Beauty News

Hunger Games-Inspired Hair Tutorials

Hello, lovely readers!

In case you’re wondering, I have not fallen off a cliff or gotten horribly lost while chasing wigeons.  I did, however, have a long week and not nearly enough sleep.  By Friday, I was almost as glum as the Tributes in the Hunger Games.

Alright, that’s not really possible since I wasn’t dodging fireballs or living off the land.  But I have a thing for melodramatic self pity.  And speaking of Hunger Games, here are a couple of fun tutorials to recreate the hairstyles in the movie, courtesy of stylist Nick at SalonCapri.  Let’s start with Katniss.

  • To score this style, add a texture spray to dry hair. Nick suggests Shu Uemura’s Liquid Fabric Mineral.
  • Gather the front section of hair above your ear and begin with the typical French braid stitch.
  • As you continue your braid, guide hair in a diagonal line across the back of your head by collecting strands from each side as you go.
  • Once you reach the nape of your neck, finish the look with a common braid and secure the ends with a clear elastic.
  • Set the knotted style with a light spritz of hairspray. Nick’s go-to for a soft hold is Shu Uemura’s Sheer Laquer.
  • For a sexy, messy look, let angled pieces fall softly around your face.

And if you’re craving something more…intense shall we say, here are some wearable ways to channel Effie Trinket.

  • To incorporate temporary pastel tints into your ‘do, Nick recommends running the tip of a piece of soft chalk across the strands you want to color. The more coats you use, the brighter the color will become. It’s important to only use chalks on dry hair, as wet hair will cause chalk to stain lighter hair’s natural pigment. Nick suggests clipping colored locks across the front of your head and securing them with a headband for a look straight from the movie.
  • Big hair accessories and pastel hues can be overkill when paired with bold jewelry. When sporting colored or embellished locks, Nick recommends keeping the look clean with subtle jewelry and accessories.
  • To score a subtler version of Effie’s frizz, first add a texture spray to dry locks and set your hair in pin curls. Nick recommends Shu Uemura’s Liquid Fabric Mineral for added volume and texture. Once the curls have formed, lightly tease your hair from the crown to the back of the head using hairspray and a natural bristle brush. Nick recommends Shu Uemura Sheer Lacquer.

Have you seen Hunger Games yet?  I’ve read the trilogy and ogled many-a-polish-swatch, but haven’t had time to catch the movie.  I’m thinking sometime in the coming week though.  Those of you who’ve seen it already, how did you like it?  And do you think you’ll recreate any of these styles at home?  I think Katniss’ braid is quite cute.

Images courtesy of PR.

14 thoughts on “Hunger Games-Inspired Hair Tutorials

  1. Unfortunately I can’t french braid for the life of me, but I’d love to be able to do Katniss’s style! I just wear a regular side braid.

    I was a good movie actually! I dont think it explained things particularly well though, and the boys I went to see it with craved a lot of answers as to what was happening. Also it did drag a little bit because no one really talks in it and you dont know what’s going on in katniss’s head!

    • I’m not very good at french braiding either, but I think I’ll try this tomorrow 🙂 Yeah, that happens a lot with movies that are based on books! Good thing I read the series already.

    • Braids are (mostly) the only reason my hair is still long, sometimes I want to chop it all off, it seems like it would feel so nice and light!
      Good to know 🙂 can’t wait to see it

  2. I was admiring her braid during the movie LOL! I just learned how to braid last year (sadly), but I’ve been trying to get better at it…just need a bit more hair though hahaha.

    • You should read the books! Although…if nonfiction is your thing, I’m not sure you’ll like them. But they’re easy to get into if you’re ever looking for a quick read to fill up the time.

  3. Loving the braid! I might even be able to *attempt* that on my own hair, usually things like that don’t work for this curly head, but my hair is long enough for a braid – fun! 🙂

    I just finished the first book and I’m planning to see the movie tomorrow. I’m pretty stoked, I think the books are well made to translate into a movie (plain, straightforward writing and lots of action). I’ll be interested to hear what you think of it!

    • Try it and get back to me! I agree, the whole time I was reading those I could just picture them as a movie. And then they did it! Yay!

      I’ll report back as soon as I watch it 🙂

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

