Bargain Buys / Lips

Sparkle Like a Mermaid with Hard Candy Glossaholic Lipgloss

Do mermaids sparkle?  Do they sparkle like Hard Candy Glossaholic Lipgloss?  I really have no idea.  In fact, I was going to say ‘sparkle like the Arkenstone,’ but I figured you’d just about had it with the never-ending Tolkien references, and I decided to give you a reprieve.  Aren’t I considerate?

If you’ve ever seen one of those iridescent flaky polishes before, you know how impossible they are to resist.  All that color-shifting, irregularly-shaped shine.  Here’s an example.  And another.  And yet another.  Flakies are quite popular these days.

But you see, for the most part, you can only get your flaky fix with nail polish.  Which is all well and good, but what if I want some of that devastatingly gorgeous iridescence on my lips?  Aha!  You guessed it.  Glossaholic to the rescue.

The first thing you’ll notice when you see this gloss (in person, not on a blank background with no point of comparison) is that it’s huge.  I mean at least twice the size of your average gloss, if not bigger.  This also means that it has a larger-than-average doe foot applicator.  I know this sounds unwieldy and bad, but let me explain to you why it’s actually quite good.

You see, the doe foot applicator gets the perfect amount of product so that I never have to dip more than once to cover my lips (unless I’m doing unsanctioned and unsafe eye makeup, here and here.  Shame on me).  It’s also the perfect size for covering my lips with product in one swipe, but not so huge that it becomes bulky and cumbersome.

There are two different ‘color shift ranges’ among the flakies.  The two colors I have both happen to have the same kind of flake (green-yellow-orange).  Fairy is a very sheer, pale pink, while Fireball is a sheer red.  On the lips and from a normal person viewing distance, these give off a beautiful sparkle without being too obviously flake-like.  I usually wear these alone, but they’re also gorgeous over lipstick.  Ohh, can you imagine Fairy over a black lipstick?  Too intense?

Swatches (Fairy on the left, Fireball on the right):

note the color shifts!

Texture-wise, these are on the sticky side of the gloss spectrum.  In a perfect world, these would be on of those rare nonsticky glosses, but I’m not going to complain since they retail at $5 for .38 oz of product.  They are also surprisingly non-gritty, and wear for about 3 hours on my lips.  Plus, they smell like vanilla cupcakes and kittens, minus the kittens.  You can find them at Walmart, both in store and online.

Overall, these get a big thumbs up from me.  The Glossaholic glosses are a novel, affordable way to add some sparkle to your lips.  My only word of caution would be that they are sticky, although not unbearably so.

What do you think?  Yay or nay on lip flakies?

MM

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were submitted by PR for consideration and review.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

13 thoughts on “Sparkle Like a Mermaid with Hard Candy Glossaholic Lipgloss

  1. I like the flakies! I like them a lot! But sticky…I don’t know. ._. My NARS lipgloss is sticky and while I tolerate that one, I don’t know that I would add to my collection of sticky, you know? Haha.

    • Yeah, I don’t mind sticky glosses, but they’re not ideal. It’s why I usually prefer lipstick over gloss. And your NARS gloss is so pretty! Albatross, right? I think I would tolerate the sticky for that one too 🙂

  2. Freakin’ cool, flakies for lips!?! That’s awesome, I want these!!! I don’t actually mind sticky glosses too much, it usually means they wear longer – but as you say, it’s not ideal (but not a deal-breaker). We used to carry Hard Candy at our Walmarts here, but I haven’t seen it in a while so not sure if it’s still around or not. I’m going to be on the hunt for these, I am LOVING the way this looks! Thanks for the post MM – oh, and feel free to keep talking LotR any time you wanna, I will NEVER stop you 😛

  3. New to your blog- loving it so far! I struggle with sticky lip glosses because I love the way they look and hate the way my hair sticks to them. I am working on it though. May have to check these out. Thanks for the review!

    • Thank you for your sweet comment! Yes, the hair thing is über-annoying, especially on windy days. Lipstick will always be my best friend, but these are fun every now and then.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

