Hair / High End

Yuko Anti-Frizz: The Khachapuri of (My) Haircare

***In case you missed them: Giveaways 1 and 2***

A couple of weeks months (because that’s how long I’ve been sitting on this draft.  Coincidentally, these pictures were taken at the same time and I realize they’re appalling.  Free pass this one time?) ago, it was lovely and rainy.  And if nothing else, rainy weather makes me crave khachapuri.  Have you ever had it?  It’s a Georgian, boat-shaped flatbread filled with cheese and butter and a perfectly runny egg.  It’s laden with will-eventually-kill-you things,  but I just can’t help myself when it starts pouring.

Ok, it never pours in SoCal, I added that for dramatic effect.

One day my friend and I decided that it was definitely khachapuri weather, so we drove out in search of those calorie bombs in the middle of the day.  She got a khachapuri with saljuk, and I had one with ham.  Afterwards, I found myself thinking it was very sad I couldn’t eat these every day.

That’s how I feel about Yuko’s new Anti-Frizz line.  Do you ever do things even though you just know they’re terrible for you?  I do that with shampoo.  God, my life is exciting.

Dimethicone in shampoo instantly makes me break out, but virtually every shampoo that does nice things to your hair contains dimethicone (and by the way, I wouldn’t worry if I were you.  If you don’t spontaneously break out every time you wash your hair with normal shampoo, you’re fine).  And I can’t use it.  Wait, let me rephrase.  I’m not supposed to use it.  But I do every now and then, and I wake up to gorgeously swishy hair and completely messed up skin.  I can’t help it.  Because really, who has time to brush their hair in the morning?  I don’t!

The Anti-Frizz Shampoo ($18 for 8.4 fl oz) from Yuko is pretty fantastic.  I used it 4 times, 4 whole times knowing the dimethicone would kill my skin.  Even without conditioner, my hair was left divinely soft and smooth.  As for the conditioner ($18 for 7 fl oz), I’m sure it’s equally good, but I know better than to risk that much dimethicone near my skin.  It’s currently doing its magical hair thing at my friend’s house, along with the remainder of the shampoo.

Now, the good news, I can use these next two products with abandon.  Yes, they contain dimethicone, but I mostly use them near the ends of my hair, so they never come in contact with my skin.

There’s the Anti-Frizz Serum ($24 for 1.7 fl oz), great for lazy-beauty-proponents like me.  In terms of texture, it reminds me of Couture Color Pequi Oil Treatment.  It’s got a similar silicone-y slip, but feels weightless once in my hair.  A pump smooths out flyaways, and makes my hair a bit tamer on those bad days.  And for the past month, I’ve been having terrible hair days!  I had a lot of hair chopped off recently, and it keeps poofing up.  I just want to plop a turtle or something equally heavy on top.  But in the meantime, I’m happy using this stuff.  It also has a nice, clean fragrance that won’t clash with any other scent you’re wearing (all the products in this line have that same fragrance).

And the second product, Anti-Frizz Leave-In Conditioner ($24 for 6.7 fl oz).  This is very similar to their Repair Through Leave-In Conditioner.  Spritz generously in your hair, comb through, and you’ve just gotten rid of tangles and added shine in one go.  The main difference is that this version is heat-activated.  It will still do lovely things to your hair without heat, but the effects seem to last longer and be even more apparent with the use of a hair dryer, curling iron, or straightener.  Don’t forget to use heat protectant!  *Update: thanks to reader Steven for the correction!  Dimethicone is a type of heat protectant, so no need to use an additional one.

The entire line is sulfate and paraben free.

I have mixed feelings about high-end haircare.  On one hand, you’re washing most of this stuff off.  On the other hand, it does work exceedingly well.  If you’re willing to pay a little more, I do like this line a lot.  My top picks would be the serum and the leave-in conditioner.  Although they cost more, they are the perfect 10 second miracle workers, and never make my hair feel greasy or heavy.

Do you use high-end or drugstore haircare?  Have you ever tried a heat-activated conditioner?  What’s your go-to hair routine on rushed/lazy mornings?

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were submitted for editorial consideration only.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

12 thoughts on “Yuko Anti-Frizz: The Khachapuri of (My) Haircare

  1. I think I need this stuff. My hair frizzes the instant there’s humidity in the air. Like Monica in that episode of Friends when they went to Mexico. Yup.
    I use whatever works, as long as it works. That’s my motto when it comes to hair stuff. 🙂
    And I need a khachapuri. Please. OMG. I couldn’t get past reading about that deliciousness for a good while! I kept staring at the description. Salivating.

    • hahahah that was a hilarious episode. And then she got dreadlocks. Even better 😛

      Oh god, it’s SO good, you must try it at least once. I want one now, but should probably wait another year…..

  2. This sounds interesting, I might have to check it out. My hair is unruly lately. Ugh. I usually use WEN, which is so high-end and expensive. It kills my wallet, this is about the same-ish but this has more product in it, so it looks good to me.

    And that khachapuri deliciousness I must try! I know it never rains here in So cal, but I will find a excuse!

    • I’ve been curious about WEN, it is quite expensive but everyone always recommends it. If you do try this line, let me know how you like it!

      You don’t even need an excuse to try that deliciousness hahah. Let me know what you think!

  3. A mention for the Anti-Frizz by YUKO “Leave-In Conditioner”…Since it does contain dimethicone, you don’t need to worry about heat protectants. Dimethicone is a type of heat protectant, and a very expensive one.

  4. It’s a real bummer that you have such a problem with ‘cones – though I try not to use them at all when I can too, you’re right: they’re so prevalent!! As for high-end vs drugstore products, I try to stick to cheaper for the most part, because like you said they’re just going down the drain, but on certain items I get a little outta hand – namely deep conditioners and sometimes shampoos (because I use them so infrequently). But, more important that all of that – I second Liz, where can I get me some of this khachapuri!?!

    • It’s the worst. I’m just glad I can still use serums and things like that, as long as they don’t touch my face.

      As I am not an expert on khachapuri in Canada, I think you and Liz need to go on a quest to find it.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

