Bargain Buys / Base / Mid End

My New Summer Loves: Victoria’s Secret Pressed Mineral Bronzing Powders

Victoria’s Secret Pressed Mineral Bronzing Powder in Bronze Ambition

In my two-and-a-half years of blogging, I’ve only written about a few bronzers, and not a single one has earned a permanent spot in my summer rotation.  Recently, I started wondering if it was time to splurge on one of the high-end bronzing powders I’d spent so much time drooling over online.  If you’re reading this blog, you’ve probably lusted after them too (1, 2, 3, 4 even though it’s no longer available, 5) at some point.

But then, these two compacts from Victoria’s Secret’s Summer ’12 collection fell into my lap, and I fell hard.  For the first time ever, I’m in love with a bronzer, two bronzers rather.  Just to impress upon you how rarely this happens, it never happens.

Both Sunstruck and Bronze Ambition are neutral-toned, so that no matter how pale or cool toned you are, these shouldn’t pull orange on you.  Last time I checked, I was around N15, and finding bronzers that warm up my skin without turning it the shade of a pumpkin is harder than sitting through the Statistics AP exam.*

*God, that was hard.  Then again, I’m completely hopeless at math.  I don’t know why I thought it would be a good idea to take AP Stat.  I guess I wasn’t thinking, as usual!

left: Sunstruck swatched heavily, right: layered and blended

left: Bronze Ambition swatched heavily, right: layered and blended

While Sunstruck is a tawny, golden pan of goodness, Bronze Ambition is a neutral-toned chocolate brown.  Both shades are incredibly smooth and finely milled, especially when taking the price ($16) into consideration.  They do contain shimmer, which somehow morphs into an incredibly glowy sheen once on the face.

See?  Proof:

The colors are on the sheer side, not invisible or patchy, but subtle.  They layer well, and I like how easily I can build each one up.  Staying power is decent; while they do fade by the end of the day, I can definitely still see color.

And finally, a little aside about packaging!  A gleamy, coppery-gold case and a zebra print pattern.  I don’t think this could possibly get any more summery than it already is.  The compact is made out of plastic, but it feels sturdy and shuts securely.

Victoria’s Secret Pressed Mineral Bronzing Powder in Sunstruck

These are so good that I actually brought one with me on my Taiwan trip, where I very well knew I wouldn’t be wearing any makeup.  I guess I just wanted to have it by my side, like a security blanket, only much more glamorous.  If you have yet to try anything from the VS makeup range, I’d recommend you start with these.  The price tag is perfect, the shades and finishes are spot-on for summer, and the texture is lovely as well.  Obviously, these aren’t for people who prefer their bronzers matte, but if you’re looking for warmth and glow, then allow me to steer you firmly in the direction of the VS makeup counter.  One thing to note: Sunstruck might not work as a bronzer for medium-dark skintones, although it would still make a nice illuminator.  For those who want more intense color, check out the third (and darkest) shade in the range, Heat Wave.  And if you’re pale, rejoice!  I think you’ll love them.

Will you be wearing bronzer this summer?  What are some of your favorites?  Think you’ll give these a try?  (say yes, say yes, say yes)

MM

P.S. I’m back!  Expect a ‘highlights of my trip’ post soon.*

*Soon being a relative term, of course.

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were submitted for editorial consideration and review.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

23 thoughts on “My New Summer Loves: Victoria’s Secret Pressed Mineral Bronzing Powders

  1. I am glad you are back! This is lovely, I had never given much thought to VS cosmetics until your recent posts, so thank you. This is the most natural looking bronzer I have ever seen, and it looks great on you.

    • Aw, thanks 🙂 No one ever does! They just don’t advertise their makeup and clothes as much as their lingerie, I guess. You should give it a try. Which bronzer are you wearing now?

  2. Welcome back! And take your time on that highlights post. 😉

    Ooh…I’m liking what I’m seeing here. I don’t currently use a bronzer b/c I have this fear that it’ll make me look dirty…haha. 😛 But I see this isn’t the case here. It looks really awesome on you! 😀

    • Thanks! Guess what the first thing I did was? Go to In n Out LOL, man it’s been a long time since I’ve had a burger.

      I know what you mean, bronzers can go muddy on me too sometimes. Not a good look.

  3. OMG, they look gorgeous on you! Would love to give them a try but VS isn’t sold here sadly =[ And look at your pretty complexion *frothing with jealousy*

    • Thank you 🙂 I really love the finish on these. Darn, VS needs to open some stores in Asia. And thanks again! I spend so much time and effort on skincare, it’s ridiculous LOL. Glad to hear it’s paid off.

  4. You look gorgeous! That was a lot more of your face than we normally see. 😉

    I love bronzer. I’m fairly new to it, only starting using it a few years ago. But I just love dusting it on the sides of my face. Instant prettiness.

  5. Yay, hope you had a great trip! 😀 I hope you have food photos 😛

    As for bronzer, I think I’m done buying them for now. I have…two? HAHAHAHA.

    • I do have food photos! Actually, food photos are pretty much all I have LOL. Ohh, and some adorable pics of mini-MM, I can’t get over her cuteness.

      LOL! Not much of a bronzer girl?

  6. yay, welcome back! As for these bronzers, yes please! They’re preeeetty!

    Oh and PS: no WONDER you don’t wear blush–YOU DONT NEED IT!!! i don’t think I’ve ever seen something with such a natural flawless and rosy complexion. So jealous right now.

    • It’s good to be back! Aw, thank you so much 🙂 It’s all in the skincare, well except the rosy part. I’ve always had rosy cheeks for some reason, it can get annoying because sometimes they get REALLY red, and then I look super flustered hahaha.

    • Is there going to be a new season? I think I need more of that ridiculousness this summer. True! That’s also the first time I’ve heard the word shyster LOL, learn something new every day 😛

  7. I SEE CHEEKBONES! You’re another beauty. Soon you’ll show us the whole face. 🙂 (I shouldn’t talk about showing face but obviously you shouldn’t be hiding.)

    No more bronzers for me but am glad this is working out so well for you! Victoria’s Secret – who knew?!

    • LOL I definitely do not have cheekbones. Must be a good picture 😀 Came as a surprise to me too, tbh I kind of turn my nose up at non high-end bronzers. I just rarely see anything I love that’s mid-end/from the drugstore. Guess I should rework that attitude!

  8. Yaaaaaa!!! Almost a full face shot, its a comin’!! 😛 You are insane gorgeous from the cheekbones down, and I’ve seen shots of one eye before – I know you’re just as beautiful above too! I’m dying to see what the whole package looks like!!!!! 😀

    *ahem* Bronzers. Yea, these also look kind of stupendous on you. I know they’d never show up on me, but I am hardcore appreciating how nice they look!! I’m glad these are floating your boat 😉

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

