High End / Mid End / Skincare

Just Enough Buff: Liz Earle Gentle Face Exfoliator

As much as I enjoyed my trip to Pennsylvania, it absolutely killed my skin.  In an attempt to pack light, I stuffed an assortment of skincare samples in my sleeping bag, and left it at that.

Big.  Mistake.

I’ve been trying my best to calm it down for the past week-and-a-half, and thankfully there has been progress (thanks to an assortment of supplements, jojoba oil, and you guessed it!  The subject of today’s review).

I know you must be sick to death of hearing me sing the praises of Liz Earle, but their products really are just that good.  Now if there’s one complaint I could make, it’s that they’re not available in the US and the shipping rates make me gnash my teeth.  Gnash.  This is problematic because it’s generally frowned upon when you move to a whole other continent just to get your skincare fix, so Liz Earle…please open some stores across the pond soon?  Maybe one in SoCal?

I’ve already mentioned multiple times that Liz Earle is a favorite for their simple, no-frills products that work miracles on my skin.  Want proof?  My skin has been acting up ever since I stopped using this moisturizer (because I emptied every last bit of lotion from the container).  No matter what moisturizer, cleanser, or toner I use, I can’t seem to get it to revert to the era of perfect behavior (yes, a year totally counts.  An era is defined as a significant period of time, guys!)

 

And so, when my beauty ban is over at long last, I will most likely have to resort to gnashing my teeth and paying for a new tub plus shipping.  If that’s not proof, I don’t know what is.

What I haven’t mentioned before is my obsession with Liz Earle’s quiet, unassuming luxury.  Their products are always such a pleasure to use, with their spa-like scents and lovely textures.  And their Gentle Face Exfoliator, with its jojoba beads and cream cleanser base, is the best example of this understated luxury.  The ‘carrying cleanser’ is very similar in texture and feel to their famous Hot Cloth Cleanser, with a rich and moisturizing texture. Spread a small pump of product on the back of your hand, and you’ll notice tiny jojoba beads that gently buff away dull skin.

While this is much less ‘scrubby’ than your typical exfoliator, it does a fantastic job of brightening up my face after just one use.  It does not rid me of blackheads or breakouts, at least not that I can tell, but it leaves me with glowing, baby-soft skin.  I find this incredibly gentle, but please note that Liz Earle’s website says this is not for those with sensitive skin.  In any case, I wouldn’t suggest using this every day.  Keep it by your sink for a bi-weekly pick-me-up.

A 2.3 fl oz pump bottle retails at $24, but you also have the option to buy other sizes (at varying price points, see here for US site).

Yet another wonderful product from British skincare brand Liz Earle.  Try it if you’re looking for a brightening, softening cleansing treatment.  If you’re lucky enough to live in the UK, I suggest you take advantage of that fact and pick up a bottle!  If you don’t, know that I share your pain.  Shipping is expensive, but if you’re a Liz Earle fan and are making a big order, this would be a nice addition to your shopping basket 🙂

How often do you exfoliate?  Do you go for very gentle scrubby beads or AHAs?  Perhaps a Clarisonic?

MM

Full Disclosure: The product in this post was submitted by PR for consideration only.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

15 thoughts on “Just Enough Buff: Liz Earle Gentle Face Exfoliator

  1. Sounds absolutely lovely! I love Liz Earle skincare products (especially the hot cloth cleanser) and I would definitely buy more, were it not for the shipping costs… >.<

    • Tell me about it…ah well, sometimes I gotta do what I gotta do. It appears my skin really loves British moisturizers with high shipping rates. Nothin I can do about that!
      Their hot cloth cleanser is really lovely! Hope they open some stores in Canada someday 😀

  2. I love Liz Earle products too, they work so well! I have yet to come across one that has disappointed me. It’s a shame that shipping costs to the US are so high though.

  3. Hahaha generally frowned upon to move continent for skincare xD….you so funny…..

    I stillll haven’t tried liz earle. I probably should…….but I’m quite happy bumbling along with my skincare regime. Maybe next time I feel like a big change….

    Er….I exfoliate using the Clarins Micro…something scrub that contains…something. Can’t remember. IF I am in seriously need of exfoliation I dig my clarisonic out from the abyss that is the back of my cubpoard…..

  4. I’ve heard of Liz Earle but haven’t tried any products. I’m not sure I want to order any, only to fall in love and then gnash my teeth at having to keep paying shipping!! LOL This sounds lovely; thankfully I don’t use manual scrubs much if I can help it, it seems to keep my sensitive skin calmer since I made that decision a while ago. But I do miss it at times, so enjoy your fabulous product to the max, MM!!

  5. You’d think I’d love to buy a product that has the name “Liz” in it but the lack of its physical presence in Canada really doesn’t have me hemming and hawing for it since there are already so many other choices I’m inundated with. But good to hear that it works well for you!

    My skin loves being exfoliated, so I use all of the above: Clarisonic, AHAs and scrubbers!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

