The Wednesday Wigeon

The Wednesday Wigeon No.55

Random questions of the week, the wigeon thinks these up and I transcribe them.

1. My room currently smells like…

Slatkin & Co Fireside, Yankee Candle Maple Pancakes, smoke, Victoria’s Secret Bombshell in Love EDP.

2. Do you use self tanner?

You know how I feel about tanning beds or letting your skin bake in the sun (DON’T DO IT), but self tanner is an entirely different story.  There comes a time every summer when I start looking like a faded ghost next to my friends, and this my friends, means it’s time to break out the self tanner.  It makes me look glowy, in that I-got-10-hours-of-sleep-and-I’m-radiating-health way.  It’s all a lie of course, but it’s a pretty convincing one.  Still loving Lavera right now.

3. What’s one of your recently rediscovered beauty favorites?

Victoria’s Secret Incredible EDP.  One of the few warm fragrances that’s light enough for me to wear in the summer.  Plus it’s so comforting, like the warm weather version of Auric Blends Egyptian Musk.  And there’s also Phyto 7 Daily Hydrating Botanical Cream.  I saw it in one of Lisa Eldridge’s YouTube videos (if you’re not subscribed to her already, click it), and thought the product looked vaguely familiar.  Yes, there are times when I’m a little fuzzy on what I do or do not own.  I think this is an indicator that I have too much makeup, does this ever happen to you?  It turns out I do have a tube of this, and after a couple of uses I’ve decided it’s fantastic stuff.  Maybe I’ll get around to writing a review eventually.

Come take part in TWW!  Simply copy/paste the questions and answer them in the comments below.

1. My room currently smells like…
2. Do you use self tanner?
3. What’s one of your recently rediscovered beauty favorites?

Love,
MM &

19 thoughts on “The Wednesday Wigeon No.55

  1. 1. My room currently smells like…
    Uhhh…uh…sadly, probably like dog. ._. I should bring a candle up to burn.
    2. Do you use self tanner?
    No. I kind of embrace the pale! Hahaha. Also I am lazy and the idea of self-tanner freaks me out. What if I apply it unevenly? What if I miss spots? Leopard-print Larie!!!
    3. What’s one of your recently rediscovered beauty favorites?
    Uh. Uh. Man, I suck at this. I have recently rediscovered…nothing. #fail

    • LOL Larie. You probably have a Slatkin candle or two to burn right? But self tanner is so easy! I used to be afraid of streaks and spots and things, but seriously, get a good one and you can apply carelessly and still have a convincing tan.

  2. 1. My room currently smells like…

    Also a Slatkin & Co. candle here! Verbena Waters for me.

    2. Do you use self tanner?

    Nope. I tan pretty easily and I love the sun. It’ll come naturally.

    3. What’s one of your recently rediscovered beauty favorites?

    I’m rediscovering old drugstore favourites like L’Oreal foundations and Revlon glosses. I never stopped liking them but now my appreciation has doubled!

    • Yum! I think I sniffed that one in store a week ago (but I left without buying anything because I’m being uncharacteristically good). Revlon glosses are the bomb. Even though I don’t wear gloss anymore. Which shades do you have?

        • I haven’t tried the ColorBursts yet! Was definitely eyeing Papaya before, but I don’t think I’ll buy any more gloss at this point, unless something extremely gorgeous comes out. Much prefer lipstick.

  3. 1. My room currently smells like…
    Pacifica French Lilac soy candle! Though I’m scared of matches, so I made my mother light it for me (oh my god, I am pathetic; what will I do when I have my own apartment?!).
    2. Do you use self tanner?
    I have in the past, since I am ghostly pale, but can rarely bring myself to actually apply it with any regularity (much like teeth whitening strips, ha!).
    3. What’s one of your recently rediscovered beauty favorites?
    Well, not really rediscovered, but Le Metier de Beaute Fraise Creme. I’d classed it as a festive lip, in part because I received it for Christmas, but turns out it works really well with warm summery eyes and blush!

    • omg that sounds insanely good. I love Pacifica scents. Use a lighter! I’m terrified of matches, so I use one of those King lighters from the 99 cents store. They’re great, light on the first try every time and never make scary flames. I am ghostly pale too, somewhere around N15 I believe. Been dying to try something from LMDB, Fraise Creme sounds fabulous.

  4. 1. My room currently smells like…
    Nothing… I’ve burnt out my last candle and have been too lazy to get another one. -_-‘

    2. Do you use self tanner?
    Sometimes… I’ve been feeling the urge to self-tan lately, though I usually embrace my light-ish skin.

    3. What’s one of your recently rediscovered beauty favourites?
    Josie Maran Argan Oil! My skin has been crazy dry the last 2 weeks and it’s keeping my skin nicely moisturized. 🙂

    • hahah I know the feeling. It’s why I didn’t wash my hair for a week! I’m such a slob. Anyways, get thee to a candle shop and pick up a candle 😀 Argan oil is a miracle worker, do you mix it with your moisturizer or just use it straight from the bottle?

  5. 1. My room currently smells like…
    mm nothing really.

    2. Do you use self tanner?
    Nope, I love my pale skin!

    3. What’s one of your recently rediscovered beauty favorites?
    Liz Earle Superskin Body Cream. So moisturizing and it smells wonderful!

  6. 1. My room currently smells like…
    Rather embarassingly, like sesame oil and soy sauce because my bowl from last night’s dinner is still in my room… ^^;; And also of insect repellant.

    2. Do you use self tanner? Nope, just bronzer occasionally.

    3. What’s one of your recently rediscovered beauty favorites? Er… none haha…

    • hahha at least you’ll go to sleep with dreams of yummy food 😛 I’ve been using bronzer lately too, I think this is the first time I’ve worn it more than one day in a row hahah.

  7. 1. My room currently smells like…
    lotion since I’m always applying it. 😛
    2. Do you use self tanner?
    Nope. I like the pale zombie look…lol.
    3. What’s one of your recently rediscovered beauty favorites?
    MBD mask in Black Pearl.

    (The bowl was $15 which makes it cheap and worth it! It was good. You should make the drive one day 🙂 )

    • I rock the pale zombie look 3/4 of the year, but come summertime I prefer to look human. Black Pearl is amazing for whitening/brightening, I just don’t use it as often because it doesn’t smell as good as some of my other masks LOL. $15 for all of that? I’m so there. Chirashi bowls are my favorite.

  8. My room currently smells like: TokyoMilk Kabuki. I just spritzed some because I’m enjoying the scent- even when I’m not wearing it. 🙂
    Do you use self-tanner: yes, more now than I do in the winter. I have a strict love affair with TanTowel. It’s the best I have tried for face and neck. Every other self-tanner I have tried breaks my out if I use it on my face- this never has and it never looks fake. Plus it dries incredibly fast.
    What’s one of your recently rediscovered beauty favorites: NARS Madly blush. I can’t believe I forgot how amazing this looks!

    • I’ve heard amazing things about TanTowel! I even heard it makes some people’s skin clearer if they’ve been breaking out, which almost sounds too good to be true. Madly is gorgeous, and Kabuki sounds lovely. This comment has created so many lemmings, what are you doing to me Danielle?! 😛

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

