Base / High End / Mid End / Skincare

Dermelect Pore Revolution & T-Zone Mattifier Review

Here’s a really pleasant fun fact for you: I tend to keep my face makeup-free while I’m on vacation in Taiwan because…I sweat it all off in about 5 minutes flat.  Lovely imagery, right?

There are some battles you shouldn’t even try to win, and this would be one of them.  So every morning, when I step out of the air-conditioned apartment and face the humidity, I simply accept the inevitable.  Now there are some times (like when I’m having a fancy dinner with family) that I need something besides a towel to return my face to its pre-perspiration state.  That’s where Pore Revolution comes in.  Cue the trumpets?

Dermelect Pore Revolution & T-Zone Mattifier comes in a sleek and functional squeeze tube that slips easily into my makeup bag.  Bonus: it also resembles Shamu from an angle.

For further clarification:

The product itself has a curious texture.  Dermelect calls it a ‘powdery cream,’ but it’s really more of an almost-squishy, dry-ish gel.  It goes on clear, and has a fair bit of slip from silicones. While it doesn’t absorb oil as impressively as blotting sheets, it does tone down the shine noticeably.  What it’s really good at, though, is airbrushing skin.  Apply a thin layer to your t-zone, and it’s as if you’ve taken a blur brush to your problem areas.  Good stuff.

It also contains clarifying ingredients like salicylic acid and watercress extract, which are supposed to prevent clogged pores.  I am happy to report that I didn’t experience any breakouts or irritated skin while using this little tube.

While this didn’t actively shrink my pores (admittedly, mine aren’t that large to begin with), but it did an impressive job of ‘blurring’ my complexion.  Try this if you’re looking for a real-life blur brush.  You might want to pair it with some blotting sheets or a mattifying powder if you tend to get extremely oily, but it should do the trick for normal/combination skin types.  Personally, I’m not a fan of the way silicone-heavy skincare feels, but otherwise I’m quite happy with how Pore Revolution performs.  Pricing, at $28 per tube, is in line with most mid-high end pore primers.

Do you have any beauty products that remind you of marine animals?  What’s your favorite summertime pore perfecter?

Full Disclosure: The product in this post was provided by PR for editorial consideration and review.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

19 thoughts on “Dermelect Pore Revolution & T-Zone Mattifier Review

  1. Coming from L.A (like you) into a humid climate like in Asia, it’s always been a struggle to stay matte. For the most part, I wave the white flag and just go makeup free. But even then, the oilies like to make their appearance. I’m not usually one to use a mattifier but I’m kinda thinking now after your post that it may not be a bad option to take on vacay! ;D

  2. I normally just use blotting papers, but I might have to look into this. If it can stand up to extreme humidity, it can probably do wonders for my face. Also, that tube totally does look like an Orca. I am now going to rummage through my stash and try and find animal resembling products. 🙂

    • I brought blotting papers, but there’s no point LOL, they’re not heavy-duty enough. I use a towel instead. I always forget how much I take SoCal dry heat for granted.

      Right?! I can’t be the only one who sees it. Tell me what you find!

  3. Is it weird that I kind of like the solution of going makeup free when its just that humid? I dunno, it kind of appeals to me to be almost FORCED to avoid makeup. Sick and twisted…and sort of bizarre considering how much I love makeup. Whatever, I’m a gemini, it makes sense.

    ANYWAY. I feel like I spend more time talking about something other than your reviews when I comment on the blog. Kind of like I’m still doing now. What is that all ABOUT anyway? I am tres excited to hear about everything when you get back home. I imagine you’ll have stories abound 🙂

  4. NEED to check this out. I have very oily skin and have been looking for a primer/mattifier for summer and my sister’s upcoming wedding. I really like that this one has salicylic acid–perfect for my acne-prone skin.

    And you are so funny–it DOES kinda look like Shamu now that you mention it 😛

  5. Nice! I’m always looking for products to help control my oilies/blur my (rather enormous) pores, so I will definitely add this to my list!

  6. I haven’t worn makeup at all this week! It was unbearably hot and I had to take some days off work, so it totally worked out. This product sounds really nice but I’m using La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo which is working really well. I’ll be sticking with it until something disastrous happens. (But yay fishies!)

  7. You know what I don’t get. How girls who grew up in hot/humid climates, particularly Tokyo, Taiwan, Hong Kong etc………..

    LOOK SO FREAKING FLAWLESS ALL THE TIME, and then I land there and wander around and end up looking like a hot mess. And I mean hot mess in the literal sense!

    I still try to make myself look presentable. The way to go is definitely prime, prime and prime. And then to set, and then to set again. And to touch up…often. Probably. I don’t know. i haven’t worked it out. I’ll let you all know how I do this summer. To be honest though, I travel everywhere by car and am averse to going places without air conditioning. Mr Pinkfish however has got the idea into his head that it would be fun to do a bike tour of Old Shanghai in 40-something degree C sweltering weather. Not happening.

    • I know! Everyone here has that poreless, perspiration-free skin you usually only see in commercials. hahah I’m averse to that too, but the rest of my family seems to be a fan of the great outdoors in all its humid glory. Tell Mr. Pinkfish an air-conditioned bus/car/taxi tour would be infinitely more fun 😀

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

