.

Consider picking up a blingtone or two, particularly if you live in the UK!  Colors like these definitely make the week go by a little faster.

TGIF!  (And I really mean it)
MM

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were submitted for consideration and review.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

12 thoughts on “Blingtones and Nail Chromes and Color, Oh My!

  1. You know, the body shop has an awesome nail buffer that takes forever to use, but it leaves nails ridge free and shiny shiny shiny. It is 5 dollars. Love your blog, by the way. And have you caught any wigeons yet?

    • Didn’t know they carried nail things! I prefer not to buff my nails too much because I feel like it weakens them though. And thank you, glad you’re enjoying it 🙂

      Yup, managed to catch one yesterday. He has now joined the ranks of my wigeon army.

  2. Wow, minimal fallout being that glittery!? I have to see this for myself. That blue IS fantastic. I’m not much into chrome finish for polish either, though I think it has it’s time and place. The shades look nice on you nonetheless!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

